We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Island

Museum Island
Tra Il Kupfergraben E la Sprea C'e L'isola Dei Musei, Il Museumsinsel, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030/209050
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Ranked #9 of 449 attractions in Berlin
Type: Landmarks/ Points of Interest
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Home to three famous museums - the Pergamon, the Altes and the Bode.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
34 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Each museum charges a different entrance fee, so if you have time to see a couple definitly get discount tickets. If you only have time to walk around, also beautiful architecture, and the river views! Bring your camera!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,265 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,483
    649
    105
    19
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good activity, especially as part of the Berlin Welcome Card.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We got the 72 hours Berlin Welcome Cards that included travel on all public transport in Berlin and entrance to all the museums at the Museum Island. I especially wanted to visit the Neues Museum specifically to see the burst of Nerfititi which we were able to do with this card. I was not disappointed with my visit to the Neues. Would recommend it. We were also able to visit the impressive Altes Museum and the Alte Nationalgalerie on our Berlin Welcome Card. We also took tram rides across Berlin just to catch the sights and sounds of Berlin. A nice way to easily spend 2-3 days in Berlin.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“must see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

very few persons in berlin which was good, no crowds at all.
A lot of construction going on to save the city they said;

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport beach, ca
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
85 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Incredible selection of museums”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

In this one location you have the Pergamon Museum, the National History Museum, multiple art museums. You need multiple days to visit these museums, and in some cases, more than one day to visit just one.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Museums”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The island was first viewed from a boat on the River Spree and attracted us as we learned we would be able to find a range of museums to suit all tastes.There are indeed lots to choose from and they are all different. They are all within walking distance and coffee shops offer relaxing breaks between visits.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Museum Island also viewed

 

Been to Museum Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.