We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting City/Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Westin Grand Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Westin Grand Berlin to your Saves list
The Westin Grand Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Santa Monica, CA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Exciting City/Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

What an exciting city....you will be busy every minute. Spent our hotel time at the Westin Grand and it was Grand. The lobby staircase is an elegant touch with the rooms centered around the staircase and open court below.......The desk reception was cordial and the concierge provided excellent service.

Room was about 14 x 15....not overly large, but very comfortable. The entry hall has the closet area and there is free coffee available as well as water. Charger plug is in the safe which is great as you can charge your I-Pad while you are out of the room with the knowledge that it is protected. First time I have seen this feature....a really good one.

Cabinetry in the hall includes 5 shelves, closet area with ample wood hangers......Luggage shelf for storage and additional hanging space above the luggage rack. Very good utilization of space. There is huge drawer in the closet area as well as plenty of drawer space in the room. About 12 lineal feet of closet area. The room arm chair by the bed is comfortable, but very tight in relation to the bed. They provide a flat panel TV with a fair amount of stations in English. There is a dresser desk with desk chair.

The bath is small, but very functional (about 10 x 6). There is a single Pullman sink with excellent counter space provided on the counter as well as shelve. A lit magnifying mirror is provided which is one of my favorite amenities. The hot water does have rushes of cold and hot, but usually comfortable.

Service at all levels rated an A including the maid.

Location of the hotel can not be bettered.

Two of our best dinners were in Berlin......We were away about 18 nights. Restaurants we particularly enjoyed included two Italian selections: Bocca di Bacco and Don Camillo. Both certainly worth a visit with nice environment and excellent service. Saigon and More (Viet Namese) was fair as was a German restaurant suggested by the Hotel (Lutter & Wegner).

My wife and I agree that you will be very comfortable staying at the Westin in Berlin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest, you really give to all Berlin visitors a good review about your stay with us and Berlin. Thank you so much for your efforts, it was a pleasure to read. Hopefully your travel plans will bring you back to Berlin and to us .... The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    751
    573
    161
    66
    27
See reviews for
198
617
165
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (252)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

This hotel is centrally located close to most major attractions. BEST breakfast ever in a European hotel, great variety, evrything delicious.

Bed is super comfortable. I wish i had a bed like this at my own home...

Spa is ok, has a pool and Jaccuzi and if you want, saunas for extra 8 EUR per person.

Two issues:

The front desk and concierge people are not very friendly, sure they answer the question asked but never beyond. Perhaps it's the German character. Very rarely do you get a smile from them even.

Also - note there is major construction very close by, so need to ask for a room at a high floor not overlooking the construction.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at a higher floor not overlooking the construction close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear guest, we do appreciate our comments of our guests. Thank you very much for your honest evaluation. Our Executive Chef is pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast especially. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I've stayed in most of the 4/5 star properties in Berlin now, but was my first time at the Westin, and i have to say, think it was my favourite. There's a quiet confidence in the elegant approach to this place, located in the premium shopping district of Friedrichstrasse and just off Unter den Linden's grand allee up to the Brandenburg gate and beyond.

Location would be hard to better, with Französische Strasse U-Bahn on the door step which is currently the end stop of the U6, so very handy. Also, 3 mins walk from Gendarmenmarkt, which has to be one of the great squares of Berlin with my favourite Berlin lokal, Lutter und Wegner- amazing schnitzel!

My room, 369, was in the newly renovated wing, and was enormous. Quiet, with very comfortable bed. Breakfast was above average with a very good omelette.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive OFFICE at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
What a nice head line ... we are really pleased to read it :) Thank you so much for sharing with us your impressions - it is such a great pleasure that you were comfortabe with us; should you come to Berlin we hope to we will can be your host again! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kingston, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I will start out with my complaint, they put me in the farthest room from anything, I believe it was 568. I took me 10 minutes to walk to my room. Other than that, a very nice stay. I love the beds at the Westin, and this one didn't disappoint, it was soft and comfortable. The room was modern, quiet, and even had ESPN America which you don't often see over here. The gym was a little above average, but the fact they had a gym is saying something. I did stay here about 7 years ago, and remember a really busy road you could have drinks on the sidewalk restaurant and people watch on, but now it's one big construction site.Still, I would definitely stay here again, it was really comfortable and a relaxing stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest, it is really nice to see that you have chosen again our hotel for your recent stay, and of course, that you would like to do it again in the future. It indicates that you were satisfied and that is the most important thing for us. We thank you indeed to publish your impressions! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
300 reviews 300 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 131 cities Reviews in 131 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel location is excellent for tourists with great access to public transport. There was construction going on outside our window but you really could not hear it inside the room and there is construction almost everywhere in Berlin anyway so you can't avoid it. We were upgraded to a larger room and the size was very good with a view of the Brandenburg Gate and the Dom if you looked beyond the construction site. The breakfast was included in our rate and excellent with eggs prepared to order, great bread. fruit and smoked fish. They even had sparkling wine if you can start the day that way. The staff was very helpful with maps and directions and they rent bikes to help get around the city as well.

