We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Berlin to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
glasgow
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Top notch location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

First thing - this is in a terrific location walkable around mitte, to the brandenberg gate, holocaust memorial, checkpoint Charlie is just down the street. We were on a business trip/celebration so it was perfect for getting to a few sights and to restaurants and bars. The girl on check in was amazingly helpful thank you! They hadn't received the request for twin rooms and we were a business group and she shuffled everyone around to get us 4 twin rooms on the same floor. Good first impression! The hotel is extremely clean with very comfy beds though the room furniture is a bit done in. Doesn't matter though everything is very comfortable. We had room service breakfast brought promptly. Also a drink at the bar. Can't give it 5 stars as I didn't experience enough of it as were out all day and night and it wasn't quite a crisp as for example westin Madrid but I'd definitely recommend. If you want a comfortable base of v good quality and ability to step out to excellent eateries and bars and sights then this is a great spot to choose. The restaurant aigner around the corner is superb, a real taste of berlin.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We thank you for sharing your impressions with us and all Tripadvisor users and we are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay. Our staff and especially the associate from Front Desk were even pleased as they could meet your expectations. Should you have occasion for another Berlin trip we hope we will be your first choice again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    630
    178
    70
    30
See reviews for
216
673
169
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel is just what I expected in a Westin: a little slice of home. An amazingly huge comfortable bed, actual washcloths, and crispy bacon at the breakfast buffet.

There is definitely no European charm to this hotel, but it was a great respite in the midst of lots of time away from the USA.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for giving us your impressions - how nice that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for having chosen The Westin Grand Berlin; we hope it was not your last stay with us and in Berlin. We are looking forward to your next visit to be your home in Berlin! Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful central location so you can walk around with ease to most major attractions. Hotel is well run with good services. Very complete breakfast of a high standard, bar is comfortable to have a drink and rooms although a touch dated are clean, spacious with what you need. A place to return to in this city of differing contrasts.

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
To see that our guests enjoyed their stay is the best remuneration for our work. Satisfaction of our guests is what we work for. Thank you very much for being here and thank you for making the efforts to write your evaluation. We are looking forward to your next stay! The Westin Grand Berlin Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Room was of a good standard , and the hotel itself is well located and very beautiful.
It's a pity because it is all spoilt by arrogant and rude staff.
The service at the bar was really bad , and not up to standard for a 5 star hotel.
I don't understand how it takes 15 minutes to bring a bill , or 20 minutes to acknowledge guests once you have seated yourself in the bar area.
Our room key was also temperamental and we had to have it replaced 3 times.
The staff was not friendly and were full of attitude when I complained about various things such a the key not working for the 3rd time or the poor service at the bar.
I would rather stay somewhere else for the same money where the staff is polite and the service is of standard !

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest, very sad for us to let you leave our hotel completely unsatisfied. We deeply regret that we were not able to meet your expectations! Even if it would have been much more better to offer compelling service already during your stay we only hope you will accept our sincere apology afterwards. Please be assured that no one than ourselves regret more to offer a bad service. In case we get a second chance please be assured we will do our utmost for your comfortable stay. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

A very good quality hotel which only had one downside a very unfriendly and arrogant lady in service express who refused to help with printing and finding a location of an hotel of the same group in another town.
The breakfast was excellent and my room was really excellent

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest, offering a high level service standard for the comfort of our guests is the aim what we work for every day. Not meeting guest expectations is disappointing not only for the guests, even for us. Please take our deep apology for the inconveniences the nonprofessional behaviour may have caused. We will do our utmost to convince you during your next stay with us and hope to get occasion for it. The Westin Grand Berlin-Team, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

You can't go wrong with this hotel. The hotel has something to it, especially when you stand on one of the top floors and look down into the entrance hall which is designed in an octagon (see picture). There are grand rooms and suits right on the gallery but also corridors leaving each gallery with smaller rooms. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms which was still more than sufficient. After the meetings I walked around in the "Friedrichstrasse" and of course the famous "Unter den Linden" which peaks in the Brandenburg Gate! Great for Shopping, Great bars and estaminets and safe to walk around. I am really picky about the last part, but believe me here there are so many people walking around that I think it is safe also at night. Especially do not forget to visit the "Gendarmenmarkt" - also just a few steps away from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much to letting us know your experiences; certainly it is a pleasure to see that you felt comfortable. We would be pleased if it was not your last stay with us and we are looking forward to your next visit in Berlin and at The Westin Grand Berlin! Andrea W., Executive Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Chose this hotel as I like the Westin and the location is good near the center of Berlin. Close to Mitte, The Brandenberg Gate and the Gendarmenmarkt. The welcome at check in is friendly and the staff are professional. The hotel itself is dated and in need of some renovation. Feeling is a bit dark and outdated. My room was very comfortable and clean but there were no Tea or coffee making facilities and the you have to pay for the Wifi per device you connect. There is a good Room service menu and the food quality was very good.

Overall a nice stay but disappointed by the lack of room facilities and the Wifi. I will choose a different hotel for my next visit.

Room Tip: Ask for in room tea making facilities and free WIFI
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear guest, we deeply regret that we could not meet your expectations and you were disappointed. Guest comments will taken very seriously by us and we always take it into consideration for improvements. Should your travel plans bring you back to Berlin somewhen in the future we would be pleased to get a second chance. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#82 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.