We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What A Disappointment! – our first room was very noisy and neither had Art Nouveau décor.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Art Nouveau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Art Nouveau to your Saves list
Hotel Art Nouveau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leibnizstrasse 59, 10629 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #193 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“What A Disappointment! – our first room was very noisy and neither had Art Nouveau décor.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Despite my request, when I reconfirmed my reservation two weeks prior, for a quiet room, the responding email assured me of a “quite” room. Then our assigned room overlooked the 24/7 very noisy Leibnizstrasse. We were changed the following night to a room overlooking the “green”. However, despite the hotel name and stylish website, neither room was furnished in the Art Noveau style – a more accurate descriptor might be Ikea hodge podge.

On top of that, the person checking us in completely forgot that we needed 2 keys in addition to the room key and when we returned after dinner, we were locked out until someone with a key appeared.

Room Tip: A prior traveler suggested asking for a "green" room. That sounds wise - since we saw some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    30
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
37
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I spent 12 days at the Hotel Art Nouveau in July and every one of them was memorable. The hotel excellent location, charm, spacious and well appointed rooms, the abundant and delicious breakfast, the immaculately kept room by the efficient staff, and the owners hospitality evident in every small detail, vastly enhanced my visit to Berlin. I can't wait to go back! I felt safe and welcomed at the Art Nouveau, definitely not your ordinary hotel, think of it more as a home-away-from-home.

Room Tip: My room faced the internal courtyard and it was quiet and cool even in the warmest nights in July.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Art Nouveau Hotel for a couple of days late August/early September. The hotel is situated in a quiet and discreet building. The old style elevator alone makes you feel like you are in a museum (it's perfectly functioning and safe though). We heard each room has its own individual and distinctive theme and style. Ours was Asian (Japanese/Chinese/Balinese), spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and had all necessities (large bed, comfy bedding, desk, small tv, even hair dryer, etc) and huge windows with room darkener curtains giving you the option of making the room bright or deem lighted. Our room (#1) had a view on a little courtyard, very quite and lush. The common dining room area of the hotel was my favorite space: charming, large, welcoming and communal. Breakfast is very delicious, varied, and generous. There's nice music playing and magazines and books to read, and there's also free wifi in the hotel.
The owner, Mr Gerd is almost always at the premises and is courteous, helpful and very friendly. He'd go out of his way to accommodate his guests. It really feels like "home".
The hotel is also conveniently located on Leibnizstrasse with plenty of stores and bakeries and bars and restaurants nearby. It's only a few steps away from Kurfürstendamm Boulevard, Berlin's own Champs Élysées, ideal to stroll around and take in the beautiful city. We were very satisfied with the hotel and would definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

The hotel has a grand old Berlin feel to it. It is located on the 4th floor of an old, quaint building. Our room was spacious and decorated very well. The staff was efficient and friendly. The owner was gracious and helpful with restaurant recommendations. We ate at all of them and were so impressed.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights very freindly place its just like from Home to home i ll say too Dont expect fancy big lobby reception etc This place is on the 4th floor of an old typical appartement .
Very Freindly and helpful owner . Ideal location 5 min walk to Kurfürstendamm Str. Surrounded by nice restaurants and yes i ll stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Our Junior Suite, booked and paid for in full well in advance, had been given to another couple, presumably because that couple hadn't been able to get into the building for the best part of a day on their arrival. We were offered a small standard room which was unacceptable, even at a reduced charge, as we were staying for a week. Eventually we were shown to a Suite, not on the main hotel floor (the 4th) but on the 2nd floor (the hotel is on the 2nd and 4th floors of an apartment building). It was large, with a separate little sitting room and a bathroom with bath. We were not entirely happy because the room was two floors away from the breakfast room, accessible via a rabbit warren like arrangement (more on this below) and not as charming as the Junior Suite we had booked which was given to the other couple (we saw that room because we were taken to it, only to find it occupied). However we said we would take the 'Suite'. As the week wore on we became increasingly unhappy about being in that Suite. To get there we had to enter the hotel's second 'front door', go down a long narrow corridor cluttered with stacks of chairs, vacuum cleaner etc, exit onto a back stairwell (which often stank of cigarette smoke), open a second locked door then finally unlock the room door - 4 doors, 3 of them locked. And we had only one set of keys, so we couldn't go up to the 4th floor (where breakfast and reception was) separately. There was no wi-fi in our room, so to use the internet we had to trek to the 4th floor. Bathroom tiling was unfinished around pipes, wiring from some light fittings was exposed, the shower was poor. The towels were small, old and worn with frayed edges. There was one bathrobe, which was small and old and and had holes in the back. There was no soap in the bathroom - just a pump pot of shower gel on the side of the shower. We asked for soap and were told to use the shower gel - so we moved it back and forth between the hand basin and the shower all week!

Breakfast was very ordinary. The website says that "We now serve a breakfast buffet exclusively stocked with organic products. Pure juices, hearty breads, milk, cheese, fruit: all produced organically." We would be very surprised if the assertion about organic products was true. The juice was certainly made from concentrate. The museli was stale and when some variety was provided by way of another cereal on about day 4 it looked to us like unorganic mass produced cereal. The coffee was dreadful. The website says that 'all rates include breakfast buffet', but we were charged extra for breakfast (even though there was no indication anywhere before we checked out of what the breakfast charge was) because the voucher issued by our travel agent said 'room only'.

There were a few positives - they did a good job at a reasonable price with the laundry. Art Nouveau charm is present, but limited - largely confined to the lift (which is so charming it only works periodically), the windows in the stairwell and the high ceilings. Otherwise the hotel is a mish mash of decorating ideas. The neighbourhood is charming and there were some good restaurants nearby (also at least one very bad one which we foolishly went to one night on the recommendation of the hotel owner).

Perhaps the most disappointing thing, especially given earlier Trip Advisor comments about the owners who were variously described as 'friendly', 'welcoming' and 'helpful', was that at no stage did we see any evidence of such attributes. The owners were away when we arrived. The young man who was left in charge did his best and tried to be helpful. However he was clearly new to the job and not familiar with the hotel. Once the male owner returned, at no stage did he introduce himself or apologise for the confusion on our arrival, for the fact that the room we had booked and paid for had been given to another couple or for the fact (made known to him) that we had no wi fi in our room.

Others have expressed very different views on Trip Advisor. We struggle to understand them - were we in the same place? Be aware that the claims about the breakfast are in our view misleading, the physical charm is limited and that it is possible to have a bad experience at this hotel. If you do go there, check before you eat it whether you will be charged for the very ordinary breakfast, and certainly don't pay the extra for a 'Suite'.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel, excellently located to explore Berlin. Our room was spacious, comfortable, tastefully decorated and very quiet. Service was efficient and very personal. We can strongly recommend this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Art Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Nouveau

Address: Leibnizstrasse 59, 10629 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Art Nouveau 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover our small, elegant hotel with that typical Berlin flair, right in the heart of the city, near Berlin's most famous avenue, "the Kurfurstendamm". Take the historic elevator to the 2nd or 4th floors (reception on 4th floor) of this beautiful building from the Art Nouveau period. Awaiting you there are 22 spacious, individually designed rooms. Stucco ceilings, wooden floors, antiques and warm colors all add to the hotel's charm. This unique combination of old and new provides the perfect setting for feeling comfortable and relaxed, even in a big city environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Art Nouveau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Nouveau Hotel
Art Nouveau Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Art Nouveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.