We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Hotel Bristol

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Hotel Bristol to your Saves list
Kempinski Hotel Bristol
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kurfuerstendamm 27, 10719 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Picked this hotel after looking at many others, pleased we did. The hotel was clean, staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms were nice, we had both a twin and a double. Good central location. We hired bikes from the hotel for the day and cycled round Berlin, especially nice cycling through the park not too far away. The hotel pool was closed when we went, but the hotel had sorted this and allowed us to use another hotel's pool and spa just up the road, which we enjoyed using. The pool reopened at the hotel the day we left after being renovated. We couldn't find many places in Berlin for breakfast, Starbucks had to do for one of the days as we didn't pay for the hotel's breakfast, which we thought was expensive. Would definitely recommend doing the open top bus tour, which saves a lot of walking and allows you to jump on and off all day long. A very good thing to do. We were really pleased we picked this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    384
    164
    59
    31
See reviews for
120
372
85
204
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saarbrucken, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel is truly in the center of Berlin. Valet Parking, friendly staff, all is really nice. We would stay here again. The Cafe Reinhard is part of the hotel and you can have breakfast outside with a great look at the Kurfürstendamm.

The rooms are ok but a little old. They have been refurbished but you realize you are in an old hotel. But they are clean and really ok. If you are non smoker book a non smoking room in advance! We could not stay in the smoking room. It was really smelly.

Business center use and print outs have been free of charge with surprised me very positively.

As every hotel there is a small BUT:

The rooms are not expensive but all the additional cost are immense:

- Valet Parking 27 EUR a day!
- Internet for 3 days was 50 EUR or similar. I was really shocked
- There are two bottles of water in the room free of charge. No tea making facility or similar. But if you take the water out of the fridge (minibar) they charge 9 EUR for it! Unbelievable.

They have to work on the overpriced extras. Otherwise very nice.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker book a non smoking room in advance!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I'll start off by saying that there was nothing wrong with this hotel. We paid 85 euros a night, which was a fair price for the summer season. It's conveniently located near a metro station, and there are plenty of cafes and restaurants in the area (so you can avoid the 27 euro per person breakfast).

We've stayed at one other Kempinski in Bangkok, and we were blown away with both the service and the facilities. Here, however, the room was small, the window was small, the a/c system didn't keep the room very cool, and the pool had no natural light. The bed was nice, though.

I'd stay here again, for the same price, but I know not to expect a large room, lavish flowers in the lobby, or someone to carry my bags to my room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huron, South Dakota
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Spent a couple days here while experiencing Berlin, front counter staff was very fluent in English and accommodating, and the hotel was extremely well-kept. Bar staff was a little snooty, but the restaurant staff made up for it. Not a "budget" hotel by any means. 28 euros for breakfast buffet. Two things I was not impressed with. No cool air made it up to the fifth floor, but they offered a window fan. The second thing was the no clothes/swimsuits allowed in the sauna. Not that into public nudity. Pool was stunning and only a few people took advantage of it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed one night on business trip . Convenient location for the west end if the city .Excellent welcome from receptionist , pleasant room and good breakfast. No time to check out spa facilities but looked to be first rate.
Much preferred the Bristol to the the Intercontinental which I have used in the past.

Room Tip: No particular preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights during a city trip to Berlin and were overall happy with it.
Location: Just around the famous shopping street Kudamm where you have all the big shops and also coffee places and restaurants and close to the Metro stop "Uhlandstrasse".
The Zoologischer Garten is also within walking distance so you have all the train and bus connections.
Rooms: we had a standard room on the fifth floor (512). It was quite small. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom equipped with the necessary toiletries and bathrobes. Outside the bathtub that served also as a shower was a kind of gutter that was filled with foam after having taken a shower. It was a bit smelly.
The room was ok but not really not the standard of a 5 star-hotel, the furniture was quite old fashioned.
WIFI was free of charge for 30 min., when ended, you needed to log on again and the time started again. The connection was very poor, though. For high speed internet you had to pay.
Service: the lady at the check-in was indeed very friendly and you got the feeling that she really enjoyed her job.
It is a very good option if you want to be near the Kudamm with all the train/bus-connections.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent around Christmas 2013 here with a Booking.com offer incl.spa,breakfast and executive lounge food,drinks,wine, cocktails. Excellent city and wonderful hotel. Met our family here who are amazingly fluent in travelling the city and saw lots of Berlin on foot, by metro and tram. Thanks to TripAdvisor hints and tips for being warned about various scams, which we carefully avoided.
Hotel is truly magnificent and service very good and professional. Staff knowledge of cocktails could improve, but all in all, very nice stay, excellent quiet room, good bed, lovely spa, good breakfast choice.
Would definitely return. Great hotel, bit faded grandeur, great city.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Hotel Bristol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Hotel Bristol

Address: Kurfuerstendamm 27, 10719 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Charlottenburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#67 Family Hotel in Berlin
#111 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#138 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#160 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Hotel Bristol 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located directly on Kurfurstendamm Boulevard and within walking distance of the zoo, the green heart of the city, the Kempinski Hotel Bristol Berlin welcomes guests from all over the world. The 246 elegant rooms and 55 luxurious suites are designed with great attention to detail. Among the culinary options available to guests are the Reinhard's im Kempinski, the gourmet restaurant Kempinski Grill, the Gobelin Halle and the Bristol Bar. For health and fitness, guests can enjoy the generous Bristol SPA which offers an oasis of calm and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotel.de, EasyToBook, Splendia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Kempinski Hotel Bristol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Hotel Bristol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.