We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish we had stayed longer, so I am going back soon!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Soho House Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Soho House Berlin to your Saves list
Soho House Berlin
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Torstrasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Prenzlauer Berg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 663 Hotels in Berlin
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“I wish we had stayed longer, so I am going back soon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Everything; I am an experienced traveller. I stay in 4 and 5 star hotels regularly. I am quite demanding about customer service and hotels especially. Soho House Hotel Berlin gets EVERYTHING right. I don't say this lightly, but I think it's the best place I have ever stayed.
I cannot fault it, it was fab. The staff were a breath of fresh air, the hotel was wicked cool, the amenities were outstanding--loving the big bottles of Cowshed everything in the rooms, oh and the steamshower, the wifi was strong and free! and even the people who stayed there were nice and unpretentious - how they managed that I don't know?! Maybe it's their friendly, unpretentious attitude rubbing off on the clientele. Plan to spend an extra day there as you will want to just chill in the hotel. The club room is especially good for doing work as you can't use a phone in there, so no distractions - work or read the paper. My mate said "I get it totally you can just work away and nice people bring you drinks" - which were very reasonably priced.
I wish we had stayed two more days, can’t wait to go back and I have already booked our return stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    52
    20
    7
    10
See reviews for
13
121
16
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

As usually with all the Soho House hotels the room was decorated how wish your home was. We had a 'small' room and it wasn't that at all. A comfortable velvet armchair in front of the TV and a huge king size bed, a glorious roll-top bath and a separate walk-in shower made for a very comfortable stay. I had 2 massages in the spa, one better then the other, but still lovely and relaxing. The bar was fun and cosy in cold november, and we had a lovely meal in the restaurant. The staff were really helpful and friendly. It was the best hotel we could have picked to return to after cold days of lots of walking and sight-seeing.

There are lots of christmas markets in Berlin during december, but they all get very repetitive! The one to go to above all others is at Gendermarket, in a beautiful setting and with very individual crafts paying the 1 euro entry is well worth it. We also tried Monsieur Vuong after recommendations on Mr & Mrs Smith, the food was nice, but to manage your expectations it's not a restaurant, it's the same seating policy as Wagamama, it's website gives it a far different feel!

Room Tip: We had room 68, and it was very quiet even though it looked over the busy road below.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The building encapsutlates the city's history--a Jewish dept store then HQ for HItler Youth and then HQ of GDR (the politburo is a venue within it!). Now it's a private meber's club, hotel and spa.

I work lots with this group and stay often in their hotels. This si my favourite--the romos are huge--evben the tiny ones--and it has all the usual cowshead comforts and products. I esp enjoy having a hanfosme coktail waiter come and mix martinis in ym room from 5-8pm. The romos are quiet and you do feel you are in Berlin without being overwhelmed by it.

The rooftop terrace is busy on Sunday and the pool is pleasant for a pddle but not big enough for a swim (a new pool is mooted). The drinks are delicous and food v good-superschntizel esp so!

Some locals will be snooty as private memebr clubs get a bad rap here...personally I love having abubble of joy and guaranteed good service to escape to.

Room Tip: Even the smallest rooms are quite big so enjoyt that! Lots of kids ar FEAST on Sunday so bear this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Very friendly and professional staff, lovely hotel rooms (spacious, stylish and practical), great cocktails and delicious food served in a chic yet inviting setting. The hotel's lobby/ground floor reflects an East Berlin-industrial feel - the rest of the hotel is cozier and quite inviting. Would definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sollentuna
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

To start with the welcome at the reception was warm and friendly and service during our stay was always great. Location is good on Torstrasse close to Mitte and Prenzlauer berg. Hotel room and public spaces incurs an exclusive feeling and it feels just nice. Rooftop pool and lounge area was just unbelievable with the good weather we had. Spa is also great with steam sauna and wet sauna. Gym is well equipped. At the restaurant we had breakfast and a dinner and food, vibe and service was great.

In the basement there were a fussball table and ping pong to have fun with.

We also stayed at Casa Camper but Soho House was simply better in all the ways.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel, so much that I actually decided to write my first review!
Rooms are quirky, yet elegant with attention to detail. High ceilings, plenty of space, in addition to very comfy enormous bed. A medium room was indeed quite large and the whole building has 1920ties atmosphere. The hotel is also surprisingly quiet, with proper double glazed windows and thick walls.
Spa was great ( with actually reasonably priced treatments) and the breakfast was good. I would definitively recommend this place and I would certainly come back. . Berlin was lovely as ever, and boutique shops on the Mullack strasse worth exploring.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The staff clearly tries To do their best but seems like waiters are not great professionals And The kitchen is probably a mess. Food came late, like tapas And at one point they were offering first course, main course And dessert. You could grab dessert and later take some pasta, fish or meet. Food was also too spicy. The Building was The headquarters of The NKVD...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Soho House Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Soho House Berlin

Address: Torstrasse 1, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Prenzlauer Berg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Berlin
#34 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#60 Business Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Soho House Berlin 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Splendia, Agoda, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Soho House Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soho House Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Soho House Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.