We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in a comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   An Der Spandauer Bruecke 11, 10178 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #4 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location in a comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We picked this hotel based on the recommendation of trip advisor and we were pleased with our selection. The connection from TXL airport to the hotel was great via the TXL express bus. The S Bahn was literally a stone's throw away and there were lots of restaurants to choose from. The supermarket is just behind the hotel. Hackescher Markt has a nice atmosphere and will definitely stay at the Adina on our next visit to Berlin.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear SelinaE, it is great to hear that we had the right location and connections for your visit in Berlin. We look forward to your next visit. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    882
    290
    38
    7
    4
See reviews for
223
641
42
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Having stayed at the Adina Checkpoint Charlie Hotel several times which was always excellent, we decided to try the Adina Hackescher Markt on our most recent trip as it was near an S-bahn station that was more useful for our plans this time. The reception staff were professional and courteous, as were the hotel bar staff - very good cocktails! The room was pleasantly decorated with high standard of cleanliness. We had a room with a balcony overlooking the road and had initial concerns about noise but it proved not to be an issue at all as it was very quiet, and it was good to have the balcony. We stayed for 11 nights and having the facilities for cooking was ideal, and the local supermarket is very convenient for supplies, we also had a washing machine and dryer. The location of the hotel is excellent whether for sights within walking distance or for the nearby S-Bahn and we are already booked in for a return visit over Christmas & New Year.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Jo G, many thanks for your kind review. It is great to read that after being fan of our first Adina in Berlin, testing as at Hackescher Markt, we did not disappoint you. I am very pleased to hear that my team was always professional at all time and also the Bar team could convince you. This is really a great motivation for my team, to keep up doing the great work they provide especially as you could experience this over such a long period. We look forward to welcome you back over Christmas. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We picked this hotel partly because of the reviews on tripadvisor and partly because it came with a kitchenette - as I was in Berlin to run the marathon, I wanted to be able to prepare my own food. It seemed the ideal choice.

As we booked via a third party website (hotels.com), we were not able to specify whether we wanted a bath / shower combo or just a shower. Hotels.com was cheaper than the Adina's own site (they operate a price-match but the whole process seemed too convoluted for me). I then got in touch with the hotel to ask if it was possible to request a bath / shower combo, and was told only if I paid more. I'm not sure if I should be annoyed at Hotels.com or the Adina for that, but if it makes a difference to you what bathroom you have, it may be worth bearing in mind.

The hotel is good for public transport links. The TXL bus from the Tegal airport drops off just round the corner in one direction, and one of the more useful S-Bahn lines is round the corner in the other direction. Having said that, you are literally around the corner from Alexanderplatz, a five minute walk from MuseumIsland and a fifteen minute walk from the Brandenburg Gate / Friedrichplatz and the attractions around there. We enjoyed the walking and hardly used the public transport, as good as it was.

The hotel is also well placed for food supplies - if you're staying in an apartment hotel you're likely to want to buy your own food, and this is easy with the Adina being where it is. Upon exiting the Adina hotel, directly to the left across the road is the "Bio Company" supermarket - this is very much like an American "Whole Foods" supermarket with mostly organic products. If, instead of crossing the road, you follow the block round to the left you come to a small bakery which sells sandwiches, cakes and bread, and then if you continue round further you arrive at Kaisers, which is another small supermarket selling a variety of food and drink. Kaisers is open till late, but near closing time it seems to have problems with rowdy German youths - they employ a security guard during the evening and on a couple of occasions we came across the youths causing problems outside. Directly opposite Kaisers is a "DM" chemist - which is a bit like Boots. This might be useful as Kaisers don't sell anything like shampoo or deodorant at all, it is food only.

