We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy Asian food at an excellent price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Transit Restaurant

Transit Restaurant
Rosenthaler Strasse 68 | 10119, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 247 816 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 6,051 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
Redmond, Washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Yummy Asian food at an excellent price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I decided to check this restaurant because I saw it was very popular on Foursquare and relatively close to the hotel we were staying. We went there without reservations and I think we got lucky. In 10 minutes we were sitting on a table on the outside balcony but the place was packed!

We ordered several €3 bowls to share and they were all supper yummy. We almost went for a second round but decided to try their desserts instead (I think the dessert I had was called Pirates of the Caribbean a chocolate mousse with passion fruit, I really recommend it).

It was the best and least expensive meal we had in Berlin. The atmosphere of the place is also super cool. Service was okay but none of the restaurants in Berlin impressed me by their service.

I would definitely go back to eat here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    160
    40
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Tasty food in central Berlin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Excellent food with plenty of choice of dishes in small bowls, so you can try lots of dishes and share. Situated in Rosenthalerstrasse not far from Hackesche Höfe. You need to book as it gets very crowded.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Cheap, good variety and tasty!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Found this popular place a little to the north of its supposed TripAdvisor location. Great range of small-medium sharing bowls for ?3. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch, and was greeted by friendly, helpfull staff. Ordered 7 different ?3 dishes, all with distinct taste and great for sharing. Good value, paid under 50? with beers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Thai-In berlin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

When our tour guide recommended this place, my first reaction was to say, " Thai, in Berlin? That's like having Mexican in France." Yet, my partner made a good point: In any large metropolitan city you'll find excellent international food. This is no exception!
First off- I'd recommend reservations, we went on a sat and had to wait 45 minutes for a table. The best way to describe this place is a Thai tapas place. The portions are smallish and meant to be shared between everyone. You'll enter into a journey of flavours ranging for the spicy to sweet to the tangy. This place is definitely worth a stop in your stay in Berlin. Its pocket friendly, trendy, well located, and best of all delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transit Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Transit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.