We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for food lovers” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe)

Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe)
Tauentzienstrasse 21 - 24, 10789 Berlin, Germany (Schoneberg)
49 030 2121 0
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe) like an insider
Top Rated
$27*
and up
Berlin City Hop-on Hop-off Tour
Ranked #40 of 1,001 things to do in Berlin
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of the world's largest department stores, KaDeWe sells everything one could ever need and also offers an amazing selection of foods.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Paradise for food lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Food lovers head for the 6th floor, hungry! There is an amazing variety of food, chocolate and cakes to be savoured. You can try little portions of different meals and then cake and coffee or head for the restaurant.
Tip: Look out for a seat out of meal times.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    549
    301
    112
    24
    22
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grantham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A shopping and eating paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

If you want to buy it you can for top dollar!!!
Our main reason to visit was to eat in the amazing food hall on the top floor. Great choice and great quality food.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

My friend who had being before took me here. I am so pleased he did. The food hall was amazing!! Like nothing else, makes Harrods look like a posh M&S.

If you like cheese, a must is to go the cheese counter take a seat and have the soft cheese platter and a glass of wine. The flours were amazing and good value.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Surly staff member”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This shop is amazing. The experience was totally ruined when we went to the food hall and came across the least friendly shop assistant I have encountered in my life. I asked to try a slice of salami. It was tendered in a plastic tong. I was not sure whether to take the tongs or the salami. As a result the salami fell onto the counter. I was embarrassed. He rolled his eyes upwards. This is not the way to treat paying customers.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pa.
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
73 attraction reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Amazing Ka De Wa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Wow, what a dept. store. We visited the Food floor only in this famous Berlin Dept. Store and have never seen such an amazing assortment of cheese, meat, pastry and on and on and on.

We dined in their self service cafeteria which is very reasonable and offers all types of hot entre's, salad, fruit, breads soup and a nice wine selection.

Try not to miss this amazing place in Berlin while you are there, it is worth a visit!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe) also viewed

 

Been to Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kaufhaus des Westens (KaDeWe), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.