We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean and cheerful! Bargain - will stay again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz

Save Saved
You added Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz
Mollstrasse 30, 10249 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel )   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Frühbucher zahlen weniger
Ranked #167 of 664 hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean and cheerful! Bargain - will stay again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I found the hotel on this site in best budget hotels, and wasn't disappointed. The hotel used to be the Etap (still listed on google maps as Etap) but it's now part of Ibis Budget range and is part of Accord Hotels.com.
I reserved my room online and checked in with no problems, paying on arrival.
We were given a nice twin room on the 5th Floor which looked out East onto Mollstrasse. The windows must be strong double glazing as when shut there was no noise from the several lanes of traffic outside or the passing Trams. The room had it's own air conditioning/heating which could be controlled on a panel near the toilet. However it only seemed to come on in the evening and over night, but as we were out all day this was perfect.
We didn't add the breakfast option, but there were a couple of vending machines for drinks and snacks in the main entrance foyer. There is no Tea or coffee making facilities in the room but again there is a machine in the foyer. I also borrowed a Hairdryer for the weekend at reception for a small deposit of 5 Euros.
The room was neat and clean but fairly basic (A bit like an Ikea Showroom). The main issue for people sharing is that the Shower cubical (complete with frosted privacy glass) opens straight into the shared room. However as the toilet has it's own separate cubical, it can be used as a sort of dressing room. Depends how well you know your friends I suppose!
The staff were very friendly and helpful and all spoke English. They also have a storeroom where they let us store our luggage after checkout so we could enjoy the day before catching our flight that evening.

Next time I go to Berlin I will defo look into booking here again as it's really good value for money and only 10mins walk (across various lanes of traffic) to the central Alexanderplatz area!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    366
    134
    15
    9
See reviews for
120
275
117
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Ibis Budget, formerly the Etap Alexanderplatz, is an excellent choice for a reliable budget hotel close to the heart of the former East Berlin. One stop on trams 4, 5 and 6 from the centre (or 2 stops from the most convenient stop for the S-bahn), it's an easy 5 minute walk without luggage. If you get off at the Mollstr/Greifswalder Str stop, you may have to cross 2 roads to get to it (depending which direction you are coming from); it's not clearly signed on the front, but the entrance is around the corner above the FURAMA bar.

The hotel is a little less basic than some in the former Etap chain, with decent sized rooms and beds, and a separate toilet that's not integrated with the shower cubicle as in some properties. My room had a string of fairy lights at dado level - arriving after midnight it took me a few minutes to discovered they could only be switched off by a control panel above the bed. Although some rooms face Mollstrasse, the double glazing is quite effective at cutting out the noise of cars and turning trams.

The continental buffet breakfast costs extra but is worth it as it's not expensive and offers a decent choice, and there are no very close coffee shops.

Room Tip: Higher rooms and those not facing Mollstr are likely to be quieter, but those facing Mollstr have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Yes very,very good more coat hangers(and some English TV channels other than News) and it would be excellent.
The hotel is relativley new,is clean,tidy,bright airey and quiet.
It is extremley easy to find.Landing at Tegal,before leaving purchase a Welcome card,get on the TXL bus and stay on it untill it's terminus at Alexanderplatz.Leave the bus and walk in the direction the bus came from,under the railway bridge that goes into the station until you get to the next junction.Turn left,you will pass a Geldautomat (cash machine) building on your right further down to your right is The TV Tower.A tram stop M4 ,M5 & M6 is in front of you(You want the TV tower side stop not the station side)(**Tip **if a tram or train is showing red lights to the rear its going away from you!White,coming towards you!) get on either and get off two stops later,announced and displayed as Mollstrasse/otto Braunstrasse.
The Hotel is next to the Mercedes Benz Bank which has an illuminated sign(as does the Etap) on its roof so you can see the direction if you arrive in the dark!
I have added some pictures the birds eye views taken from the TV tower which show the bus stop and tram stop(yellow squares) which are just around the corner from the one I described above(If you want to go to these,it is no further to walk but maybe a bit more crowded,just go thru the tunnel next to the europocar hire shop and walk forwards untill you get to the tram stops.

The Hotel is on a 10 lane cross roads,2 Pedal Cycles,6 cars,2 trams......and two stips of grass as wide as a road BUT................it is not noisey.

The rooms are air conditioned,reception is manned 24/7.Plentyfull hot water.Vending machine in foyer with drinks and snacks etc.
And above all the location is excellent almost all the public transport make its way to or passed Alexanderplatz.

A couple of stops on the M4 tram will take you up the street to a Lidl and other shops and cafe's and resturants and between the two,within walking distance is the Freidreichstein Volkspark nice for a quiet evening walk,but maybe not too late as it could be dodgy!
Overall I would recommend and will be staying again!

**NOTE.I resubmitted this review because the TXL now stops in its original position not as it was when i was there in September due to roadworks.October 2012.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the Mollstrasse side(possably odd numbered rooms)as its a better view over towards Alex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel itself is fine. The room is big enough. We've got a bunker bed, a queen size at the bottom and the upper is a single size. The interior is also very modern and minimal. Clean. No wardrobe. Not even a bathroom. Just a cubical of shower area with foggy tempered glass door, a toilet (with a proper door. Thank goodness) and a sink area right next to the shower room. I think some of the official photos shows how the room is an it looks exactly how it is. What we don't fancy about the hotel is probably the location. The tram station is right in front of the hotel. No problem there, but the surrounding is very...how do I put it...empty. You could walk the the Alexanderplatz area which I supposed where everything is. 15-20 mins. There's a bier garten on the way to Alexanderplatz. We didnt have breakfast at the hotel as we opt not to. No comments on the breakfast. The reception is helpful. They could call us a taxi which arrives in 5 minutes. We took the taxi to and from the airport as the other mean of public transportation sounds like a hassle to. It cost us 28 euro one way.

The next time I'm there, I would probably find a place around Kurfurstendamn area. It seems more lively.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

One of the staff members at the reservation desk did not want to assist us with checking in because we spoke english. She pushed us off to another reservations person who helped us. If she did not speak the language it should of been handled a little more politely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Etap Alexander Plats berlin is very centrally located and a 5 minutes walk to Alexanderplatz station. The hotel is very clean, serves the basics, and is quite spacious the rooms for european standards.
Proximity to Alexanderplatz station and numerious eateries make it suoer reasonable. The station is great as well, with pharmacies, locker storage facilities, very very clean bathrooms where one can even have showwers at a nominal rate, great food joints, and one can go to the berlin schonefeld airport straight from alexander pl;atz station..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 100 cities Reviews in 100 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Good Value for money, on tram stop from Berlin's Alexanderplatz (tram 4, 5 or 6 will bring you to Mollstrasse - Otto Braun Strasse stop, which is right in front of the hotel).
Breakfast is expensive for what it is (7,50 euro). Please miss it and go and get a real german breakfast on any of Alexanderplatz's bistrot for half the price!
Typicall Etap Hotel Room. The twin room advertised as suitable for colleagues with seperates toilets... The shower is still in the room, and not in the bathroom! The truth is that you can lock the toilet's door, which is not always the case in every Etap Hotel's room!
The staff is very helpful and very quick!
I would recommend as a no frill Hotel with no expectation, but the standard that you receive from any Etap Hotel.
Free Wifi!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Mollstrasse 30, 10249 Berlin, Germany (Formerly Etap Hotel )
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR so you can book your Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Budget Berlin Alexanderplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.