We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such amazing food!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Transit Restaurant

Transit Restaurant
Rosenthaler Strasse 68 | 10119, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 247 816 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #95 of 5,736 restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Such amazing food!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

1st things 1st, book a table if you can as this place is so popular; but as soon as we tasted the food we new why! Brilliant sized tapas dishes, with no gsm additives! Great service and a fantastic experience! Be careful though as the tripadvisor map takes you a hotel called transit instead of the place!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    195
    134
    35
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Yum, yum, yum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

What an excellent place to eat. Drinks are very reasonable by Berlin prices. The food is amazing. A bit like an Indonesian tapas. We had 9 dishes and we completely stuffed. For UK travellers bring some cash unless your plastic has Maestro. Very very good.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Fabulous Find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Transit was suggested by our hotel, and it was just down the street. We got there about 7:30 p.m. and it was filled to overflowing. Even so, the lovely hostess assured us she would be able to find us a place in just a few minutes...and she did. Total chaos at that time of evening (it is obviously a very popular place!), but even so, we had great service and even better food. As tapas fans, we very much enjoyed the broad selection to choose from. There wasn't a "miss" on the entire menu! We returned two nights later because everything had been so great. This time we got there about 6 p.m. and had a much calmer (although not nearly such fun!) evening. We recommend Transit very highly if you are looking for great food in a fun environment. Try it; you'll love it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

A wide choice of lovely South-East Asian delights (in a tapas style), delicious and affordable. You have to get a few dishes to fill yourself up but there are choices to have larger main portions. The place was buzzing, great atmosphere and worth a stop while in Berlin.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Thai/Indo in cool setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We visited this place on a Saturday night- luckily we managed to get a table as the place was mobbed. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the Languedoc red wine was spot on and all the food was very authentic South-East Asian.

I'd recommend it to anyone and will be back next time I'm in Berlin!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Transit Restaurant also viewed

Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Transit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.