We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse

Save Saved
You added Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   Metzer Strasse 8, 10405 Berlin, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 314 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Aarhus, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very nice place indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We spent 5 days in this very nice and quiet 6 persons appartment.

We were 6 people, and there was plenty room for all of us.

The appartment is located 15 minutes walk from Alexander Platz, and the nice staff provided us with parking permits for the duration of our stay. The staff was very service minded, and helpful, when we asked them "stupid tourist questions".

The building has an elevator (lift).

The neigbourhood was very nice and quiet, and there were several supermarkets within a few minutes walk.

The appartment comes with bed linnen, towels, WIFI and full cleaning upon departure.

I can give OTA-Berlin my best recommendations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
Couples
0
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rented a 3 roomed apartment which means beds in 3 rooms plus the largest room has a sitting area also, with TV. Lovely simplistic decor, all white and oak floorboards and high ceilings. Good sized modern kitchen with large dining table. Downstairs is a nice bakery which is also a mini-mart with cold beers and other drinks. They have tables to sit at for breakfast/lunch and nice sandwhiches, but you might as well take it away upstairs to own apartment. Staff at the reception desk very helpful and efficient. Easy to get to via underground system, or walk 15 minutes from Alexander Platz which is bus stop from Tegel airport. Loads of great restaurants and bars in walking distance, safe area to walk at night.

Room Tip: i think they all look out at nice tree lined street, but just in case not, ask for one which does.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed here for 9 nights w/our 3 children (ages 6-11) at the end of Aug into early Sept. We are NYers and wanted to get a feel for Berlin without staying in a hotel. I would recommend this Metzer Strasse Old Town Apartments (OTA) without reservation. The apartment was very clean and it was wonderful to have a kitchen (minus oven) stocked w/plenty of plates, bowls, cups, silverware, pots and pans. There was also coffee and tea. Rewe Supermarket is only 2 blocks away on Schonhauser Allee and has everything you could need for a stay. Hotel breakfasts are generally overrated and you have to pay for the other meals anyway, so we stocked up on some German breads and cereals and everyone was happy. The kids also loved the German cookies/ice cream and especially Kinder chocolate. We were able to make dinner in the apartment some nights (pasta, ravioli, brats) which was wonderful after a long day of sightseeing, not having to get cleaned up for a dinner out at a nice restaurant. However, there were plenty of restaurants with many types of cuisines within a 5 block radius of the apartment. Also, the OTA-Metzer Strasse staff was incredibly helpful (a special shout-out to Nathan), even showing me how to do laundry in the basement mid-stay. Metzer Str is a lovely block and very close to Alex Platz which we must've walked through at least 4 times. We found a fabulous park/playground on Ferbehrliner very close to the apartment and our kids played soccer w/German kids almost every evening after touring around the city most of the day. It stayed light late. We also spent a day in Wolfsburg at the Autostadt and highly recommend making a trip out there. Great auto park, awesome cars, good food, kids loved it and they got their own drivers license after a safety video and time on a small track. All the kids made mistakes and actually appreciate more our asking for quiet at certain times when driving b/c they found driving took concentration. Some tips for 1st time Berlin travelers - they rarely take credit cards. Fortunately, the supermarket did as well as the souvenier shops, but most smaller stores and most restaurants do not, so make sure to have cash on hand. We loved our time in Berlin and at the OTA apartment. The kids and we talk about our trip often and remember it so fondly that when we go back to Berlin (hopefully sooner rather than later) we will stay at OTA again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

The apartment was very clean but then left a lot to be desired for the price. The smallest bedroom was fine apart from no mirror, however the larger bedroom had no wardrobe or hanging space, the family sized tv was in this room along with 2 chairs, not suitable for 4 guests!! The curtains in this room were hanging off. There was no living area, just a large table for 6 in the kitchen & a very small 2 seater couch. We were given a small hand towel & small bath towel each both which were so thin as to be almost useless,these would have had to last us for 5dys if we hadn't asked for others which were of the same quality. It was a rooftop apartment but only had a tiny outdoor area. The one good thing about the apartment was the location which couldn't have been better. It was very disappointing given the cost, & should have had some sort of service. H Kirkwood Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We had a nice stay in the apartment during the IFA electronics show at the Berlin Messe.
The value and the quality of the apartment was great.
Only thing we missed was some nice furniture on the terrace and better shades for the bedroom windows.

But all on all it was a great place to stay at, and we will probably be back for next year too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We picked this apartment for its central location and the great comments that had already been left by previous travellers and we have to say that we were not disappointed. The apartment was very clean and tidy with plenty of space for the five of us with a great kitchen and all the usual mod cons. The English speaking staff were very helpful and it was no trouble to them to help us plan a trip using public transport, checking train times and printing off routes. We will be staying there again in the future and so we can highly recommend this appartment.

Room Tip: We had a corner apartment which had a plenty of windows allowing the light to stream through.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
229 reviews 229 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Our family of 5 spent two nights at this property. We stayed in an apartment for 6 that was clean and very spacious. I can see that this would be great for an extended stay. We travelled with friends, also a party of five, who stayed in the penthouse apartment and were very pleased as well. The location can't be beat- close to U-Bahn, coffee shops, bakeries and markets. The staff was professional and accommodating- as our friends were to arrive after office hours, they allowed us to register them and get their keys. The beds were basic but comfortable and the towels were a little small. As this is an apartment there are no other amenities such as shampoo, but there was a hairdryer. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse

Address: Metzer Strasse 8, 10405 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 314 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Town Apartments - Metzer Strasse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.