We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of art'otel berlin mitte

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added art'otel berlin mitte to your Saves list
art'otel berlin mitte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wallstrasse 70-73, 10179 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book now & save up to 30%
Ranked #205 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great location and comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This was our first time in Berlin and we had no idea where to stay but, overall, we were very pleased with the hotel. It is in a great location being right next to a u-bahn. On check-in we were encouraged to upgrade our room to one at the rear to get a quieter experience, which we did at an extra 10 euros a night. However, as effective as their up-selling may be, there really was no need. The area is deserted and silent at night. We returned to the hotel between 10pm and 2am each night and there was never anyone around outside and the whole area was really quiet. The room was spacious and comfortable albeit a little tired around the edges. The breakfast was varied and tasty with friendly staff. Overall, a good budget hotel in a quiet but central location. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPraxmarer, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear NickyWilt,

Thank you for the feedback you shared on TripAdvisor. Our guest feedback tells us that the courtyard side is more quite, I can assure that was the reason of the up-selling.
I´m pleased that you liked our varied breakfast and you enjoyed our spacious and comfortable rooms. I´m happy to pass on the positive feedback to our staff. I would be happy to welcome you back at art’otel berlin mitte. For direct bookings please visit our homepage as we always garantie best rates.

Best regards
Sabine Praxmarer
Guest relations & Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

607 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    278
    106
    28
    23
See reviews for
56
289
28
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

This hotel offers just about everything you would need for a comfortable stay. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights, and we were very pleased with our accommodation. The hotel is located on a quiet street, just steps away from the U-bahn station. Our hotel room #519 was immaculately clean, and the lovely duvet on the bed promoted a good nights sleep. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, and varied, complete with fruit, yogurt, cereals, musilli, eggs, bacon, sausage, and luxuries like smoked salmon and brie cheese. Everything perfect, freshly baked goods, and delicious coffee and juices. Guests won't need to eat lunch after consuming a breakfast from this wonderful hotel..
The service staff, ie. the waiters/waitresses were friendly, helpful, and polite. Nothing was too much to ask. Our servers in particular, Emma and Christian, were superb! They worked extremely hard trying to please all the guests. The front reception desk personnel, in particular Dominque who was on duty the evening we checked in to the hotel, was very helpful, efficient, and thoughtful since she managed to reopen the lobby bar for us, two late-night arrivals, who desperately desired a nightcap after our tiring overseas flight from Canada. The friendly young bartender named Christian, was enthusiastic and offered me a fancy cocktail which he created for the first time, recipe in hand! It was refreshing, and helped ease the tension from a stressful flight. After chatting to Christian about the upcoming FIFA World Cup Soccer matches my husband and I bid Christian goodnight and then slept like a baby in our comfy featherbeds!

Room Tip: The only recommendation we would suggest is for the hotel management to create more storage space in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SPraxmarer, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Arleneeri,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
I am glad, that you enjoyed your stay in art’otel berlin mitte and that we could meet your expectations.
Also I´m happy that you had a great sleep and enjoyed our breakfast buffet with our fresh amenities.
Thank you also for the positive feedback about our staff, especially Emma und Christian from our service team and Dominique from our front office team.
I will personally pass on this feedback to our team.
I am looking forward to welcome you back soon at the art’otel berlin mitte.

Best wishes from Berlin
Sabine Praxmarer
Guest relations & Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Stayed here over New Years. We were downgraded from a suite to a smaller room (with two single beds plus a zed bed) because of overbooking. We were offered the breakfast for free as compensation as well as a cash discount. The staff handled it very well and were really friendly so not a problem at all. The room was excellent - really comfortable and spacious and very clean.
The hotel is really cool with friendly staff, looks great and really centrally located, in a quiet area but easy to get anywhere as it's right next to the metro.
The breakfast is amazing and definitely worth paying for.
Would definitely recommend this place to stay in Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Art'Otel. We were assigned an extremely comfortable and immaculately clean room, which was very well insulated, which made for a very good night's sleep. We took advantage of the 20% discount voucher in the Factory bar and enjoyed a fantastic mojito before dinner. The hotel front desk helpfully recommended the Nikolaiviertel area for dinner and we had a great dinner at Reinhards - just a 10-minute walk from the hotel. Sadly we had no time to eat in the hotel's restaurant for dinner as we were only there one night - but if the breakfast is anything to go by, I'd highly recommend it! A very impressive selection of hot and cold items and most importantly for me...........great coffee! I recommend this hotel wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Handy for transport from Schoenefeld airport and for u Bahn and walks around the sights. Welcoming staff and a large clean room and bathroom. A pleasant bar and restaurant with a good if pricey breakfast. We will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear sue f,

we appreciate you taking the time to complete a survey regarding your recent stay with us.

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable time in our hotel and hope you had a save journey back.

On behalf of our entire staff here at art'otel berlin mitte we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area.

Kind Regards,
Daniela Maurer
Guest Relations & Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kgs. Lyngby
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

The hotel is very nicely located with a subway outside the entrance. 2 stops to Alexander Platz and 3 stops to friedrichstrasse (shopping street). Very nice staff in the lobby and daily cleaning. The breakfast is medium (basic) but there is a large bakery with many tables near by. The area is quiet and safe. A taxi to tegel airport is ca. 25€.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Jens33,

we appreciate your feedback which you posted on Tripadvisor and I am happy to hear that you liked our hotel, the service and all the surroundings. It is always nice to get such a great feedback. Regarding the breakfast i am happy to let you know that we also serve a small french breakfast in our bar arean, maybe quiet the same like in the bakery. The breakfast includes coffee, orange juice and croissants for only 8,90€. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we welcome you back at art'otel berlin mitte in the very near future. Should you wish to make a direct booking with us please visit our website as we always guarantee the best rates.
Best Wishes
Daniela Maurer
Guest Relation&Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

The Art'otel Berlin Mitte was a perfectly pleasant place to spend our 5 days in Berlin. It's really close to the U-bahn which was really handy, and is within walking distance of the Reichstag, Brandenburg gate etc.

It's a relatively basic hotel, but we had no complaints at all, aside from the fact that the room was extremely hot and the air conditioning didn't seem to work (but we didn't actually tell anyone about it so we can't really complain)

The bar is nice, and on our final day we had food there which again was perfectly decent. I'd definitely consider staying again if we returned to Berlin.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniela M, Manager at art'otel berlin mitte, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear LauraD,

thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful feedback here on Tripadvisor. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and like the hotel, the staff and all the surroundings. Regarding the temperature: our cooling/heating system is set to keep a standard temperature of 21 Degrees Celsius.I am sorry to hear that this was too hot for you. I will talk to our chief engineer to make sure the aircon is working in all the rooms. please accept my apologies for that. I would be happy to welcome you back at art'otel berlin mitte or in on of our other art'otels.
Kind Regards,
Daniela Maurer
Guest Relations&Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to art'otel berlin mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about art'otel berlin mitte

Address: Wallstrasse 70-73, 10179 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in Berlin
#119 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#151 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — art'otel berlin mitte 4*
Number of rooms: 109
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your art'otel berlin mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art`Otel Berlin Mitte Hotel Berlin
Park Plaza Berlin
Berlin Park Plaza
Art Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage art'otel berlin mitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.