We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Busy Gate” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)

Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)
Pariser Platz, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$43*
and up
Berlin Supersaver: Hop-on Hop-off City Tour and...
Ranked #24 of 476 Attractions in Berlin
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in no-man's land between East and West Germany during the Cold War, this famous monument, built during the 18th-century reign of Friedrich Wilhelm II, has long been a defining symbol of Berlin and both the city's division and unification.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Busy Gate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Just one of the many sights to see in Berlin, yes it's busy, but that's the atmosphere there, great to sit and people watch

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,612 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,121
    2,667
    750
    60
    14
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kalispell, Montana
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
62 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“A Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My first view of the Brandenburg Gate was probably different from most visitors. I approached the gate from afar while wading through 100,000 soccer fans. I was on the Fan Mile the night of the Germany- France World Cup match and the gate really was the last thing I was thinking about. Later, I returned a couple of different times. During the afternoon I found the area to be aggravatingly crowded, so I made a point to return very early one morning. I basically was the only one around and found the gate to be very impressive. What a witness to history this structure has been. Go see it, but go very early in the morning if crowds are an issue to you.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

One of our favourite attractions in Berlin!! This was one of the first attractions we visited in Berlin. We walked up Unter den Linden to Brandenburg Gate, quite a walk but it was well worth it. I love seeing famous buildings and structure and this is definitely one of them. I didn't have time, but have a drink in the Adlon Hotel while looking at the gate!! Have Fun!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi Pakistan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Great Gates”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We went to the Gates several times because many of the free tours begin from this point. The architecture and statues that comprise of the Brandenburg Tor must be seen for any person travelling to Berlin, also you can get free wifi near the Starbucks there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goulburn
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
91 attraction reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“What can I say, it's impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is my favourite place to visit along with the avenue leading to West Berlin. Just impressive.

Visited late evening with loads of tourists and this morning with no one there. Majestic, loved and magnetic.

U station just near gate. Easy to get to.

All in all it's a place that draws local and foreign tourists alike.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor) also viewed

 

Been to Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.