We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Art Nouveau is Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Art Nouveau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Art Nouveau to your Saves list
Hotel Art Nouveau
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leibnizstrasse 59, 10629 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #194 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Lee's Summit, Missouri
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Art Nouveau is Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I loved this hotel! I stayed in Berlin by myself for a few days. I felt very safe here and the owners were fantastic! It is a very beautiful boutique hotel with a great breakfast room with beautiful views out of the windows. My room was fantastic! I had more than enough room, clean shower, and the free WiFi worked great! (No fitness center, but seriously would you really use it if there was one?) It is in a great location within walking distance of Kurfursentdamm Street where there are lots of great shops and restaurants. I would recommend this hotel to anyone! Loved it, loved it, loved it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    30
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
18
37
8
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We were greeted by the very friendly owners who were very happy to help us with any queries, restaurant recommendations, even offered to book for us. We were also given very useful maps of Berlin. We stayed in a lovely spacious comfortable room with a separate toilet and shower rooms and a great little balcony. Although it was within a very short walk to the main road of ku'damm it felt very homely. The breakfast was lovely prepared by the ppl who run it in front of you every morning and although they had set times it was very flexible. It had a good selection of fresh fruit salad, whole fruit, nuts, muesli, selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit juice, cheese, cold cuts, boiled eggs, a good selection of teas and coffees. Coffee and tea available all day and night at no extra charge and there is a help-yourself bar (at very reasonable prices) with nibbles (crisps, cheese puffs & pretzels) available even when the reception was closed after hours and a chart where drinks consumed were noted down and paid for at the end of your stay. The breakfast room could also be used as a living room which is where the bar was in the evenings. Unfortunately the old style 'cage' lift was broken for the whole duration of our 5-day stay as they were waiting on the rare spare parts to arrive and with the hotel located on the fourth floor of a block of apartments it was a little bit of a workout going up and down the stairs, great for burning off nibbles at bar! Not so great when carrying heavy suitcases up the stairs but we were offered help.
Upon check-in a key to the downstairs main door is also handed over with room key. This hotel was a great option for us as we met up with friends and their two children so at night they would put kids to sleep next door to us and we would socialize on our balcony. By no means is this a 'regular' hotel with a lobby and large hotel facilities, room service and all the bonus, no gym, no pool but we did not need any of that and it was a very pleasurable safe, clean stay at reasonable prices. Rooms were cleaned daily unlike the balcony, a very small minus.
Another small minus, could not get the wireless internet although owner supplied us with password and only had a signal around the reception area. Luckily we were too busy to mind.
Location is great! There were bus stops and metro stations within a short walking distance as well as restaurants and shops. All in all a very good choice.

Room Tip: worth paying extra for the room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

I don't like big chain hotels, I like my hotels to have some character. It doesn't get any better than the Hotel Art Nouveau in Berlin. Located on the 2nd and 4th floor of an apartment building, it oozes atmosphere. The old elevator, the beautiful decorations, the wood, everything. I loved every minute of it.

The location is excellent. Near the famous Kurfuerstendamm, one block from the U-Bahn. Shops, including restaurants, are nearby.

The rooms have a small TV, excellent and free wifi, a small bathroom, nice beds and a beautiful desk. They are maybe slightly smaller than you'd expect, but they were large enough for me.

The hotel serves breakfast and in a nice touch: you can get a drink or some food at night too. Just write down what you took and that's it. They trust their guests, which adds to the general atmosphere. Besides that, the owners are very helpful and welcoming.

I can't find any fault in this hotel. Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

My husband and I and our two adult children stayed at the Hotel Art Nouveau the week before Christmas, including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. The two of us have stayed at the Hotel two other times and felt that we were returning home again. It is great to feel that you know the hotel and the neighborhood. Christine and Gerd are wonderful hosts and are always available to suggest museums and other activities and have a wonderful list of restaurants, stores and nightclubs in the Savignyplatz area. The hotel is well situated since it is near 3 S-bahn lines and a U-bahn stop is only a few blocks away. This time we had a few problems and Gerd was always available to get boots fixed for us or obtain over the counter drugs we needed. We were able to tell him what we needed and it was available on our return at the end of the day. The rooms are very tastefully decorated by Christine in an electic manner - a few antiques, cute sayings, modern pictures by up and coming artists, wall hangings, and vibrant colors on the walls. The rooms are very spacious- this time my husband and I were upgraded to a suite and our kids had regular rooms. The beds and the linens are high quality and it was hard to get up and get going in the morning. Since it was the Christmas season, we had a special treat one night - Gluhwein made by Gerd (as my son said, lots of alcohol just like he liked it) and Christine's homemade Christmas cookies. When we arrived, Gerd made us a special cocktail to toast our arrival and he gave us suggestions for our visit to Berlin. He also had a suggestion for a restaurant open on Christmas Eve when most of the restaurants are closed. The joy of staying at this Hotel is the pesonal service. Christine and Gerd truly want you to experience Berlin and they go the extra mile to make sure that you have a wonderful experience. They are happy to make reservations for you. They find out what you are interested in and then go the extra mile to help you enjoy your visit. It is a much more personal experience than staying in a big hotel. The honor bar is also a big plus - it is fully stocked with wine, beer and soda and juice. If you would like something else, you tell them and they will get it for you. When we were there in 2009, we were there for Father's Day (same day as Himmelfahrt) and they gave all the fatherss little bottles of sekt to celebrate the occasion. At the end of the day, this is a great place to stay because of all the personal service but if you need a lobby and room service, try a big hotel.
PS - This December Berlin had snow - the Christmas Markets were magical with all the smells, food, wine etc. And all the Christmas lights. What a great time to visit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

