We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast and Filling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BOMBAY

BOMBAY
Friedrichstrasse 106 | 10117 Berlin, Germany, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,400 of 6,290 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Description: One of the best and biggest Indian restaurant we came across in Europe. Were so happy with the service that i am actually surprised not finding it on TripAdvisor. It's a must if one is looking for authentic Indian taste on not customized Indian taste to suit Europe market.
Valletta, Malta
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Fast and Filling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The waiter took our order quickly.

In the short time that I needed to read some tripadvisor reviews which complemented speed of service, my starter was served. As I was finishing my starter, my main course arrived. This must rate as one of the fastest restaurant services ever and was perhaps just a little bit too fast!

The food was very good, very filling and fairly priced.

A good choice of restaurant in a central location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    59
    31
    12
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Yum it was”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Its been always tricky visiting Indian restaurants in Europe, the expectations are generally low for us. Last Saturday evening, we ended up at Bombay for dinner. A plate of Samosas, Paneer Makhani and Aloo Saag with Nan Bread was both tasty and satisfying. The service was quite quick and needless to say we both reached home with full stomachs!
I must also say that I had visited the restaurant back in January, and it was equally satisfying back then.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elche, Spain
1 review
“Low quality food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I hace been in severas Indian Restaurants in some contries, and this the worst of all of them. Onion bahji and pilau rice without flavour, curry rice too, but worst thing s service. I had to ask fr my son' s dinner three times, it took half an hour, but no one apologized for it. Incredibly, the waiter was waiting for me to give him a tip!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I am generally sceptical when it comes to indian food, but the food here was great! Would really reccomend it! Friendly staff and good prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Went here based upon the Tripadvisor reviews, but was disappointed. First we got a free salad that had seen better days. When the food we ordered arrived, it was bland. The Chicken Tikka was covered in grease, and the mixed tandoori dish was all covered in the same sauce, with no variation between the different meats. Add to this the plain rice and the somewhat slow service, and this is not a restaurant I would recommend.

Plus for a nice mango beer and cheap cocktails.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BOMBAY also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to BOMBAY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BOMBAY, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.