We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were thoroughly spoilt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Adlon Kempinski to your Saves list
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #19 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Croydon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“We were thoroughly spoilt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We wanted to stay somewhere special and centrally located for our 35th wedding anniversary weekend in Berlin and chose the Adlon Kempinski, on Unter den Linden, which met all our hopes and expectations.

It was very easy to reach from Tegel airport by hopping on the express bus, which delivered us less than 100 yards from the hotel. The return was similarly convenient.

The reception desk, on a late Friday morning was busy, but there were enough staff to deal with everyone without too much delay. Maia told us our room was not ready, so we took some things out of our cases and by the time we had returned 10 minutes later to drop them off, she said that she had just had notification that the room was ready and sent another of the reception staff to take us up. The room was large and well air conditioned and looked out over the side street, so it was very quiet, helped by doors between the small lobby area and the bedroom. There were electronically controlled blinds which helped to keep the sun out on an exceptionally hot and humid weekend.

The bathroom was also large and very well maintained, with bath and two washbasins and a lot of black marble, with one glass door leading off to a separate lavatory and a second to a spacious shower cubicle.

Before setting off on our sightseeing, we spoke to the concierge to obtain dinner recommendations for that night and the next and he not only booked them, but also by the time we returned to the room later that day, we had a letter confirming each of the bookings. We were very happy with both the restaurants and they were exactly what we had asked for in terms of distance from the hotel and type of food.

At the end of a hot, sticky day, a beer in the hotel bar next to the wonderful lobby and fountain, was served promptly and deliciously cold, with enough nuts and snacks to satisfy us until dinner.

The breakfast areas are extensive and we could have chosen a table outside for a view of the Brandenburg Gate, which is only a few yards away, but we opted for the inside and the air conditioning. The buffet was so comprehensive that we didn't look at the menu, with special features like fresh honeycomb by the jam section and caviar and champagne also available. A nice touch is the staff member dressed a little like an old 'cigarette girl' who walked around with a basket of warm bread and pastries. The service was impeccable and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Altogether, a very happy choice and although we may not go back to Berlin, we will certainly look out for other Kempinski hotels and I have already started recommending this one to friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,424
    310
    102
    41
    33
See reviews for
240
821
123
424
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay here for 24 hours whilst attending a clinical trials meeting. It is not a particularly exciting building from the outside, but inside is like stepping back in time. Beautiful to look at and extraordinarily helpful staff. At the time I arrived, afternoon tea was being served in the atrium, clearly delighting the septuagenarians indulging in it. Check-in was smooth- always nice to be offered champagne whilst in a 20 second queue!
The room was fantastic. Good size, nice layout, well stocked bar and goodies shelf and a decent TV. There is free wifi available (speed somewhat slow but OK for business- you need to pay to access high speed wifi). It is bit British, but my only gripe was the lack of tea/coffee making facilities. A drawer in the bedside cabinet contains light switches- simple but brilliant. Good bathroom with a decent size bath and an excellent shower.
Breakfast was exceptional- without doubt the best choice I have seen in years- not often that you see caviar at the breakfast table. Honey on the comb, food cooked to order, something to indulge all tastes. All very satisfying.
The location is what tops it off. Right by the Brandenburg gate- we were lucky enough to catch the USA-Belgium game at the fanpark. For those wanting to get into and explore Berlin, you couldn't be better placed.
Overall, an awesome experience. A great hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The hotel looks amazing, and you feel very special when entering the building. The staff is very nice and helpful. The rooms are beautiful and classic. We managed to get the street view.. it was just great!! When we received our car from the valet parking, there was 2 water bottles and hand cleaning tissues, something that shows their attention to detail.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We were stuck in Berlin due to a canceled flight and decided to spend the night at the Adlon. We told the front desk about our travel issues with missing luggage and unsure flight times. When we arrived in the room we were greeted with champagne and a note wishing is the best on our anniversary and apologizing for our travel problems. We spent some time in one of the restaurants and the spa. Every step of the way you are pampered and treated like royalty. The service was incredible. We will return to this hotel every time we visit Berlin. It is worth every euro.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

As a frequent world business traveler, I can easily say that this hotel is world class. So what does not hotel have going for it? Old world charm, unbeatable location, beautiful building, comfortable and luxurious rooms, great service, wonderful food and 'lobby boy' type hats a la Grand Budapest Hotel. Rates were also incredibly reasonable for the package that this hotel offers. Just tremendous in every way.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful hotel located next door to the Brandenburg Gate on our recent trip to Berlin. The hotel had been recommended by some friends who had stayed there the previous summer. The rooms are well appointed and spacious. The staff was outstanding especially the people managing the Concierge. Our stay at the Hotel Adlon was great and we highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

With this hotel, you are staying at the very spot that every other visitor to the city is trying to get to. The streetside cafe looks directly at the Brandenburg Gate, the rooms wrap around the British Embassy on three sides, you are in the heart of everything.

The hotel is an architectural gem, with superior finishes in every public and private space. The corridors are long but with interesting courtyards and public rooms scattered around, it is part of the trip to see them. Take a swim in the basement pool to see another enjoyable piece of architectural folly.

I found the concierge busy but friendly and helpful and yes, the bellmen were overworked, taking 30 minutes to deliver the bag and I had to slow him down to show me what the room features were--never heard about that free morning coffee!

The breakfast price is indeed oppressive, very good room service a la carte is (barely) cheaper, which is odd. Cheap carry out breakfast is one block east on Wilhelmstrasse and southwest one block near the Jewish Monument along the former Wall.

The rooms are good value for the money spent, the perfect splurge.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Berlin
#10 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#10 Family Hotel in Berlin
#16 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Number of rooms: 382
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Splendia, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adlon Kempinski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.