We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay here noise will wake you up at 6AM” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Berlin to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Don't stay here noise will wake you up at 6AM”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

If you want to a nice room with a built in 6AM alarm this is the place for you. The Opera house next door gets large diesel truck deliveries at 6AM and the banging of all the unloading will wake you up unless you are a very heavy sleeper.

Prices are ridiculous as well, unless you enjoying paying 32 euro for breakfast and 15 euro for internet per day.

Will never stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Dear guest, please take our sincere apology for the inconveniences you encountered due to the noise. Normally works start not in the early morning and we will contact the party responsible to avoid such incidents in the future. We hope you were in contact with our Front Office to find a solution? However, we thank you indeed for your comment; it helps us for monitoring and improve our service for our guests. We deeply regret if you could not enjoy your stay and would be pleased to convince you during a next stay with us. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    571
    161
    66
    27
See reviews for
197
616
165
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I used my reward points to stay at this property. The property does show some ages but still was clean enough and comfortable for us to stay. Unlike typical hotel rooms in Europe, I found the room to be spacious. We paid 15 euros for internet per day. The connection was pretty smooth. We liked the location where it was close enough to shopping area and subway station yet quiet enough for us to sleep( we were facing the side street). There were some construction work going on around the area where new subway line was being built but that did not bother us.
We enjoyed our stay at this property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest, you reviewed your stay with us and we are pleased that you could enjoy your days here at The Westin Grand in Berlin and certainly in our exciting city. Thank you for your comments in generally and also in regards to the construction site which will be finished completely within this week in Friedrichstraße. The rest of the works will be finished mostly underground. Should you desire for coming back one day we would be pleased to be your first choice as your home in Berlin an at the famous cross Boulevard Unter den Linden/Friedrichstraße. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

So far the worst westin I ever stayed. Old furniture. Uncomfortable beds. Bad concierge service. Very noisy if you stay next to the street. We had to be move to three different rooms. Checking and food was ok. It is good located. However for the price I think there are way much better places to stay

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest, we do appreciate any constructive review, thank you very much. Unfortunately we could not meet your expectations this time but we are pleased to inform you that renovation work are going to plan very soon. The hotel is located in the midst of the historical center of Berlin at the cross Unter den Linden/Friedrichstraße and the traffic can be noisy. For a quiet room we recommend to book our garden rooms. We would be pleased to show you some of them during your next stay with us and hope to get a chance. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

The Westin Grand does a great job of combining its historic past with a modern attitude and first class service. The location gives easy access to all of the main attractions in this wonderful city and the staff are attentive and ready to provide any assistance or answer any question you may have. The remnants of a piece of "The Wall" outside reminds one of this once divided city and how much can change in such a relatively short time. The Westin Grand has also moved with the times and offers rooms that are spacious, perfectly maintained, immaculately clean and nice and quiet. Mine was in the more recent wing of the hotel with a slightly more modern feel than the central core of the hotel. Room service was terrific. Prompt, responsive (no problem replacing French fries with a salad!) a really good choice of dishes. Try the Wiener Schnitzel ... yeah I know it's Berlin but it is one of the best Schnitzel's I've had. The bathroom was a good size with a nice range of amenities. Laundry and dry cleaning was also very good. One word of warning; this service isn't available on Sundays. The bed, as always, was so comfortable. I'm thinking of getting a heavenly bed for home! I've stayed in a number of hotels in Berlin and it's going to be hard to choose where to stay when I am next in town. It may well be The Westin Grand; great value, wonderful staff, terrific room and a history all of its own.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear guest, what a review, wow! Such a great comment is no matter of course and we are really delighted that you have had such a wonderful and comfortable stay with us. Thank you for having chosen our hotel and for your comment. It is a great pleasure to see that we could meet your expectations! Yours Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We had a lovely stay here, a long weekend get-away. The staff were excellent, amenities superb and rooms very comfortable. It's a very impressive hotel in the center of Berlin, within easy walking distance to many attractions. The breakfast was excellent too - a very impressive spread! I will recommend the Westin Grand, and when next in Berlin will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
We love to make our guests happy ! Thank you for your review - we are looking forward to your next stay. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The youngest picked up and moved to Berlin (two large suitcases and one cat) early last winter and it was time to visit. Her digs are small so i booked the Westin Grand and loved it. Great entryway, and a very nicely proportioned central, roofed, atrium bringing light down into the center of the this fairly large building. My room was way at the end (303) and was the quietest room in any hotel i have ever stayed in. It was on the garden, with french doors opening thereupon, and the light from this was gentle and lovely...of course, if you kinda looked over to the left there, you got to view a huge yellow crane at work but that was fun too.
The hotel had a lot of wood detailing which gave it a warm homey feel without overwhelming the lighting with dark colors. Good breakfast buffet, had something for everyone plus a chef cooking eggs and pancakes and french toast to order. If you need a home away from home, this is not a bad choice at all.

Room Tip: if you like quiet, stay in the low numbered rooms -01 to about -12
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
To be a home away from home - a better compliment is almost not possible. Thank you very much for your booking and for giving Tripadvisor users and us your review. The quiet rooms are situated to the garden but some like the feeling of metropolis - we offer a room type for any taste. Hope this was not your last stay in Berlin and we get occasion to be your home away from home! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Hote is really nice, staff very friendly and very good situated. 5 min from the Galarie Lafayette and the tube station.Lots of nice restaurants are at the Gendarmenmarkt which is 0.2km away. Breakfast was really nice lots of variety, the rooms are very clean.
We did not go to the spa.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your stay and your review. As we saw you did not use our Spa we think you should not miss it and try it during your next stay with us - we are looking forward to your visit! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#54 Business Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#73 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.