We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but too dark!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Weinmeister

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Weinmeister to your Saves list
The Weinmeister
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinmeisterstr. 2, 10178 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #337 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Huddersfeild
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Funky but too dark!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Great location, not particularly cheap. Good self-serve breakfast (you can make your own crepes on a special machine). Rooms are very modern but whilst the blue backlighting behind the bed gives ambience of urban cool, there's no overhead or decent lighting for working/doing hair etc. A case of style over function & at this price, it should really have both.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    98
    41
    28
    18
See reviews for
6
113
17
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

the best place to see mitte and berlin- its very close to both alexander platz and hacksher markt. very interestingly designed and cool in its attitude it fit our 5 day stay in berlin very well. the staff, particularly verenna and johannes were warm and friendly- going that extra mile to meet our needs, including bringing reference books from home and recommending and booking several restaurants and places to shop. we did not feel like first time visitors with so much inside info! the rooms were adequate and the shower was lovely, though wifi connectivity was poor. all in all we would definitely go back next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Weinmeister was a hotel that I picked purely because of an event that was happening in Berlin, had most of the hotels at a cheaper price booked. That being said, this hotel impressed me with its funky design, central location, and good service.

At first I ended up walking by the actual entrance 2 times before I realized where the actual entrance was. I thought it was just a wall of graffiti. Apparently not!

The room I stayed in was very spacious, and the shower was amazing. I liked the iMac computer they had available for use in the room.

The breakfast I found a little overpriced for what I got. But at the time I really didn't care... I was quite hungover!

The whole facility was clean, the staff was very helpful, and with the central location, and quiet rooms, I cant fault this hotel other than the price was a tad steep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A hip cool, stylish and "scene" type place to be, great service, great atmosphere and friendly, caring staff. We used the conference rooms and were happy with the service included. The hotel is a bit confusing as far as where to go for which area due to the many corridors and a small lack of signage.
All in all a great location dead center Berlin and within walking distance form the "cool" places to go like Hackischer Hof, Prenzlauer Berg and Kastanienallee.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Weinmeister - is actually a stupid german name. And so is the service, the interior and the infrastructure.
Why pay in a bad location a lot of money for this:

a) no fridge in the room, but two bottles of mineral water at summer temperatures for 6 € each that you get downstairs at 1€ but fortunately chilled.

b) bathrooms that do not work. shower head can be moved only by giant german ladies (you need to be higher than 180 cm to be able to do the same) actually the shower heads were not working, since there was too much chalk in the water. Hey guys and girls of wine pranksters you got chalk in the water of Berlin - so do the maintenance monthly.

c) that was only the start of a three day nightmare. second night ordered from the so famous bar a beer. Never came. Had to get up to buy it in the local turkish store - good thing about it was - prize was ten times lower

d) nightmare number three on the third night. The cheap Chinese installations in the toilet were not working anymore. We got the noise of running water for the night - of course no room keeping to take care of it.

e) Yeah it is nice to have privacy in a hotel - but do you need to go each time to three gates with a card??????? NO is our answer. Or- get your card readers clean. It was a nuisance to go through the first and second gate, since the card readers were not reacting!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


The Weinmeister is a bad joke - they should start to keep maintenance up, room keeping in time and room service as they say. Privacy in Berlin is nice, but we do not need three card readers for that. And your complete bathroom gear Made in China needs daily maintenance. That is the prize for using cheap gear.


Last but not least - Paint the walls in the staircase white again. The artist who have painted there are basically nobodies and for the hotel irrelevant.

cheers from Shanghai

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We loved the location and value for money. I would also recommend the spa the treatments were excellent and maybe thd best part of our stay in Berlin. Overall, it was a great experience. The only complaint I have is that thd bed was too hard.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is OK, we liked the fact that you can rent bike's, Berlin is very flat so it make it easy to move around town in a bike plus it's fun. The hotel is lacking a bit of better service to clients but I gues this goes for all of Berlin.

The place is clean and central, everithing is new and it works. We are happy we stayed here but with so many choices next time we will try something different.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Weinmeister? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Weinmeister

Address: Weinmeisterstr. 2, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#151 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Weinmeister 4*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Weinmeister reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Weinmeister Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Weinmeister, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.