Upon arriving, the hotel staff were efficient and helpful. We had an apartment room on the third floor facing into a courtyard. It is worth pointing out that the building opposite is offices, and that they have a good view into the rooms - I don't think the orange chiffon curtains do much to block anyone's view, and as such you may end up spending any daytime hours in the room with the thick, blackout curtains drawn. There is no central light in the bed / living room area, instead it is lamps and wall lights, and this can make it seem a little gloomy when the curtains are drawn. I wouldn't like to try and read a normal book whilst sat on the sofa in the evening, but as it was, I have a backlit Kindle so this wasn't an issue.

The apartment itself was nice - I believe we had one of the smaller rooms from looking at the fire-escape plan which had blueprints of the other rooms on. As such, there was a two hob induction stove with an oven, a dishwasher and a fridge (no freezer). A kettle, a toaster and assorted cooking utensils (pans etc) and crockery, glasses and cutlery including a bottle opener were supplied, along with dishwasher tablets and a tea-towel. It's a tiny cooking area but it's enough for simple meals.

The bathroom was lovely. A very big wetroom with a good quality shower - although the pressure was a little low - and a proper sized sink and mirror. The finish in the bathroom was superb, and the supplied towels were very good. There was a decent body / hair shampoo dispenser in the shower area which smelt very nice, and two small, matching handsoaps were also supplied.

The living / sleeping area was nicely arranged with a table, two chairs, a small sofa and occasional table and a bed. The bed was the usual two-single-beds-joined together but bizarrely the duvet was also two single duvets rather than one large duvet. If you're going as a couple this might cause an issue as there was no way to join it together to make one large duvet. It's been a long time since I've slept under a single duvet but I can't help thinking the duvet supplied was smaller than a single, and I frequently woke up feeling cold. The supplied pillow was nice and there was the option to have it changed for a different pillow by asking at reception - there was nothing about getting a larger duvet though.

There were two problems with the hotel which sometimes felt like a niggle and sometimes like a major annoyance. How they are for you depend on what times you are in the hotel, I think.

The first problem was the internet. I was aware that the internet is a paid for add-on in the room, so it is not as if this was a surprise and they are quite clear in the pricing. It is still a little annoying, however, if you are used to hotels having free wi-fi as standard which I am. The wi-fi is sold in 3 hours, 12 hours and 24 hour chunks. I don't remember the exact pricing but I think the 24 hour chunk was somewhere around 20 euros. This is "as and when" wi-fi usage so it is important to remember to log off when you have finished doing whatever you are doing in order to stop the timer.

There is free wi-fi, and a computer with a printer - in the lobby. I guess my annoyance is that if they have free wi-fi in the lobby, it should be available throughout the hotel.

The second annoyance was the lift system. There only appeared to be two lifts, and during the day these are also used by the cleaning staff to take equipment up and down. If you happen to be in the hotel when the staff are moving between floors, you cannot fit in the lift. There does not appear to be any "intelligence" to the lifts, either, resulting in sometimes very long waits as both lifts sit in the basement or top floor simply not moving. If you leave the hotel early and come back late this might not be an issue, but both we and other guests found ourselves stuck for a good five minutes waiting for lifts on a couple of occasions. Lifts would come, but they were filled with staff members and there was no room for guests. There was clearly no "staff override" button so the doors would open, staff would shrug at us and then the lift would set off again. The aggravation here was increased because there didn't seem to be any useable stairs that weren't fire-exit-alarmed, so there was no option but to wait for a lift.

I would happily stay at the Adina again - location was good, pricing was good and it is difficult to really complain, but sorting out the wi-fi, the lifts and providing larger duvets would really elevate the hotel from a "happy to return" to "wouldn't stay anywhere else".

