We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must see slice of history” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)

Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)
Pariser Platz, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
100200
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$53*
and up
Private Tour: Berlin City Highlights
Ranked #9 of 1,042 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in no-man's land between East and West Germany during the Cold War, this famous monument, built during the 18th-century reign of Friedrich Wilhelm II, has long been a defining symbol of Berlin and both the city's division and unification.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A must see slice of history”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Do not miss during your visit to Berlin - I was lucky enough to see this area also when active as the fan mile during the World Cup, when it was full of life. Iconic, brilliant!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11,625 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,413
    3,960
    1,148
    86
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta Georgia
Level Contributor
248 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 560 helpful votes
“Brandenberg Tor (the station)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Tripadvisor does not have a review category for the Brandenberg Tor U-bahn station. Yet it is as interesting as the gate. The Brandenberg Tor station has existed since before WWII. It was vacant during the Cold War, so it is perfectly preserved.

I love going into the Brandenberg Tor station and seeing the well preserved 1930s station. (If you ride U-55 Hauptbahnhof to Brandenberg Tor, walk toward the Brandenberg Tor exit and watch for the tiled portion of the station. That is the old part of the station.) The tiled portion of the station sat idle prior to unification.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Busy Gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just one of the many sights to see in Berlin, yes it's busy, but that's the atmosphere there, great to sit and people watch

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
Level Contributor
157 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My first view of the Brandenburg Gate was probably different from most visitors. I approached the gate from afar while wading through 100,000 soccer fans. I was on the Fan Mile the night of the Germany- France World Cup match and the gate really was the last thing I was thinking about. Later, I returned a couple of different times. During the afternoon I found the area to be aggravatingly crowded, so I made a point to return very early one morning. I basically was the only one around and found the gate to be very impressive. What a witness to history this structure has been. Go see it, but go very early in the morning if crowds are an issue to you.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of our favourite attractions in Berlin!! This was one of the first attractions we visited in Berlin. We walked up Unter den Linden to Brandenburg Gate, quite a walk but it was well worth it. I love seeing famous buildings and structure and this is definitely one of them. I didn't have time, but have a drink in the Adlon Hotel while looking at the gate!! Have Fun!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor) also viewed

 

Been to Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.