We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Transit Restaurant

Transit Restaurant
Rosenthaler Strasse 68 | 10119, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 247 816 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 6,095 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Exellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for lunch, and was greeted by friendly, helpfull staff. Ordered 7 different ?3 dishes, all with distinct taste and great for sharing. Good value, paid under 50? with beers.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    176
    44
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Thai-In berlin?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

When our tour guide recommended this place, my first reaction was to say, " Thai, in Berlin? That's like having Mexican in France." Yet, my partner made a good point: In any large metropolitan city you'll find excellent international food. This is no exception!
First off- I'd recommend reservations, we went on a sat and had to wait 45 minutes for a table. The best way to describe this place is a Thai tapas place. The portions are smallish and meant to be shared between everyone. You'll enter into a journey of flavours ranging for the spicy to sweet to the tangy. This place is definitely worth a stop in your stay in Berlin. Its pocket friendly, trendy, well located, and best of all delicious.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great food in central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Love this asian style restaurant in central berlin Mitte.
Great different size dishes, great for vegetarians too, and good value as well. Recommend

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fun, funky - and filling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just a short stroll from the Circus Hotel, this place was always busy, whenever we went past. After we'd eaten there one night, we understood why. It's a sort of Thai tapas bar, where you order several small dishes at 3 euros, and share them. Make sure you also order either rice or noodles (1 euro) as well, or you may well still be hungry. Brilliant prawns with avocado, loads of meat dishes. They do a few bigger dishes, but almost everyone gorges on all the small ones. We ordered six bowls, plus one of rice and one of noodles, and it was exactly the right sort of amount. Most of the tables are long trestle ones, which you have to share, but it's all part of the fun. We were sitting at the end of a trestle and the waitress asked us if we would move to a smaller table for two, so they could accommodate a party of five which had just arrived. Luckily by then we had finished our food and were just having drinks, but otherwise I would have found that slightly off-putting, if we'd had to march across the full restaurant carrying our bowls and chopsticks.But perhaps that's just the way they do it here. Whatever, it was a good meal, with a certain modern buzz about the place; well worth a visit. The ginger ale drink (I think it was called Gorgeous Ginger was very nice, as was the mango milkshake).

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Thai/Indonesian flavours in the heart of Berlin – Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

If you are looking for a nice, fresh, healthy but quick meal in Berlin Mitte, Transit might be one of the best options in the area. Heck, compared to some other places we’ve tried, maybe one of the best in town. Casual but modern Asian dining, Transit offers a fantastic value for money to guests of all ages.

We highly recommend making a reservation a few days in advance to avoid queuing for a table. The place seems to be extremely popular with locals and tourists alike. Once you get seated and get a chance to try the food, you will understand why. Their home-made drinks or non alchoholic cocktails are also yummy and nicely presented (loved the mango shake!). With delicious dishes and prices like 3 euro / tapas-style starter bowl and 8 euro / main, it is definitely worth a visit!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transit Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Transit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.