Room Tip: Remember not all rooms come with a bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Geschäftsführer at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear NotOnTwitter, many thanks for your explicit and detailed review. There are great advices for future guests, who will definitely take benefit of them. As the descriptions of the public transportation links, the location, our neighborhood and the design and equipment of the studio room you were in. Regarding your request for a bath tub, these are only available in the one-bedroom apartments at an surcharge of € 40,00 to a studio, as these apartment have a separate bedroom. Many of our guests request rooms facing the courtyard, but it is the first time, that we had a remark on the curtains. I think where ever you are in a lighted room, you will see shades, and of course if you close the blackouts it will be pretty dark during the day. It will be worthwhile to re-think, what we can do about the light concept in the rooms. Regarding the duvet, this is the usual way bed´s are laid out in Germany with two regular single duvets. Unfortunately we do not have bigger ones, so I am sorry for that. I also apologize for your inconvenience with our lifts. As there are just two available, it might come to some short waiting. The housekeeping is using most of the time the stairs, but at a certain stage they have to take for heavier loads the lift as well. This is normally done during the day and not at peak times. We will have a look with the lift company at the steering schedule in order to modify this. I am sure that as you noted so many positive features about our hotel, it might be worthwhile to give us a second chance. Looking forward to your next visit. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for four nights this September and felt that this was an excellent choice for us. We had the studio apartment which had a decent size, refrigerator, microwave and stove top along with furnishings. The bathroom was a good size and we were overall very pleased. The location was perfect..within easy reach of the S Bahn, Trams and buses. Best of all, it was within walking distance to Museum Island and the Berliner Dom. Although the hotel offered a full service restaurant and daily happy hour at the bar, we chose to take advantage of the many restaurants in the area. There is a free internet connection in the Lobby area which is conveniently laid out. The computer seemed to be readily available whenever we chose to use it. Another great plus was the excellent service we received at the front desk. It is staffed 24 hrs. daily and we were always met with excellent customer service and knowledgeable staff that was able to address our needs and answer our questions. We will definitely stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, General Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear annerose, we love your review. I am excited to read how much you appreciate the services we do provide in our hotel and that my team was always able to assist you with all advices for your needs. Especially I love your comments on the free wifi in the lobby as well the free usage of the I-mac in the lobby. Glad to read that you could make the benefit out of our location and all the sight around us. We definitely look forward to be your host again during your next stay in Berlin. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Excellent location for connections to Schonefeld airport and everywhere in Berlin in general. Very helpful receptionist on our late night arrival - nothing too much trouble, answered our questions as first time visitors to Berlin with great patience. Apartment spotlessly clean, very comfortable with an excellent bathroom. All the facilities we could need. Breakfast was great too, a wide choice of fresh food to suit everyone and friendly service. Good location for sightseeing, great choice of transport. The S Bahn was particularly efficient, though a few hiccups with U Bahn, due to major work on road system. Getting to and from the station was easy, with excellent transfer to airport on the express train- the R7. Good restaurants nearby and don' t miss the courtyard shops in Hackesche Hofe, we nearly did!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Geschäftsführer at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear 186470Pat, what a great statement. It sounds that you could experience most of the services we do provide and my team was able to assist you for all your questions. So nice that you liked the variety of our selections on the breakfast buffet and we hope to welcome you back soon. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This was our second stay in an Adina hotel, having stayed at the Checkpoint Charlie one in 2011. The new Hackescher Markt hotel is in a much better location, close to shops, cafes and nightlife. The S Bahn station is a stone's throw away making it easy to access from the airport and ideal for getting around the city. You can also go direct to Potsdam and the Wannsee from this station.

When we arrived, we were told that due to a conference we couldn't have a room with a washing machine. The receptionist was very nice about it and was genuinely concerned as we were booked in for 7 nights. It wasn't a problem though and the fact that we had a 7th floor corner room with a direct view of the Fernsehturm was ample compensation. Our room in this hotel wasn't quite as spacious as the one we had at Checkpoint Charlie but it was perfectly adequate and quiet (despite being on the street side).

Overall the staff were helpful. We had to request a corkscrew as there wasn't one in the room (I'm guessing they are normally provided and this one had just gone missing as it's a fairly essential utensil on a holiday!). The reception staff were also fine about us leaving our bags on the last day. I do understand the earlier comments though about the reception staff (female particularly) not being very cheery in their work. They are certainly helpful but not what you might term cheery! The guy who ran the bar, by contrast, was really friendly. We chatted to him quite extensively and got his advice on the best brand of sweet vermouth to use in a negroni - very useful :-).

