We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb collection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gemaeldegalerie

Gemaeldegalerie
Matthaeikirchplatz, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
49 30 266 2101
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 405 Attractions in Berlin
Type: Art Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: A wide selection of European artwork, dating from the 1200s through the 1700s, can be found at this popular museum.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Superb collection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a superb collection of superb pictures. I particularly enjoyed the Cranachs, Hals, Durers, and the Rembrants. There's a good Caravaggio and a collection of Rapheals and Botticellis. The Titians's are interesting, though not his best.
Actually, the more I remember, the more I want to go back. It's a superb collection.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    464
    126
    38
    7
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“fine art; uncrowded surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The Gemaldegalerie is situated in an arts complex. We were not able to explore everything but seeing this gallery is a must. It contains an impressive collection of paintings from some of the world's most famed artists. All in a spacious and airy setting free from the crowds of some other museums.
It's near the Potsdammer Platz and it should be on any museum goer's must- see list.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
“Uncrowded and very impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One of our favorite museums ever. Take your time here. We enjoyed sitting on the benches and contemplating the incredible masterpieces in each and every room. Great Flemish collection, impressive Italian section as well, with pretty much every major artist represented, and many lesser known as well. Interesting was the juxtaposition of some restored works next to unrestored ones. You'll remember your visit forever. Other museums close by. There's an okay cafeteria- style cafe just outside and upstairs in the same building.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Give yourself plenty of time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A huge gallery, crammed full of paintings by the old masters, and surprisingly crowd free! If only the Louvre could be like this! I'm not usually one for fine art, but I enjoyed it and learnt a lot about art - from the captions and school groups and art students going round - useful for University Challenge! I found myself wishing I could spend more time here. Absolutely huge.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“too little known”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Berlin's Gemäldegalerie is on a par with the Louvre and the National Gallery in London, chockablock with major Botticellis, Vermeers, Titians, Rembrandts, Van Dycks, and on and on...even a Giotto and a few Masaccios. If you care about art, it's not to be missed.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gemaeldegalerie also viewed

 

Been to Gemaeldegalerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gemaeldegalerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.