We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good prices, buzzy atmosphere, food so-so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Transit Restaurant

Transit Restaurant
Rosenthaler Strasse 68 | 10119, Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
030 247 816 45
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #199 of 6,273 Restaurants in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Mitte
hampshire
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Good prices, buzzy atmosphere, food so-so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We came here with our daughter, there's not much for kids but we did manage to find a few things for her. There is a queue out of the door so booking is essential, and it seems really popular with locals which is generally a good sign...

We were a little surprised when a few of the dishes were served cold rather than hot as we had expected, but they were still pretty tasty.

For us it was worth probably 3.5 but I can't give that and a 3 would have been harsh. These days I'm looking for something a bit more sophisticated, and I expect in my student days I'd have loved it but that's probably more my fault for booking the wrong place for us. If you are after a buzzy night out with friends then this would be great.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    170
    43
    6
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Overrated”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I really can't understand all the raving reviews about this place. Good prices, though. The food is ok, nothing special, but desserts and service are terrible.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
“Great food - loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We really loved this place. Great food and good prices. In a really trendy section in the middle of Berlin. The ambient is modern and comfortable and the waiters are kind. try and you'll love it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Not much more to add to everyone elses reviews!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is just great, great food, great atmosphere, casual, yummy and fun! Wish we hadn't waited until the last night of our trip to go and wish there was one in Britain!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
2 reviews
“Brilliant place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

My boyfriend and I both loved Transit! The food was really tasty (we ended up ordering in more although we we're already full). We both agreed that the caipirinhas (my favorite drink) were amazing! The service was really polite, cheerful, fast and friendly! When a dessert we wanted from the menu had run out our waitress went and got us a cake they didn't have on the menu and gave it to us for free (so that we could tell her what was in it she said ;)). We will definitely be going back to Transit on our next visit to Berlin!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Transit Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Transit Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Transit Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.