We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and intimacy in a large and famous hotel, perfectly located for exploring to the east and west of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adlon Kempinski to your Saves list
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Cotswolds,
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Comfort and intimacy in a large and famous hotel, perfectly located for exploring to the east and west of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The Hotel Adlon Kempinski is one of the famous hotels of the world. Entirely restored/rebuilt after WWII damage, it sits on the eastern side of the Brandenberg Gate; an area that was inaccessible until the wall came down.
Expectations are inevitably high and large hotels, however good the service, can feel slightly anonymous but the Adlon has succeeded in the difficult feat of making a large institution feel quite intimate. Single travellers (I was there to research a book) as well treated as any couple. It is also noticeably child friendly.
Rooms are large, very quiet, and calmly elegant rather than glamorous boutique hotel style. Public rooms are beautiful: rich damask curtains, fine wood panelling, thick carpets. Tea in the lobby on deep sofas, is an institution (Adlon's signature cake is heavenly). Breakfast choice is so extensive that lunch would be entirely unnecessary except for greed! Everything you could want is here from the spa and pool to a concierge ready to fix tickets, trips and give advice. Comfort is paramount from the quality of linen to the good sized desk. There is a Michelin 2* restaurant but there are so many interesting places to eat nearby, that I didn't use it, though dreamed over the menus.
Above all it is the large young staff who are professional but smiling, willing to go that extra length to make a stay something memorable. They not only found a ticket for a Bach concert in the Berliner Dom (sold out on line) for me but sent someone to fetch it.
Go in advent to see the huge gingerbread Adlon Hotel displayed in the lobby!

Room Tip: Rooms with Brandenberg Gate views are mostly expensive suites-but breakfast rooms have a fine view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,724 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,288
    281
    92
    33
    30
See reviews for
203
741
116
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I guess for some people this kind of hotel is standard and lucky them if they find themselves able to criticise. This is luxury beyond anything I have experienced. All delivered with courtesy and relaxed charm. We used the lobby bar, oriental bar and pool area and all were impeccable. Leave plenty of time to enjoy the amazing breakfast...Our record was an hour and 50 minutes!! It would have been brilliant to be able to make a coffee in room in the mornings whilst getting up but a small price to pay for a wonderful time. Location superb as others have said.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Beautifully designed, furnished and equipped but the stars are the staff. Every man and woman who opened doors, served coffee, showed us to our breakfast table, turned down beds and even arranged for the collection of our concert tickets (when the venue's website defeated us) was friendly, kind and efficient. We were made to feel so welcome from the moment we stepped out of the taxi from the airport. I travelled with a friend, we both had large comfortable deluxe rooms (mine even had a tiny view of the Brandenburg Gate). The hotel is ideally placed for exploring the centre of Berlin and for travel further afield there are plenty of taxis at the front doors and public transport close by. The many families staying (and children taking advantage of the provision of toy cars to explore the long corridors) were testament to the hotel's family friendliness. It's just perfect!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband and I stayed here for 4 days at the beginning of December . From checking in to the time we checked out we had an amazing time . The staff were so attentive and helpful . The hotel itself is pure luxury and right beside the Brandenburg gate . It is expensive but you really do get what you pay for and as this was a special occasion we decided to push the boat out ( my hubby had stayed in this hotel twice before with work and had always said he would like to bring me ) the hotel gets 5 stars from me and I can't wait to go back .,Hotel Adlon Kempinski you ticked all the boxes and your staff are quite simply AMAZING !!

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An excellent hotel in Berlin, with an enviable location, and an easy walk to most of the leisure and business sections of the town. Truly superb level of service from all of the staff, with a spectacular buffet breakfast. The hotel is huge but still feels warm and welcoming. There may be more modern establishments but this is a very special hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I visited the lobby for drinks and apetizers some time ago, and must say we were all blown away from the grandeur and elegance of this hotel. No wonder famous singers, politicians and businessmen alike all stay here when visiting Berlin. Level of service was at par, the atmosphere cozy and sophisticated. It did feel a bit posh, in stark contrast to the typical 'Berliner' places which tend to have a more bohemian/ alternative vibe. The only bad thing I noticed was the bathrooms downstairs, which were not an sanitary as I would expect for such a place.Overall, if you are looking for a rich experience in a hallmark hotel which is in a superb location in Berlin, would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A luxurious hotel with a great room superior deluxe overlooking unter den linden and also a lovely view of the Brandenburg Gate. The Lorenz Adlon eszimmer was amazing. the room was spacious and well appointed. Everyone was more than helpful. With the S bahn outside the hotel easy to access everywhere. Nothing was too much trouble for everyone there friendly service unobtrusive and able to deal with the unexpected .

Room Tip: Our superior deluxe room was delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Berlin
#4 Family Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#13 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adlon Kempinski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.