The hotel is just a short walk from Kurfurstendamm and is within fairly easy reach (10 - 15 minutes walk) of a couple of U-Bahn stations with services to all parts of the city. Berlin is a very large city with significant distances between places, so finding the perfect central location is almost impossible. The hotel is conveniently placed for travel links and there are several restaurants within a few minutes walk. Perhaps worth mentioning is that there is a bus stop under 10 minutes walk from the hotel in Kurfurstendamm with an excellent bus link with Berlin's Tegel Airport (Bus 109 runs every few minutes and the fare is just over €2). Incredibly for such a large city like Berlin, this bus journey to the airport takes under 30 minutes and even arriving late in the day presents no problem because services continue throughout the night.
First impressions of the hotel can be a bit disappointing. The hotel occupies 2 separate floors of a building that is shared with other flats and apartments. As long as you don't expect a fancy lobby with hotel reception open at all hours and 24-hour room service - you'll be fine. The bedrooms are large and comfortably furnished with nice, modern en suite facilities. Everything is kept spotlessly clean. Our rooms were very quiet and we had no problems with noise. Breakfast each morning is self-service and provides all the usual cereals, breads and beverages that travellers expect these days. A definite bonus is that the relaxed house-style of the Hotel allows guests to help themselves to drinks from the fridge and hot beverages throughout the day and night by using an "honesty" system for recording what you have taken.
Finally, the icing on the cake with this hotel is that the manager and staff are extremely pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We are 9 (senior) partners in a Norwegian consulting company visiting Berlin for spending 3 days and having a good time in combination with doing some work together. Finding Hotel Art Nouveau in a Berlin guidebook with a recommendation, I, as the organizer of the trip, chose to send them a request. When contacting the hotel, I got a proposal very quickly, and also lots of help in finding/booking restaurants, concert tickets etc before our arrival. When there - the owner and manager was most helpful and friendly. The atmosphere is informal and including, the size - only 20 rooms - makes it very personal. We all got large rooms with new bathrooms, the breakfast room and "Honesty Bar" was in the middle, and we settled in - feeling at home immediately. This is not your de luxe hotel, but so nice! We also used the conference facilities - which worked well for us - being 9 people. The location is perfect both for shopping and sightseeing.

I higly recommend Hotel Art Nouveau. This is a place to live while in Berlin - with books and antiques - and quite reasonable priced.

Several of the 9 partners have already invited their spouses/partners for a stay at this place if going to Berlin.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

This boutique hotel is like coming home to visit favorite relatives...owners Christine and Gerd are not only gracious hosts but they were experts in guiding us to the best that Berlin has to offer. From restaurants to museums, to some best kept secrets about Berlin, we followed all of their suggestions and were never disappointed.

While my traveling companions had been to Berlin in 1974, this was my first visit and I had no idea of what to expect. Not only is this 22 room Victorian- era hotel lovingly maintained, it is located in a lovely tree-lined neighborhood of shops and restaurants---at least 100 within a ten minute walk!

It is virtually impossible for larger hotels to offer the type of personal service offered by the Hotel Art Nouveau. Because of Christine and Gerd, I can't wait to return to Berlin and the Hotel Art Nouveau; they made my visit to Berlin very special.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Art Nouveau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Art Nouveau

Address: Leibnizstrasse 59, 10629 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#57 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Art Nouveau 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover our small, elegant hotel with that typical Berlin flair, right in the heart of the city, near Berlin's most famous avenue, "the Kurfurstendamm". Take the historic elevator to the 2nd or 4th floors (reception on 4th floor) of this beautiful building from the Art Nouveau period. Awaiting you there are 22 spacious, individually designed rooms. Stucco ceilings, wooden floors, antiques and warm colors all add to the hotel's charm. This unique combination of old and new provides the perfect setting for feeling comfortable and relaxed, even in a big city environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Art Nouveau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Nouveau Hotel
Art Nouveau Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Art Nouveau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.