We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Save Saved
You added Hotel Adlon Kempinski to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Adlon Kempinski
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Sydney, NSW
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“As good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

In any hotel you can find one or two things that are not quite right, and sometimes these faults can really affect how you rate them. But at the Adlon, even a squeaky toilet seat couldn't upset a maximum rating. The service is of the highest standard, the bed provided wonderful nights sleep, and the breakfast against the backdrop of the Brandenburg gate was very very good. Any fault finding with the Adlon would be nit-picking. They provide a wonderful product and we certainly hope that we can enjoy their service again when we visit Berlin.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a room with a view over Unter den Linden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,479 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,107
    234
    83
    30
    25
See reviews for
165
619
103
332
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent Hotel. Delightful.
Staff were very pleasant, accommodating and courteous.
The location that has a real holiday vibe but the hotel is a very refreshing, relaxing experience in a hectic and sometimes fraught Berlin.
I would just like to make two points.
I felt a little overwhelmed by the number of people who seemed to zero in on me and my luggage when I arrived. I am sure people were following protocol but I found it a little intrusive.
Tea making facilities in the room for those who like a bedtime cup would have been very welcome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urubamba, Peru
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Very well localized in Berlim. High priviliege be few steps away from Bradenburg Gate. Bedroons very beautiful, luxuous present in each detail. This hotel was destroyed during the 2nd World War and later rebuilt. I strongly recommend at least to pass by to have a coffee/tea in case you chose another hotel to be hosted.

Room Tip: If possible chose one with view to Bradenburg Gate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

From start to finish we had one of the best experience when it came to the room. Like other comments the food in the restaurant was so-so. Our first visit to Berlin and we normally don't do too many nights in one place so 3 nights was just enough. We were on our way around Europe and after a month of touring Berlin was one place that stood out. Hence the review.
Great Staff and lots to do in Berlin....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here with the in-laws during a four day family vacation in Berlin.

While the history of the hotel was something the in-laws were looking forward to and definitely enjoyed -we were extremely pleased with high level of service and care shown to us while we were resident. We opted for a suite for the in-laws and settled for a basic level room - which was orpulent as well in any case! Breakfast was a sumptous affair and we were given a choice of the main dining room and the various inner rooms (one of which overlooked the Brandenburger Tor, which needless to say was a wonderful experience). We requested champagne, chocoltes and a vase of flowers for the in-laws, which was brought up promptly and discretely.

All in all - a wonderful stay for all of us! The only dissapointment was the restaurant, which served up really undercooked asparagus to us during dinner. A minor complaint however which accounts for the 4 stars instead of 5.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Adlon lives up to its reputation of being on the most stylish and exquisite Hotels in Berlin. After trying many hotels in Berlin, I can recommend this one as having the best staff and concierge. The rooms are spacious and the hotel bar a great place to socialise on Saturday evening. I can also recommend Natasha for the best Mobile Massage service in Berlin.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

In Berlin for a conference at another hotel that only had a few rooms left at an exorbitant rate. Checked on line and found the Adlon at a very reasonable rate. Knew the name from history - I know, I know, it's a different building now...and decided a stay so close to the Brandenburg Tor would be fun. Everything went very smoothly from check-in to check-out. Staff very friendly. Welcome glass of champagne a nice touch. Received a complimentary room upgrade with a view over Unter den Linden. Also invited to join their loyalty programme right away which - amongst other benefits - provides free WiFi during your stay. Room was nicely appointed, comfortable bed, fluffy towels, excellent shower, functional desk with power outlets for various countries. Did not eat in hotel so cannot comment. A late night drink in Lobby Bar my last night in town was very pleasant. Exceptional service, with impeccable English. All in all a five star experience that other " 5 star" hotels could learn from.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Adlon Kempinski? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Adlon Kempinski

Address: Unter den Linden 77, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Berlin
#8 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#9 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#11 Family Hotel in Berlin
#11 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Adlon Kempinski 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Adlon Kempinski, Berlin’s premier address that has fascinated guests since 1907. Ideally located in the very heart of a vibrant city, right next to Berlin’s famous landmark Brandenburg Gate, this iconic and luxurious hotel exudes the ultimate in style and elegance. The Hotel Adlon Kempinski welcomes guests with remarkable European Flair and heartwarming service. Three restaurants, including the Lorenz Adlon Esszimmer and the stylish Japanese-Thai restaurant Sra Bua by Tim Raue, serve the most demanding palates. With its 9,000 sq-ft spread over three levels, the Adlon Spa by Resense, Berlin’s greatest wellness haven, invites guests to enjoy soul nourishing treatments. Welcome to a living legend. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Adlon Kempinski reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adlon Kempinski Hotel
Adlon Kempinski Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Adlon Kempinski, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.