Whilst we were there, the hot tubs were out of service for 3 days. Obviously, they have to be maintained but the note on the lift originally stipulated that they'd be out of service for 2 days, which later got extended to 3. If we'd only been there for a few days we'd have been a bit hacked off at that. One of the reasons for selecting the hotel was that there are spa facilities to relax in after a long day of pounding Berlin's pavements. I guess it can't be helped but it's a bit of a pain from a customer point of view.

On the wifi, I've seen all the previous comments and the replies of the owner. However, I don't think this can be overlooked and is certainly a deficiency of an otherwise excellent hotel. Being on the 7th floor, we couldn't access the free wifi so were forced to pay. Added to the cost of a travel data plan from your mobile provider for use when out and about, holiday wifi can become an expensive business. I'm used to being online 24/7, so it's very odd to have to go back to planning out your online time and being careful what you look up. This really does need sorting so the hotel either needs to absorb the cost or include it in the basic cost of the hotel room. Either way, it needs to be 'free at the point of use'. When you read the number of comments on here about that one issue, it just looks like the hotel chain is saying, 'we've read your comments, but tough!'. Definitely time to reassess that approach as there's really no excuse in 2013 not to provide hotel-wide wifi access included in the room price.

In terms of places nearby to visit, there's a great wine bar (I think on Grosse Hamburger Strasse) selling German and Austrian wines (including some great reds). The food there was amazing. We had a 'pizza' with a base of black pudding and topped with feta and beetroot. The staff there were brilliant and we chatted to one of them for ages. Mein Haus am See is also great for some hipster spotting. It's mainly a young crowd but we didn't feel out of place even though we are late 30s/early 40s. It had a great vibe with lots of sofas and cool music. Other than that, the tapas place at the bottom end of Rosenthaler Strasse (next to the Hackescher Hofe) is great and consistently busy.

Overall, it's a great area and a high quality hotel so I'd highly recommend both.

Room Tip: If you can sacrifice the washing machine and free wifi, room 716 (corner room on the 7th floor) has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Geschäftsführer at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear gekko21, many thanks for taking the time to write such a beautiful detailed review. It is nice to read that from your experience in the Adina Checkpoint Charlie you das chosen this time the Adina Hackescher Markt. The corner on the 7th floor is a little bit smaller and the laundry did not fit in the bathroom due to the architectural positioning in the building, but everybody loves it because of the balcony with its great view and the lights due to the many windows. Regarding the friendliness of my ladies at the front, I will review this with them as this not our usual attitude how we want our team to be recognized as you can see in our bar team. I am sorry for the closure of the whirlpools, but the company had to extend their working days as they faced some problems during their routines. Referring the Wi-Fi costs which is free in the lobby and in the restaurant, there is always the chance to manage your cost´s by login off the net. Then you can use it over several days. In general we are not able to provide Wi-Fi unlimited for free, as it causes as costs as well to provide a reasonable bandwidth. There are plans to change the charging module, but it will take some time. It is nice to read all your recommendation on the restaurants nearby of which I am sure, it will be a great benefit for the other readers. I promise you we take your hints as points for improvement and hope during your next stay, you will be even more impressed. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
317 reviews 317 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

As other reviewers have said, this hotel is excellent! We loved the location, near so many places to eat and also near transit. The staff was friendly and helpful, the towels are big and fluffy, and the room was spacious. The free wi-fi reached up to our room on the 3rd floor although it was a bit of a nuisance to keep having to go down to the lobby to get a new code. We were on the street side so that was some minor road noise but it didn't disturb us. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ajost, Geschäftsführer at Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear msu_mom, many thanks for your nice statement. I am happy to read that you loved the location, the staff and our apartments with its equipment. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again. Kind regards Annette Jost
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Address: An Der Spandauer Bruecke 11, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 664 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt 4*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Escapio, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.