We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What can I say, it's impressive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)

Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)
Pariser Platz, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Skip the Line
$42*
and up
Berlin Supersaver: Hop-on Hop-off City Tour and...
Ranked #18 of 404 Attractions in Berlin
Type: Monuments/ Statues, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Located in no-man's land between East and West Germany during the Cold War, this famous monument, built during the 18th-century reign of Friedrich Wilhelm II, has long been a defining symbol of Berlin and both the city's division and unification.
Goulburn
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
95 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“What can I say, it's impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is my favourite place to visit along with the avenue leading to West Berlin. Just impressive.

Visited late evening with loads of tourists and this morning with no one there. Majestic, loved and magnetic.

U station just near gate. Easy to get to.

All in all it's a place that draws local and foreign tourists alike.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,859 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,269
    2,749
    766
    60
    15
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

One of the historical site in Berlin, in fact its represent Berlin,you can even see the gate-stickers on the u train. Very spacious,there also park and a pathway to the deutsche government building. There also coffee shop surrounded to get a break during your visit.

Bring your camera, get your sunglasses on.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
191 attraction reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
268 helpful votes 268 helpful votes
“Not as impressive as I had imagined”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Surrounded by gates and security people to control the public expected to swarm into the square to view the World Soccer game on giant TV screens, this gate became just a quick photostop for our SPB Tour group. The gate is more impressive in pictures, I think. For one thing, the openings between the cream colored columns were not as wide as I had expected. Also, it wasn't as tall and majestical as I had expected. Perhaps even the ornate gilt sculpture of a classical figure in a chariot whipping horses has lost its importance over time. I looked at it and thought I had seen a similar sculpture of victory on another entrance tower in another city. The Gate is in a square where the US embassy is located. It is the only US embassy without a protective compound and visitors can walk right up the to the door as one would to a hotel or business office. A hotel, made famous by Michael Jackson dangling his baby outside one of their hotel windows to show him off to his fans, is also located on this square. Directly opposite the Brandenburg Gate is the famous Unter den Linden street. It, too, was a disappointment as I had imagined very tall trees providing shade over a wide boulevard. The trees, planted perhaps 5 years ago, looked puny to my imaginative ones. This road was also blocked off so our tour bus couldn't drive along it which I had wanted to do, but I guess doing so would have turned out not to be such a big deal after all. The guide did point out that Hitler's army marched through the Brandenburg Gate en masse one day and I tried to imagine that sight and the time it would have taken for that display of might.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
128 attraction reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
“Great to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

If in Berlin this is one of the must see. We visited when doing the Hop on Hop off Bus as it is on one of its stops. We found it interesting but very busy. We did not spend a lot of time there but can now tick it off our list of things to see.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Another Must See”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We were here with a tour group and it was during the World Cup so as in another review it was difficult to get around the gate. You could get good pictures from afar but there was a huge screen covering one side so you really couldn't get over there. Even with all that it is pretty impressive when you picture in your mind all the things that have happened in the shadow of this structure. Don't pass it up if you are in Berlin.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor) also viewed

 

Been to Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brandenburg Gate (Brandenburger Tor), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.