We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, fantastic price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Save Saved
You added easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt
Rosenthaler Strasse 69, 10119 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 316 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, fantastic price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here over New Year and had a great stay. The price was amazingly cheap bearing in mind the timing of the trip, and as such we weren't expecting the world. Yes, the room was small, but we only used it to sleep and wash in, so it wasn't a big deal really. My only gripe was the rubbish pillows, which made sleeping (when not hammered!) difficult, but stuffing it with a jumper or two sorted that out.

The best thing (other than the price) about this hotel was the location. 2 minutes walk from Rosenthalerplatz U-bahn meant anything was within easy reach, and the Berlin wall memorial thingy was only 15 minutes away (on this note, the Tripadvisor city guide app on iPhone/Android was invaluable... good for directions, finding attractions, and a really good selection of free walking tours to see some sights and walk off a New Years hangover)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    258
    305
    82
    19
    7
See reviews for
19
374
61
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We just got back from 3 nights at EasyHotel Berlin. It was my second EasyHotel experience.
The best thing is absolutely the location!! Its few minutes away from Hackescher Markt and Alexanderpl. There are lots of good restaurants and really cool stores. I recommend Tranzit, Indonesian restaurant, that is next door. You can also try the bagel place, you can get 25% if you staying at EasyHotel. There is also subway station just down the street "Rosenthaler Pl.".

We arrived around 11:00, check in is late, 15:00. We paid extra 7 euro for early check in. You can also store your luggage for 3 euro. The rooms, as expected are very small but have everything you need: clean bathroom, hot water, nice bed. Although the website says there is air-conditioning, it's one central system, which means you are not really able to control it in your room. They gave us one more blanket and it was ok. The reception desk was really nice and help us with every information we needed.

Arriving from Schonefeld airport is simple- you take the train (RE7-R814) to Alexanderplatz (23 min) and then subway (U8, blue line) to Rosenthaler pl (3 min), its 3.5 euro p.p.

Great Hotel for those how are looking for good location and good value. We will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst working at a trade show in Berlin.
Friends had recommended for me to stay at the hotel, and I wasn't disappointed.
The rooms aren't the biggest, and the services are compact, but they are exactly what you need.
There are no in-house breakfast facilities, but you are entitled to a discount at the cafe below.
Definitely worth a stay, and get a bargin price by booking well ahead!!!!

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor, the ceilings are a little lower. Get the rooms at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

If you are eager to explore the city and enjoy the sightseeings of Berlin, instead to stay into the room of a hotel, this is the best choice for you ! Yes, the rooms are small but they are very clean,modern, practical and very cheap ! The location is perfect, in the center of the Mitte area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Was in Berlin with a friend last year, and we decided to stay at the EasyHotel, as it had a central location and was cheap. I'm glad we decided to stay there, as the room was in a very good condition and clean. There wasn't much space in the room though, but when you are on a city vacation, you don't really spend time in your room, so who needs it anyway. It was optional to get extra of everything, just like when you fly with EasyJet, but again, who wants to watch TV on a holiday... I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

BOOKING:

We booked online and paid before we arrived. This made the service quicker and the hotel had our details ready and was expecting us. The rates were very very reasonable and the hotel is classed as budget. We booked for 4 nights in June 2012.


LOCATION:

The location is perfect. We have visited Berlin 3 times now and always stay in the Mitte area. This EasyHotel is in the heart of the area. It is surrounded by great bars and restaurants and shopping. It has easy access to all public transport so is easy to navigate around the rest of Berlin from this area. It’s also easy to get to here from the airport.

Rosenthaler Strasse is a great street too. You can walk to the market area, or Oranienburger Strass for great bars, or the Alexanderplatz area for shopping and the TV tower. Unter den linden and Brandenburg gate is all within easy walking; even better if you hire a bike for the day and cycle through Tiergarten.


SERVICE:

The staff at EasyHotel were very friendly and efficient. Checking in and out was very easy and straight forward.

