We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Rock and Roll Music Hotel!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of nhow Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added nhow Berlin to your Saves list
nhow Berlin
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stralauer Allee 3 | Friedrichshain, 10245 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #33 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
GreenLeadersGold level
Bennekom, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best Rock and Roll Music Hotel!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed here one night. It's a very new, modern place and the design is nothing like you've ever experienced before. We stayed in the junior suite. I did not book a room with river view, but got one anyway, pretty good!

Positive:
- Design and interior. Very new, very clean...beautiful colors, attention to detail. Really unique!
- Staff (greetings to you concierge!!! ;o)) was VERY helpful and friendly
- Personal treatment (e.g. personal note on the room)
- Gibson guitars, Marshall amps & keyboards as room service. Rock and Roll baby!
- Free electronic drumkits and Wii units available in the lobby. Yes!!!

Points to improve ( we have to remain critical, hahaha)
- Wifi. Too expensive in the rooms. In the lobby, it's free, but you have to ask for a new login and username every 30 minutes and it's sloooow....
- Decent breakfast, but too expensive (22 euro) for what you get....and..no scrambled eggs :(
- Ipod connection to the TV. Clumsy! I expected a more modern sound system in the room
- Rusty strings on the guitars. Change them regularly!!
- Upgrade your guitars to real Gibsons, instead of Epiphones. It adds class :) !!

All in all, keep up the good work and I will be back soon!!

Room Tip: Go for the junior suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    300
    99
    26
    18
See reviews for
83
385
50
313
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liguria
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The position is very nice, along the Sprea. Unfo not walking distance to city center but the U-bahn is around the corner and even by taxi it's a 10 EUR ride. Rooms are very spacious and silent. Bar is lively night and day and in summertime you can drink outside along the river. Breakfast is absolutely to be mentioned: huge variety and anything you may want in the morning. Of course, quality cannot be at top but it's a good compromise. It's a design hotel so be prepared for some odd, pink amenities :-)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Overall I was pretty happy with this hotel.

The staff were helpful and friendly; the room was clean and decent sized. Interesting modern design, and pink, very pink. Wifi is horrendously expensive.

There was some live music at the bar on Saturday night, not sure if that's a regular thing though.

The location of the hotel isn't great. It is close to the East Side Gallery, but other than that there's nothing touristy and you'll be needing to catch a train to see things. At least the hotel is a short walk (10 mins-ish) to the U and S Bahns.

If I went to Berlin again I would pick a different hotel, but if you feel like staying at this one, I think it's not a bad choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for a week for business purposes. It was an ok location and nice friendly staff but I had the following issues :

too much pink ;0) and the bright and neon lights in the elevators can be very trying in the early morning and very hard on the eyes in general (especially the pink one).
all the bath gels and creams were scents that maybe a woman can get away with but if I were a man I would have trouble using these items.
Airconditioning was practically non-existent and therefore on hot days beware, it gets very stuffy and hot in the hotel (rooms and public places).
Beds were too hard and pillows uncomfortable. My shower head did not work.

Concept and idea is nice but frankly colours need to be - reconsidered

Room Tip: ask for view on river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brazil
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Overal is a good hotel and the staff is incredible.
All the thinks is pink.
In my opinion the location is far from touristic attractions but it is in a beautiful place in the side of the river.
My only disappointment is with the Wi-Fi Internet, it is ridiculous, I spent 60 minutes to download a 18mb file. The free Internet on the lobby is only for 30 minutes. So if you will be here in business and need the Internet to work, think in another hotel. If you don't need Internet, you will enjoy this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Excellent value - somehow a bit out of the hottest part of Berlin
Nice you can borrow a guitar at the reception

Very nice terrasse overlooking the river, good place to take some drinks before dinner and nightlife

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Slovakia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed in April 2012.
Location - The hotel is overlooking the Spree River, definitely ask for the riverview. It takes around 10-15 minutes walking to get to the U oder S-Bahn. To get to Ku-damm takes a while but it is quite fine if you stay around in Kreuzberg area, it is close to Mitte or Charlottenburg.
Hotel - very special "pink" rooms, very modern design and definitelly "different"... nice bathroom separated only with glass wall from the bedroom... romantic for couples :-). The bed is big and comfortable, there is NO FREE WIFI in the room and what they charge for the internet is just incredibly overpriced! They advertise a free internet in the lobby but it was so weak that you barely can use it.
The hotel overall is nice and we liked the special design.

We have really bad experience with the reception. They charged from our creditcard the whole ammount for our stay at our arrival and presented it only as a deposit. We paid the whole ammount again by the departure and were told that the deposit is cancelled... what a MISTAKE!
I had to call the hotel after TWO WEEKS when we found out the no deposit came back... i tried it once and was told i have to wait another 3 days, 3 days passed and no money appeared...by the 3th call was the manager very unpleasant but finally after another week we've got the money back... How come this could happen even we did not get any appologies ...
By the way, the charged deposit was not for one or two nights but for the whole stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to nhow Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about nhow Berlin

Address: Stralauer Allee 3 | Friedrichshain, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain , Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Berlin
#15 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#23 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#24 Family Hotel in Berlin
#25 Business Hotel in Berlin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — nhow Berlin 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
More than just a hotel, the nhow Berlin is a revolutionary new model of living and lodging. Located on the banks of the River Spree and in the heart of the city's most vibrant neighborhood, you'll find hip bars and clubs on every block and the latest in art and fashion on exhibit at every turn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotel.de, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your nhow Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nhow Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage nhow Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.