We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place full of culture and artists just trying to make a living.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tacheles - CLOSED

Tacheles
Oranienburger Strasse 54-56a, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
49 30 282 6185
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This trendy art gallery is located in a dilapidated building, a symbol of the manner in which art thrived in the bleak atmosphere of Cold War Germany.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place full of culture and artists just trying to make a living.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

It is by my opinion a great place to talk and learn how an art community helped to bring people from all over the world to a blown up building. For over 20 years, they have been there and have contributed to the area. Helping it become what it is today. Many celebrities in the fashion and music industry have used Tacheles and its artists in their work. It should be fixed up just enough not to change it but make it better for the artist to work and show case their work to the public. After talking with them, they say it might end soon because the powers of greedy corporations want to sell one of the biggest tourist attractions in the area. A must see and take the time to talk to the artists and go to the back and see the metal sculpture gallery. That was once joined until they powers built a wall late at night to close them off the front street entrance.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    25
    12
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Halfway destroyed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

You cannot get in anymore since the fire brigade has declared the building a fire-hazard. And I think the guy said half the building was demolished.

So basically, now it's a tiny little market place for squatting artists to sell their little pictures and bracelets. Some are not bad, if you are into such things.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holon, Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Tacheles is closed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Check before you go there - they're having issues with keeping the building. As of August 2012 Tacheles is, unfortunately, closed.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toyama, Japan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Ghetto in Berlin city center”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012 via mobile

Very authentic spot in the very center of the city (5 min from Fridreichstrasse). Several savaged buildings with no utilities are still occupied with hippies, artists and just young people who wants to hang out. Mindblowing graffities on all surfaces, cool handmade stuff for sale, very specific (in a good sense) people around. One of the most eye-catching attractions in the city!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“For some, marvellous art. For others, a dump. Worth seeing before it's gone.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

I saw Tacheles as part of a walking tour and we stopped there for a half hour or so. The building is a fraction of its original size, the rest having been demolished by the bank who now legally owns the land. The rest of the building is still four floors. It is catering to tourists more than I imagine it must have done but that's not necessarily a bad thing. Some of the art on display was superb and the prints are reasonably priced. I was not hassled or pressured towards buying anything. I did make some small donations in the provided boxes. The money might be spent on legal battles or alcohol but contributing felt appropriate for the art I had seen.

I will agree with some other reviews I've seen that this place is not for everyone. The art is not mainstream to say the least. The surroundings look like a condemned building (which it technically is). I only recommend this for people looking for something unusual and who can look past the dingy surroundings.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tacheles also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tacheles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.