You cannot have breakfast here as all it is is a hotel. No food but there is a vending machine in the basement. You really don’t need a restaurant as you only have to step out of the door and walk in any direction to get to great venues.

The towels are not changed unless requested and then you are charged. This is because it is a budget hotel and they are trying to keep costs down.

EasyHotel also offer bicycle hire. We used this service and hired 2 bikes for the whole day. It was very reasonably prices and the bikes were great…though bright orange! We had a fantastic day on them and you collect and return you bikes from the hotel garden.

The hotel also offer wifi if you want to pay for it and also lockers for your luggage for your last day.


ROOM:

Our room was very clean light and airy. It did have a window, SOME EASYHOTEL ROOMS DON’T.

The room was very very small. I have seen lots of complaints about this but it really is obvious and the hotel is not trying to hide it or "screw you over" and you are paying a small price for a very central hotel. In Berlin we never spend much time in our hotel so this was fine for us. It is fine to deal with, suitcases could go under the bed and there was still enough space for the 2 of us.

The bathroom was barely en suite, more like it was just in the room with you. A glass wall and glass door divided the bathroom from the room. When you were in the shower the door to the bathroom folded in and sealed the shower cubicle so the other person could still use the toilet. It was very clever efficient use of space. It may be a bit too intense if you are sharing with a friend that you don’t know very well but as a couple we found it fine.

The bed was incredibly comfy, I loved it. Great after a long day walking/cycling and an evening of drinking!

The room and bed linen was very clean. It was very hot weather when we visited but the room stayed cool and the window opened really wide too. The only downside was when we were having a lie in and the shutters outside slid over the windows blocking out all of the light. Apparently this is an energy saving design to keep the building cool when the temperature reaches a certain level. It is out of the control of the staff and all of the shutters went at the same time. It actually only happened once though so wasn't a problem.

The bathroom and shower was spotless and had lots of soap to use.

I can’t remember if there was a tv but doubt it, There weren't any tea and coffee making facilities which was a pain but otherwise the room couldn't have been faulted. Just prepare yourself for it being small.


OVERALL:

There is nothing I can fault about this hotel apart from the fact that there was no kettle and the towels/bins weren’t changed.

It is budget through and through but the room was very very clean and comfortable.

The location is really fantastic, you are right in the centre of a really interesting area. You won’t be lost for things to do or places to eat and drink…and cheaply too!

If you want a romantic getaway or some luxury then this probably isn’t the place to stay.

However if you are like me and spend most of your time out and about exploring, not watching tv in a large hotel room, then this could be a really ideal hotel for you.

My fiancé proposed to me after a day out on our EasyHotel bicycles. We went back to our hotel and drank champagne from plastic cups and then went out to celebrate. The quality of the hotel was just perfect for a romantic time such as this, but it was the location that made it all the more special!

Prepare yourself for a small room but a fantastic time and you can’t go wrong!

Room Tip: Don't go for a room without a window, get as big a room as you can afford or just prepare yourse...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The location is excellent - just within 5 minutes walk from the station.
The room is very small, as expected but it is clean and neat. The size is acceptable to most ladies and guys of medium build I think.
We had a nice stay there with hot bath and good sleep.
Just one thing that is a bit tricky. We paid 5 EURO for internet for 2 days. However, the account can only be accessed by one laptop/device only. It is tricky since there are always two people in a twin room! They should specify this.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt

Address: Rosenthaler Strasse 69, 10119 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 316 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new purpose built easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt is located right in the sizzling centre of Berlin. Within walking distance of all the main tourist attractions including Hackescher Markt, Alexanderplatz and the museums island. With subway and tram stations right in front of the hotel all the other exciting attractions like Potsdamer Platz, Kurfürstendamm, Reichstag, Friedrichstrasse, Brandenburger Tor, are easily reached as well. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage easyHotel Berlin Hackescher Markt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.