We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, not a welcoming hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz to your Saves list
Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 8, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
evergem
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice location, not a welcoming hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The location is good to visit the city, the breakfast is very good. And that is about it.
Staff is not friendly, when we arrived the only words the man behind the desk said were 'your name?'
I don't ask for royal service, but a goodmorning makes you feel more welcome than 'name?'
No explanation about the hotel, breakfast hours, etc.... I saw about 6 different members of the staff in those few days, and there was only one lady of all 6 who said goodmorning. In 4 days that s not a lot ....customers are not very important, I guess...

Also a lot of street noise!

Not returning to this place, there are plenty of hotels in this neighbourhood, so look around !

Room Tip: Don t ask for rooms at street side ( i think all the even numbers are )
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sue-kai-ron,

thank you for staying at IBIS STYLES Berlin Alexanderplatz and your review at tripadvisor.

Of course our guests are important for us, as friendliness and helpfull service, as it is mentioned in many positive reviews. That you was not treated in this way all the days is inexplainable for me and I will discuss this with our staff members. Please accept my deepest apology for this incident.

We appreciate your kind comment about our location, but of couse a certain "street noise" could not be avoided at an urban and livelily area, like the Alexanderplatz is worldfamous for.

We hope to still may welcome you back, in order to show you, that we can do it better and to make your next Berlin trip a nice memory.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    337
    159
    21
    15
See reviews for
158
233
82
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
notts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights with my husband for a Berlin Citybreak . The hotel was ideal and exceeded our expectations . It was only used as a base due to an action packed weekend sightseeing but the location right next to the alexanderplatz was superb. From the Alexanderplatz it's possible to catch the train and u-Bahn anywhere and we did ! We flitted all over Berlin using the day passes and the transport system is amazingly efficient .. The airport express transfer train got us almost to the hotel at a fee of 3 euros each from schonefeld airport. We also hit it lucky with our timing as the Oktoberfest and Festival of Lights was on .. The alexanderplatz was a hive of activity / German market / live acts day and night . Such fun!

The hotel staff are excellent and very friendly and helpful , ( as were all the locals we came across - lovely folk . The hotel was stylish , funky and amazingly clean. Although it looked nothing from the outside . There is a nightclub out front which opens at 11pm till 'open ended' .. One morning there were young people still hanging around outside the club at 7am .. But there wasn't any noise to be fair .. Although we were beered up ourselves by the time we hit the sack so nothing would wake us. The beds were very comfy ..

The nice touches were coffee making facilities downstairs, tissues and body / hair wash in the rooms and the hair dryer in the wardrobe .. The smoothies at breakfast were delicious as were the coffee , cereals , fruit, pastries and the hugely attentive staff . The staff really make this hotel .. I would certainly recommend it to anyone visiting Berlin . If you go to Berlin remember to pre-book the tv tower (amazing views) and the reichstag / Bundestag for an amazing visit . Also don't be scared to use the efficient public transport system and a day ticket can be used in buses too ( which we didn't realise).

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear shazzi111,

thank you very much for your stayat our hotel and your review on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy to read about your positive review and kind words about the staff,which Iwill pass to them.

We hope, to may welcome you back again in near future.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights early August and it was fantastic. Alexanderplatz is a great location. The room was very nice and clean and the beds were very comfortable. Breakfast was included. Staff were very friendly and spoke English reasonably well. Wifi was good too.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Margot L

thank you for your stay and kind review on tripadvisor.com.

We are happy top hear, that your felt comofrtable during your stay at our hotelm, and we hope to may welcome you back shortly.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spent 4 nights in the hotel. Hotel is fairly basic but has the advantage of being well located, being only 5 minutes from the Alexanderplatz train station and within reasonable walking distance of many of the principal attractions of Berlin.

It was clean, provided a good breakfast and the staff were generally helpful and friendly (got me into my room at midday - thanks!). Free access to the computer in reception was useful and in addition a free coffee station is maintained as well as a free fruit bowl.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road on which the trams run.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear David B,

thank you for staying at our hotel and your posivite feedback on tripadvisor.com.

We appreciate your kind words and that your stay was to your satisfacteion.

We hope for the opportunity to welcome you back again at our hotel.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maffra
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great location just off alexanderplatz. Loved this hotel the rooms where very good nice and clean the breakfast was excellent the staff very helpful with any inquires, just a short walk to trams and trains U & S bahn. will stay here again on my next trip to Berlin

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear wyldfamilytravel,

thank you for your stay at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz and your kind review.

We are pleased about your kind words and are happy, that your stay with us was to your satisfaction.

We hope, to may welcome you again.

With kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehovot, Israel
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The hotel's location is great- just 2 min walk from Alexanderplatz, with all forms of public transportation and shopping center near by, as well as many other close attractions (e.g., museum island). The hotel is nice and clean, rooms are cousy and comfortable. Breakfast is nice although was exactly the same every day. There is free Wi-Fi at the lobby and staff are friendly. We were able to leave luggage at the hotel prior to check-in and after check-out which was also helpful.
There are two things that bothered us: one was the elevator, there is only one and in the morning when everyone's leaving it means a long waiting time. The other is more minor, and it regards the bathroom: no shampoo/conditionder, just "good for all" liquid soap, and the bath door had to be pushed very hard to close properly.

Room Tip: prefer a room on the lower floors so you don't have to depend on the elevator at "rush hour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear adizush,

thank you for your stay at our hotel and your kidn review at tripadvisor.com.

We happy to hear, that the overall service met your fully satisfaction,and that you have nejoyed the service.

We are aware about the issue with the elevator and at the moment not able to change the electronic matters. To minimize the inconvinience for our customers, we arranged with our suppliers - who needs the elevator - to service us during early mornings, and arranged the make up works during the nighttimes. Unfortunately a little waiting time during the rush hour in the morning cannot be avoided completely.

But we hope that we will be able to welcome you again in future.

With regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rahway, New Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having stayed in the Eastern Section of Berlin a couple decades ago, my wife and I were keen on seeing how the Alexanderplatz district had progressed. Because we are budget-conscious fans of The Accor Hotel Chain, by sixth sense (and the many reviews here on Trip Advisor) we mad a single night's reservation at this hotel.

Our immediate observation which was confirmed by the one night's stay is that the level of this facility is quite a bit above the traditional Ibis Hotels found throughout Europe. Our room was in The "3-star+" Mercure, Best Western & Holiday Inn size and comfort class with high-grade utilities, comfortable beds, large elevators and a wonderful breakfast room. Despite the fact that this was the first night of our current trip, the food array in the breakfast room was as good as any other on our trip; I was particularly fond of the "almost baked in Paris" croissants, the soft French bread, the acceptable scrambled eggs, bacon and sausage and wonderful "Cervalet-Type East Gerrman sausage/salami.

Our room was quiet and the window/view despited being courtyard facing was adequate! The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful and attendant to our needs.

Regarding the progress of East Berlin since our last stay in the mid-1990's: incredible urbanization and buildup although not very surprising because it's what Germany does well!

Room Tip: Don't worry about where the windows face since even the "best" isn't at St. Tropez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver M, Manager at Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Ted S,

thank you for your stay and your kind words at tripadvisor.com.

We are glad to read about your satisfaction and hoping tzo may welcome you back again in near future.

With kind regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz

Address: Bernhard-Weiss-Strasse 8, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#87 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, ACCOR and Priceline so you can book your Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
All Seasons Berlin Alexanderplatz Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Styles Berlin Alexanderplatz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.