We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't waste your money” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Wintergarten Variete

Wintergarten Variete
Potsdamer Strasse 96 | Arnold Kuther Entertainment GmbH, 10785 Berlin, Germany (Charlottenburg)
+49 30 588 433
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 76 Theater & Concerts in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Nightlife, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Wintergarten Berlin: Music, Variety, Show – entertaining, charming and diversified. Meret Becker or the Tiger Lillies, Max Raabe or Eckart von Hirschhausen, newcomers or international stars of the variety scene: this is where the world meets in a unique atmosphere of mirrors, wood, dark red velvet and the legendary starry sky.“Europe’s most beautiful Variety”, a “Jewel among varieties”, “Berlin’s probably most beautiful theatre” – these are the superlatives used by the press to talk about the beauty of the Wintergarten.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage
Celbridge, Ireland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We went to the magic show here in January on the recommendation of the concierge of our hotel. What a mistake. What a ripoff. The tables are tiny and people were trying to eat while the show was on. We weren't sitting together (opposite sides of a small table with four other people eating around us: two empty seats meant that we weren't sitting on top of each other). The place is smelly and the toilets are disgusting. If you have £60 to throw away then you might enjoy the show as it was unbelievably awful and amateur.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wintergarten, Geschäftsführer at Wintergarten Variete, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Dear Wintergarten visitor,
thank you for your feedback to our show on 1-28-2013. We hope for your understanding with regard to our late answer.
We are deeply sorry that you didn´t enjoy your visit at Wintergarten.
Basically, it is one of the unique features of variety shows and theatres that it is possible to eat and drink during the whole show. In fact, this is why most of our visitors choose to watch a show at Wintergarten.
We are also very sorry that you were not satisfied with your seats in our theatre. The Wintergarten is authorized to offer seats even for 600 guests at 6 tables per row and 9 seats per table officially. Perhaps you have not noticed it, but we have only 8 seats instead of 9 per table and only 5 tables per row, this providing a more comfortable situation for our guests than you would find in most other variety theatres. Our tables are amongst the largest in our business.
We regretfully agree with you that in January we had some bad problem with our sanitary system, and unfortunately it took us some days to identify the source of it – a broken pipe inside one of the building walls. This has been fixed in the meantime.
As for the show, we had more than 30.000 visitors in 12 weeks, and none of them evaluated it as being “awful” or “amateur” – on the contrary, most people explicitly liked the show very much just as it was.
However, we have to acknowledge the fact that you were not satisfied with your visit here, and we will thoroughly discuss your remarks and suggestions internally in order to improve our performance.
As we do not want you to have lasting bad impressions of the Wintergarten, we would like to ask you to get in contact with us personally to invite you for another visit to the Wintergarten on the occasion of one of your future stays in Berlin.
Please contact us under 030 588 43 40 or info@wintergarten-berlin.de
Thank you very much and kind regards from your
Wintergarten Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    8
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naestved
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great Show”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

A great show and variete. Extremely good artist and a great show. A charming place with good ambience, good food and all in all a good experience. Beware that food not included in price and that one ought to be there (1900) 1 hour before show starts at 2000, if You are going to take dinner also.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We saw the show “Made in Berlin” and liked it very much. Talented artists and great choreography. We bought the show tickets, didn’t try the dinner menu. They also have a discount for Welcome Card holders. You don’t need to think twice, it was awesome.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice show, nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We saw the "Made in Berlin" show at the Wintergarten. Perhaps we are spoiled by seeing too many "Cirque du Soleil" shows, but this one felt amateurish in its production. The individual acts were okay, and occasionally amusing. The entre acte transitions felt contrived and silly.

Perhaps our enjoyment was hindered by the stifling heat inside the theater - I guess there's a reason many of these shows don't run in August. We were uncomfortable in our hot balcony seats, though on the other hand they are the best seats from which to see the show. I don't know how those who paid top dollar for the floor seats could see over one another's heads.

Also, the 1/2 hour intermission was too long - it felt like they just wanted to give us more time to order more drinks and food.

All that said, we used our Berlin Welcome Card to get a hefty 25% discount, and left feeling like we had a good value for a nice show, just nothing spectacular that will last in our memories. Since the show changes regularly, I would watch the reviews, and not rule this out for future visits to Berlin.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good option for the evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

I went to the show called Forever young, which was a good mixture of music and a show. It is very nice inside, with all the red walls and ceiling with stars on it. The show was good and I very much enjoyed it. As for the sits, you can see things a lot better if you sit on the balcony. No point in paying for the first category seats, choose 2-3 for a better view. They also have a discount with the Berlin Welcome card (25%)

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wintergarten Variete also viewed

 

Been to Wintergarten Variete? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wintergarten Variete, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.