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was good with a great shower set up. We would definitely stay here again if we were in town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest, we just say thank you for your stay with us and for giving us your impressions. We are looking forwad to your next visit in Berlin and at The Westin Grand Berlin. Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This is a nice upscale hotel in a good location - two blocks from the Brandenburg Gate, Tiergarden, Jewish Memorial, short walk to Museum Island.

Internet is an extra charge of €20 per day, then they charge an extra €3 if you want to print your boarding passes from the kiosk in the lobby. Mini bar is charged per item. I know that many large hotels still charge these fees, but given the number of smaller hotels who include these items in a reasonable room rate, I'm wondering why these large hotel chains still charge for them? Every other hotel we've stayed at in the last two weeks has offered free Internet and two had complimentary mini bars.

Positives: nice workout room and pool area, attentive and helpful concierge, a few rooms have French doors and balconies (#568 has a balcony), large room with work desk and sitting area, comfortable bed. Nice assortment of pillows and they did accommodate my request for extra pillows.

Negatives:
1.Massive amount of construction going on around the hotel. We paid extra for a Linden Superior Double Room, which looks out over the Unter den Linden boulevard to the Brandenburg Gate. However there is construction being done on the whole section of street along two sides of the hotel (and immediately below our room), so having the French doors open during the day means having to listen to jackhammers and large equipment. Not bad with the doors closed, but that means you can only enjoy the small balcony and fresh air at night after the workers leave (9pm when we were there). I reserved through booking.com so I'm unsure whether the hotel would have told us about the construction had I booked directly through them.
2.Twice we were given towels with ugly brown stains on them, one day we were given only one bath towel and our used glasses were not replaced with clean ones.

Overall, this is a good hotel, but the construction is definitely a drawback. And I still hate having to pay extra for wifi when I'm already paying $300 a night.

Room Tip: Room 568 has French doors and a small balcony. You can see the Brandenburg Gate looking left from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear guest, we thank you for staying with us and not at least for sharing with us your experiences and impressions. Any constructive review is really important to us to consider improvements. To offer a good internet quality to our guests our technic will be monitored and updated constantly. Our minibar contains a first class variety of foods and beverages and our can guests can decide by themselves to use it or not. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconveniences you encountered! The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

This is a very nice hotel in a great, central location, and we had a very nice room with a comfortable bed. However, due to work being performed on the hotel's electrical system, we had no power for almost the entire night of our stay and had to climb the stairs to our room on the top floor. The staff was very friendly when we checked in, but failed to warn us about the power issue. As we needed to use our computers to work, we would probably not have stayed there if we had been forewarned. Staff was much less pleasant during check out. We used Starwood points, so I guess we can't complain too much about a free stay, and I would definitely recommend this hotel to others as long as the power is working.

Room Tip: Room 673 had a nice, spacious balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westin_Grand_Berlin, Executive Office at The Westin Grand Berlin, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear guest, we deeply regret the inconveniences you have hade due to the powerless night hours. Actually we have informed our guest upon check in and on the rooms there were information with details and pocket lamps for emergency cases. Emergency lights in the public areas and elevators did work. And also Internet access would have been possible in urgent cases. But of course you did not experience the hotel service as usually. Should you come back, we will do our utmost for your comfortable stay. The Westin Grand Berlin, Andrea W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Westin Grand Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Grand Berlin

Address: Friedrichstrasse 158 - 164, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#54 Business Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#74 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Grand Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Famous location in the historic city centre, trendy district "Berlin-Mitte", on the corner "Unter den Linden"/ "Friedrichstrasse" and very well connected to all public transportation.Sights like Brandenburger Tor, Checkpoint Charlie, Museumsinsel and Gendarmenmarkt within walking distance. 400 Elegant rooms and suites, lavish lobby with grand staircase, restaurant, bar, summer terrace, spacious hotel garden, spa with indoor pool, fitness area, business center, 10 function rooms. Have a little relaxation and stay well! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Starwood EMEA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Westin Grand Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Grand Berlin Hotel Berlin
Westin Hotel Berlin
Westin Berlin
Berlin Westin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Westin Grand Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.