We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Gat Point Charlie to your Saves list
Hotel Gat Point Charlie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mauerstrasse 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

This was a really good hotel the room was well appointed and clean and very easy to find.

This is a hotel perfectly placed if you haven't been to Berlin before and want to see all the sights including things in the centre and west. Having been before and wishing to enjoy more of things the east has to offer it was a little bit of a schlep and we got to know the the U2 line of the U-bahn very well.

There was no air-conditionig and so we did find the room a little hot and were given a fan that although looked the business did in fact become my nemesis for the rest of the trip as is was very loud and not particularly cooling.

The shower was amazing as was the breakfast which although a little expensive for what you can get outside did the trick.

All in all a good place and would recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review about your recent stay at Hotel Gat Point Charlie.

I am sorry for the inconvenience of the lack of A/A during the recent heat wave, we are trying to sort out this problem and hopefully for next year this issue will be solved.

We look forward into welcoming you again soon, please do not hesitate contacting me in your next visit!

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

906 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    433
    77
    13
    6
See reviews for
68
447
77
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 3 nights mid June. The hotel is in a really good location, close to shops, restaurants and tourist attractions.

The hotel is very funky with a lime green theme throughout the hotel. The rooms were clean and well appointed. Our only issue was the room was hot and muggy. It wasnt really hot the days we were there either, maybe a max of 22 degrees. It gets better once the windows open for a while, however they ask you to close the window if you are leaving the room, and if you do so, once you return to the room its like walking into a sauna. The positive out of this is the reception staff will provide you with a portable fan which helps a lot.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, and overall we had a really good stay at this hotel.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your experience at Gat Point Charlie.

I am happy to hear you were impressed by the staff and rooms, but sorry that you experienced inconveniences due to the lack of air conditioning during the heat wave we experienced recently.

I can share that we are looking into a solution so that heat won't be a problem next year.
Feedbacks like yours help us in the planning process for upcoming improvements, so I appreciate you taking the time writing your insight.

We look forward into welcoming you again at Gat Point Charlie. Please do not hesitate contacting me when you do!

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Loved this hotel. We had a junior sweet which was really nice and very modern. It's in a really central location but still pretty quiet on an evening and staff were really friendly. Berlin is an AMAZING city an I Would recommend Gat point Charlie to anyone. May even stay there again next year.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear guest,

We really appreciate all your comments .They motivate all of us to continue this way,
we really appreciate it. Please do not hesitate to contact me in your next visit.

Thank you again!

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We got it for 90usd per night, it's a good, clean, modern hotel, probably designed by an interior decorator, they had heating but no cooling, wasn't a problem in mid June, the staff are very friendly and help you out in anything you need, especially the guy at reception at night, they have a nice quiet bar with a friendly bartender, hotel is centrally located.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

We really appreciate that you have taken the time to write this review about Hotel Gat Point Charlie.

We've invested a great deal of time and resources into the product that you see today.

We hope to see you again at our hotel in the near future! Please don't hesitate contacting me.

Best regards,

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We were very pleased we had booked this hotel. It is on a quiet street very close to Checkpoint Charlie, and to public transport. Very simple to get here from either the airport or Berlin train station, and walking distance to a lot of attractions. It's new and modern (we had a lime green bathroom!) but very clean, and very comfortable. There are several very nice restaurants all within very close walking distance. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't choose the breakfast option at the hotel, but each morning the breakfast room looked to be quite full. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, we always appreciate the positive comments left by our guests.

We are delighted that you had a good experience staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We loved our stay here, the rooms are light and airy, bed very comfortable. the shower in our room was massive! Staff are very friendy and helpful. Great location nearby to everything we wanted to see in Berlin. would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you, we really appreciate all your comments.
They motivate all of us to continue this way!

We look forward into welcoming you in the future!

Kind regards

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

I had a truly great experience at Hotel Gat Point Charlie. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, the hotel's design and decor are really cool and the rooms were spotless. The location is very convenient, with an array of shops, eateries and historical sites well within walking distance. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatrooms, Director Comercial at Hotel Gat Point Charlie, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay at Gat Point Charlie.
It was a pleasure to host you while you visited this incredible city!

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to visit us again.

Best regards

Arantza Egana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Gat Point Charlie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gat Point Charlie

Address: Mauerstrasse 81 - 82, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gat Point Charlie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in the central Mitte vicinity. Mitte is one entertaining neighborhood with an important history load and many mysteries awaiting.The hotel’s typical berlin industrial structure was home to the STASI. In just 10 minutes you can reach Brandenburger Gate, the Museum Island and the Holocaust Memorial. And if that wasn’t enough, the famous Check Point Charlie from the Berlin Wall is a stone’s throw away from us. What is also literally round the corner is the well-known Friedrichstrasse; the perfect place for shopping, you will definitely love it.Gat Point Charlie stands for friendship. Designed from start to finish to achieve out of your stay something beyond enjoyable. The Room Room is a good spot to have a cocktail with friends, and when it gets to getting some rest, the beds available in all 140 rooms, will make you quickly surrender to Morpheus arms.A healthy and balanced breakfast will be waiting for you in the morning, the perfect way to reload the energies you will need to conquer the Berlin streets! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Gat Point Charlie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gat Point Charlie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.