We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It makes you think outside the box” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection

Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection
Reinhardtstrasse 20 | (Oranienburger Tor), 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 (0)30 27594065
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 432 attractions in Berlin
Type: Art Galleries, Art Museums
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Art collection housed in a former bunker
Leicester
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“It makes you think outside the box”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This grim World War 2 bunker houses a modern art museum created by Mr and Mrs Boros. The bunker is a spectacle in itself and prompts you to think hard about how the ordinary people of Berlin survived during the allied bombing raids of WW2. It was later used by the Stasi, and serves as a grim reminder of that time. A visit to the museum is by guided tour taking around 1.5 hours - we were sceptical when we first went in, but the time passed all too quickly; our guide explained the strange works - we were encouraged to think 'out of the box' and all-in-all this was a stimulating experience. Tours need to be booked in advance and there are special tours in English. Worth seeing, particularly if you have been to Berlin previously and visited the main tourist sites.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    19
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
leigh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

You need to book. It is very central and easy to find. The bunker is an amazing space -it would be interesting to visit without the art. With the art, it was spectacular! The guided tour was brilliant- interesting and informative. The art was amazing. If you are in Berlin try to go to this collection- it was the best thing from our 5 day visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing art in an amazing location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved this place. We had a very knowledgeable guide called Andrea, a student of art history. She was great, allowing us to look around the exhibits and realising that the location was also an attraction for us too. You need to book in advance as it is very popular. Be sure to choose the right language tour, either German or language. Really interesting place - something different to do!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

As noted by others, WW2 bunker converted to private art collection. Knowledgeable docents. Kind of hit or miss on the art - remember it's a private collection so the owners taste may not be the same as yours. In our case we liked about two thirds of it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Must-do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really fantastic. I'd say one of the best museums in Berlin. Very focused on contemporary art -- remember you probably need to book 3 months in advance and pay attention to the time slot or you might end up with a German tour :-)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection also viewed

 

Been to Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sammlung Boros - Boros Bunker - Boros Collection to your Saves list