We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location with class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Berlin to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #102 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Location with class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is really nice. To be honest, as this was work-related I did not pay so I could not say if the price is good, but I can say that this is a very big and classy hotel.
The location could not be better, just minutes from the central train station and walking distance from the major attractions.
The breakfast boffet is amazing and I could spend the better part of an hour just going through the different flavors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest it seems you could enjoy all conveniences of our hotel and indeed you should take some time for the breakfast buffet and its variety. Thank you for your feedback in regards to your impressions - and be welcome at any time in the future. The Westin Grand Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    629
    178
    70
    30
See reviews for
216
673
169
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were advised to stay here by an acquaintance who lives in Berlin. The location is fantastic. Easy walking distance to a lot of the main attractions. Close to the Gendarmenmarkt a gorgeous square with fantastic restaurants a perfect place to people watch.Check out Soya Cosplay restaurant...possibly the best meal we had while in Berlin! Back to the hotel. Very comfortable bed firmer pillows and extra bathrobe and kettle were given on request promptly and with a smile. Room was surprisingly quiet. We didn't use the restaurant for breakfast as we thought it was very pricey. There are lots of inexpensive places for breakfast near the hotel.
Best area to stay while exploring Berlin

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the Main Street We stayed in 210 and this was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
How nice to read that you have had a pleasant stay in Berlin and at The Westin Grand Berlin. We thank you for being our guest and for review indeed! Hopefully it was not your last visit, we would be pleased to welcome you again in the future. The Westin Grand Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Please read this review only if you would like to determine whether or not to stay at this property.

Most people read reviews and start with the worst comments, then the most favorable. This, however, can be quite time consuming. The purpose of this posting is to save you valuable time by simply saying that this location is an excellent choice while in Berlin.

Facts
If for no other reason, you should stay here due to its central location. It is quite easy to get to via one bus from the TXL airport. Just 25 minutes and the bus drops you off right across the street.

The bed is very comfortable and the heated marble flooring in the bathroom is a nice touch.

Rebuttals
All of the staff we encountered proved to be quite pleasant.

When asked for a 6am wake up call, she also suggested a second wake up call at 6:15am just in case. When the second wake up call could not be answered before it stopped ringing, they called right back to make sure we were awake. So, in essence, three wake up calls for the price of one.

We found our room on the 4th floor (401) was indeed more than adequate in size for two people.

Musings
Reviews are, by nature, rather subjective. One person’s expectations differ from that of another; you should have absolutely no regrets with your stay here.

It is simply impossible to please everyone, although I was highly displeased that all of the shops are closed on Sunday; but I suppose it is not the fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for having chosen our hotel and thank again for your comment. It's true that guest expecatiotions are different; however we do our utmost to fulfil the most of requests. All the more we are pleased to read such a kind review! We hope you will have occassion for further stays in Berlin and with us! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostergotland County, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We did a considerable amount of research before our recent trip to Berlin. A first rate hotel of course was number one on the list. The Grand did not disappoint. It is flat out the best location in Berlin. Mitte Berlin is where it is happening. Located on Friedrichstraße, Berlin's best shopping street, and about 60 meters from Unter den Linden. You are only a brief walk from the Brandenburger Tor and Museum Island.

The rooms are contemporary and nicely appointed. Even though there was U-bahn construction on Friedrichstraße, we didn't hear a thing. The beds were very comfortable and we slept well.

The breakfasts were a bit pricey, but sensational. Contrary to another review I read here, the room was always filled the 4 days we were there. If you are on a budget you may want to pass on these.

Front desk and concierge service was excellent. Very helpful, respectful and polite. These people get hospitality.

I actually would rate the Grand 4.5 stars. Marking them down only for their nickel and diming Wi-Fi charges. They were asking some absurd price like 20 euros a day or 7 an hour for a service that is typically given away in the U.S. We didn't pay, opting instead for a Starbucks a few blocks south on Friedrichstraße. I would have much preferred paying more for the room an have free Wi-Fi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest, thank you indeed for your efforts for evaluating our hotel. How nice that we could meet your expectations mostly. Thank you for your frank words in regards to the WiFi prices which we take serious for further steps. Should your travel plans bring you back one day to Berlin we would be pleased to be your host again. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Despite the construction in the area, the folks at the Westin Grand still delivered a wonderful experience. The location cannot be beaten, as it is located near to the Gates, as well as the museum island and a nice walk to Checkpoint Charlie.
The hotel itself had a nice food selection, and its pool/exercise facility was an added welcome. Nicely done!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear guest, to be informed about the satisfaction of our guests is really nice for us! Thank you very much for being with us and for sharing with us your impressions. We are looking forward to your next stay! The Westin Grand Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was a guest in August at the Westin Grand Berlin. If you are looking to see the main sights of Berlin, this hotel could not possibly be in a better location. You are in walking distance to the Unter den Linden, Tiergarten Park, Humboldt University, and Alexanderplatz. For farther areas, there are U-Bahn stations only a block up the street. The hotel itself has a beautiful lobby with a rapid check-in. There are four different elevators so you never have to wait long to get to your floor. A few people have talked about the potential long walk to the hotel room and this is true. Once I was let out of the elevator on my floor, it was a considerable distance to my room. The rooms are beautiful and reasonably spacious. I had a really nice balcony overlooking the garden with a small seating area. It was great sitting out there in the evening and enjoying the Berlin summer weather. The bathrooms were awesome with modern updates and a great shower (no tub). As is common at all Starwood hotels, the bed was very comfortable. This is a wonderful hotel in the middle of historic Berlin. I heartily recommend it.

Room Tip: If possible, get a garden view. I know there is a lot of construction going on in the nearby street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guest, what a nice review and how nice to see that you had a wonderful stay with us. We thank you for your comment and your recommendation. Hopefully it was not your last stay with us - we look forward to your next visit. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Montclair, New Jersey
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

It's big, it's clean and it's a known commodity. But it's not Berlin. It's not even Europe.
Good location. Front Desk was helpful. Bikes to rent. It has a nice bar with outdoor seating and waitress service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for staying with us and thank you for letting us know your opinion. Unfortunately we could not meet your expectatations even if you were satisfied with our service obviously. Should you give us a further chance we would be pleased to convince you. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#45 Business Hotel in Berlin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#79 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#82 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.