We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Regent Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Regent Berlin to your Saves list
Regent Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlottenstrasse 49, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
alexandria, virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was very pleased with my stay at the Regent, especially for the price. The housekeeping service was great, including free treats delivered daily (chocolates, gummi bears, fruit, etc.). The breakfast, which was included, was amazing. The only negative was that WiFi service was very sporadic, especially in the rooms, but since we were always able to get service in the lobby lounge, it was not a huge inconvenience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear jw9691,

thank you very much for rating us five stars here on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you did enjoy your stay with us and that almost everything worked out the way you have expected it.

We would love to welcome you back soon. Don´t let us wait too long.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    612
    112
    24
    9
    4
See reviews for
94
365
41
140
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

This was our second say at The Regent. It is very comfortable, extemely clean and right in the middle of the city. A big change since our visit last year was the free, highly reliable and fast wifi, a wonderful improvement as previously it was quite expensive. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We left just prior to the closure of Charlottenstrasse for the Berlin marathon and our cases were taken across the barricaded area to the taxi waiting for us.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It was my second stay at the Regent Berlin. The first one was great, so I was looking forward to this one. Facilities are basically the same and breakfast is outstanding, but service has really gone downhill.
Upon arrival at 10am, I was informed that my room was not ready and was escorted to a separate area by the lobby where I could work and was told that someone would come and let me know as soon as my room was ready. At noon, a colleague of mine arrives to the hotel, sees me by the reception, comes to say hello and asks “Isn’t your room ready? Sorry, I just checked-in and mine was”. So I go back to the reception and ask: “Is my room ready?”, and obviously it was, they had just forgotten me there…
Next day I return to the reception to ask if I could leave the room at 13h30 instead of noon, and the same person who checked me in looks at my face and says “NO”. Just like that – NO. A moment of silence comes between us and I probably had a startled face, so she adds “We are full”.
At precisely noon, I came down and was asked if everything was all right with my stay, so I told the woman who asked me everything I stated above, including that I do understand that the hotel cannot always accommodate early check-in and late check-out requests; however not all guests arrive and depart at the same time and would have it mattered if they gave me an extra 1h30? Plus I told her that her colleague was both inefficient (she forgot me at the reception are the day before) and unfriendly.
When I said this, her colleague (the one who checked-me in), stops attending the customer she was with, turns to me in a confrontational tone and says: “I was not unfriendly and yesterday I was not at the reception at noon”. I will leave each reader to judge such attitude, but this is certainly not the type of service and treatment I expect when I check-in at ANY hotel, especially not the Regent.
Next time, I will go back to the Hotel de Rome.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

We loved this hotel. I must have gotten an extremely good deal because I have paid a lot more for lower quality hotels. We were treated like royalty and the room was superb. Huge bathroom with separate walk in shower. High quality soap shampoo etc. The room was so comfortable. Free wifi that worked. Exceptional service from housekeeping to concierge. The location was great. Right at Gendarmenmarkt square. Walking distance to Brandenberg Gate, Checkpoint Charlie & Museum Island. Great restaurants nearby too. Only drawback was the closest Ubahn station only went one way due to construction. Berlin is busy rebuilding and reinventing itself so that is sure to change soon. We would live at this hotel if we could. Wish we had brought dressy clothes so we could enjoy the 2 Michelin stars restaurant

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Susan K,

thank you very much for your recent review here on TripAdvisor on the occasion of your stay with us. We are glad that we did meet your expectations to the fullest and also as part of a great offer.

It´s always worth it to check our website for a special offer or even better to call our reservation departments for that exclusive, complete and luxury reservations handling. Do it again next time and keep coming back.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Midwest
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spend two days in September at the Regent. Great location, service and good value room rates. What many reviewers not seem to recognize, is that this hotel is a five star at a nations capitol. Just compare this to other five star hotels let's say Paris and you come to recognize the great service, proximity and good valued room rates.
Unlike another fellow traveller, we did enjoy the orange themed Veuve Cliquot center court yard - a nice colored accent within all the grey buildings.
We did find the breakfast to be a bit underwhelming. Nice presentation and atmosphere. Rolls, waffles and egg dish, and fruit were not that flavorful or delicious.
Overal though, this hotel is an 5 star, and would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear SWP_Midwest,

we would like to thank you ver much for your five star rating on us here on TripAdvisor. It is with great pleasure to read that you did enjoy your stay at the Regent Berlin. Since almost everything was to your fullest satisfaction we are positive to welcome you again soon. We would love to!

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Marcos,CA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel and were treated to a great experience. It is a beautiful hotel in a great location. The service was exceptional and the rooms lovely. Our room was completely refreshed while we were out to dinner with new towels and amenities, turn down service. We felt very pampered and would most definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear donkeysx2,

thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us here on TripAdvisor. It is just great to learn that you felt comfy all over and that we were able to create the Regent experience.

Keep telling everybody about us in Cali and don´t let us wait too long for your return visit.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I chose this hotel based on comments made by other reviewers. Our room (standard double deluxe) was extremely comfortable and clean. No noise from either outside or other rooms. The bed was large and comfortable complemented by quality pillows. The bathroom was large and equipped to a high standard. We opted for a breakfast package and we were not disappointed. We found that all staff were polite and attentive. The location of the hotel is very good. It is centrally placed for visiting many of the sites by foot, even though we were shattered by the end of the day. A great short break and should we go back to Berlin, will definitely opt for the Regent again. Another thought, the Regent is situated in an area where it is not overpowered by construction work. The only thing that would have made it even better after a long day out, was the chance to switch on some English TV whilst getting ready for the evening.

Room Tip: If you like to listen to music in your room, take your iPod. There is an iPod dock next to the bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegentBerlin, Manager at Regent Berlin, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Shacklebrush,

the headline "highly recommended" of your five star review here on TripAdvisor would be enough to thank you at least a hundred times. Since you´ve got influenced by other reviewers it is with great pleasure to read your review on us, too.

It is so much fun to go through your review and come across all those beautiful words you used to describe your experience. Thank you very much for that.

Regarding the english TV channels we will instantly have a look at it and get them a little more up front. Thank you for the note.

We hope to welcome you again soon.

With best regards,

Your team of the Regent Berlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Regent Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent Berlin

Address: Charlottenstrasse 49, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#1 Family Hotel in Berlin
#1 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#2 Business Hotel in Berlin
#3 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Regent Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, Venere, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Regent Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Regent Berlin Hotel Berlin
Berlin Regent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Regent Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.