We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Block House Am Alexanderplatz

Block House Am Alexanderplatz
Karl-Liebknecht-Strasse 7, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
+49 (0)30 - 242 33 00
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 7,112 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Mitte
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Visited as a group of 7 guys and all picked burgers from the menu, we thought they were a bit strange at first because they all arrived on just a slice of garlic bread rather than a bun, however we all decided this was a good way to serve them by the time we finished.

Great burgers great beer although a little pricey!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrianandClaire580
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Great food, great service!!! Try the 200gr beef with the baked potato poured with delicious sour cream

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vassilis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Lancashire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great steaks cooked to perfection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visited this restaurant on a recent visit to Berlin on a Tuesday evening and it was relatively quiet inside, the staff were pleasant and spoke fluent English, and we were seated straight away inside the restaurant.

My husband ordered a rump steak and I ordered a barbecue steak platter which were cooked perfectly, they both came with a jacket potato with sour cream and a slice of garlic bread - which was delicious.

we also ordered some desserts and the bill along with drinks for the 2 of us came to around 45 Euros which seemed pretty reasonable. We would definitely recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Best steakhouse in Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

is probably a bit over the hill, but this restaurant does not disappoint. Originating from Hamburg, this chain of steakhouses focuses on quality. Fairly popular judging by long waiting lines throughout the entire evening (Saturday in April), and luckily we had reserved tables, quality is indeed in order at this place near Alexanderplatz.

The menu card is rather traditional but comprehensive with a great selection of steaks, cooked to order, served with salad and potatoes (baked, French fries etc). My steak (rum-steak) was tender, cooked with a mix of spices, had great taste and of high quality. It was a busy evening for staff, but we were served with efficiency and a smile. Also fairly decent prices, check their website, and is much recommended for a casual night out in Berlin. Good for bigger parties, but do reserve in advance. Will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nordic_Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My daughter and i visited about 7pm on a friday evening. Certainly it was not busy but the staff were attentive and friendly and the service was fast. We had the steak medallions which were delicious. I would recommend the green pepper sauce. All in all great Value for money. I would definitely return if I visit berlin again

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaniceMackintosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Block House Am Alexanderplatz also viewed

 

Been to Block House Am Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing