We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Save Saved
You added Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 664 hotels in Berlin
Beder
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Location, Location and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stayed 3 nights and were positively suprised. The new Scandic Hotels have got much higher quality than the old ones and Scandic Potzdammer Platz were in all recpects nice.
We paid 20 EUR for an upgrade with nice view, coffee machine and free minibar and would consider doing this again. The area is nice and quiet and the main attractions within walking distance plus there are 2 U-Bahn stations 5 min away. The breakfast was good without being top-top quality, but the coffee was excellent and we had freshly made fried eggs in the morning (nicely presented ).
The only minus was the shoe polishing machine at the 6th floor was not able to dispense polish and aparantly the staff was not able to fix it.
Going back to Berlin for another holiday, Scandic will probably be my first choice.

Room Tip: Spend 20 EUR for an upgrade of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive review.
We are happy you had a pleasant stay with us and would like to choose our hotel once more.
We would like to mention the issue you have written about.
First of all, we would like to apologize for the broken shoe polishing machine. As you know, this is not our standard. We already spoke to the responsible department.
Thank you for staying with us. We’re looking forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

799 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    330
    71
    22
    16
See reviews for
95
227
49
210
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This hotel is well-situated for visiting Berlin. The room itself was lovely and clean. The staff are friendly and helpful although I did get irritated when I was offered an upgrade to a Superior Room at a cost of an extra 20 Euros a night 'because it has a nicer view', only to find that the room was situated directly above the very brightly lit signage at the front of the hotel with a 'roof' covering the front entrance directly outside my window. The roof was littered with old banana peels and cigarette butts possibly having been thrown out of windows by previous guests which really detracted from the 'superiority' of the room. After two nights I requested to be moved which they did with a smile - just sorry I didn't ask to be moved sooner.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor away from the signage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor. This is very important for us!
We would like to apologize for the inconveniences in your room. This is not our standard. We have already talked to the responsible department.
We are happy you talked to our employees at the reception – only in this manner we can react to our guests.
We hope you still enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

This Hotel has a great Location, it is a business hotel, so many Business people in suits at check-in and check-out, but if you use the express check-out option then no issues there. The room was fine, a standard Scandic room. The only issue we had was the AC did not work when we arrived, we reported it the next morning, but after a hot day out sight seeing it was still not fixed. After call to reception again, they sent a technician, who tried to set something, which made it slightly better but not much. If you manage to get a special room rate via some promotion etc, then this is a great value for money hotel. the Parking in the street behind the hotel is Free, in the street, so an option if you dont mind that. There is also a nice mall at the Potsdamer Platz with a wide selection of restuarants and take aways. and that is also close to the Tube station. Only down side is there is no coffee making facilaties in the room, so that was disapointing as we enjoy our early morning coffee in bed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Verkaufsleiter at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thank you for spending time to reviewing Scandic Berlin. It’s nice to hear you have enjoyed your stay.
For an extra charge of 20 Euro, we offer coffee and tea making facilities as well as a filled minibar which is included in the rate. We hope to welcome you again soon.
As an environment conscious hotel we have a climate control with long distance cooling instead of an air condition. With this the room temperature can be adjusted only 7°C lower than the outside temperature. We are working on a good solution so that the room temperature is convenient even on very warm days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I spent two nights at this modern and new hotel in early July. First impression when you arrive is that you are somewhere else than in Germany. Modern office buildings around and trendy cafeterias on a nearby Potsdamer Platz. But the hotel location is actually very convenient for an active leisure traveller. Tiergarten, Zoo and Ku'damm are at a walking distance (less than an hour) After that trip to the west you can have a break and head next to the east by foot. Central Berlin is smaller than I thougt.

Rooms aren't very large but not the French standard either. Beds are very good, overall design nice, no dark brothel style furniture.

I used the the hotel parking, it's good and a bit expensive (22€) but the street parking is an option only if you arrive late and leave early. Parking attendants monitor the street frequently until 10pm. However, if you arrive with a car, arrive early because the garage has perhaps only 15 places.

Scandic is one of the biggest chains in Sweden and Finland, I think this hotel is a four star property, in Scandinavia Scandic hotels are mostly three star standard. I think I'll return to the Scandic Potzdamer Plaza next time as well to see the museums I missed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your thoughts you have given.
The Scandic brand has about 160 hotels in different countries, mostly in the Nordic region of Europe. Our Berlin property will turn 3 years in October and is a very modern Scandinavian design.
Our hotel offers 60 parking spaces in total, divided into East and West parking. This is due to the underground leading through the hotel from the basement up to the 2nd floor. Additional 1.500 spaces are in the parking garage of “Parkhaus am Gleisdreieck” which is only 2 minutes walking distance away.
We would very much like to welcoming you again here in Berlin!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Why do some hotels go to great lengths to make us feel like we are somewhere we are not? In most instances, of course, we’re already not at home, because we’re at a hotel. But some feel compelled to add another layer, with how things are conceived, designed, named. Why would a hotel in eastern Germany load itself with Nordic signifiers? Is this supposed to make the guest feel less disoriented somehow? Why would a hotel invest good money in creating synthetic experiences? At what point does the visitor experience move from the realm of clever into the realm of Disneyworld?

The Scandic Hotel Berlin is a nice comfortable place to ponder all of these questions. A large banner next to reception touts the hotel’s green credentials: how many gazillion trees they have saved by putting all the guest information on your TV monitor instead of a printed book, how much wasted plastic they avoid by having a mounted soap dispenser in the shower rather than those little collectable bottles rattling around in the bottom of my gym bag. Jostling for attention with this “eco-friendly” identity is a “Scandinavian” one: conference rooms on one floor are called "Stockholm," "Copenhagen," etc; on another floor they are named after forest animals: “Bear,” “Elk,” “Red Fox.” The forest-like “elevator experience,” with a photo of a leafy canopy overhead and recorded loop of bird calls, had more than one of my colleagues warily searching the corners for real birds.

This is not the only “Scandinavian” hotel I have stayed in recently (see also my review of the UNA Hotel Scandinavia in Milano). And the Moevenpick Hotel not far from this one in Berlin offers guests a “Swiss” experience. Presumably, we travelers appreciate things that signify organization, and consensus, and high taxes. One doesn’t encounter many “Nicaraguan”-themed hotels.

But let’s not get too cynical about all this. This is a comfortable, reliable hotel in a great neighborhood in Berlin. The bed was extraordinarily nice. Food was well above average for a hotel of this size. The staff was friendly and unobtrusive. And it’s walking distance from Potzdamer Platz, with much to offer tourists and business travelers alike. Some of the conveniences of larger and presumably less eco-friendly chains were missed (e.g., no complimentary shaving cream for people like me who forgot to pack theirs), and the gym on the 8th floor was a little sparse and awkwardly laid-out (I didn’t shell out the 15EUR for a day pass to the probably-much-nicer Holmes Place down on the 1st floor). But on the whole I wouldn’t hesitate at allto recommend this hotel for business and/or pleasure.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the big Pfizer office building across the square aren't the best for privacy, so ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your thoughts about our hotel.
It is very nice to hear that you recommend our hotel for both business and leisure guests. Scandic is a Scandinavian hotel chain. Therefore our design and atmosphere is very Scandinavian as well as our sustainable philosophy.
We hope to welcome you again soon in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is located in the central area of Berlin (Mitte) right next to a metro station and a short walk from Potsdamer Platz. It seems to be in a newly developed area, and the street outside was very quiet.

The room I recieved was large with two twin beds, lots of floor space and a large bathroom. There is a minibar in the room, but without any contents. You have to purchase that yourself at the lobby kiosk or from an outside store. Convenient if you are on a budget, but a bit annoying when you have to leave your room and go back to the lobby to purchase a mineral water or chocolate.

The hotel has a fitness room, but I did not have the chance to use it. They also promoted access to the Spa next door at a discounted rate.

Breakfast was good, typical scandinavian with a large buffet with lots of different selections.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor.
In our Standard category the minibar is empty. However, we do provide a bottle of water on the arrival day. From our Superior category on the minibar is filled and included in the rate. It gets filled every day as well.
We would very much welcome you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked this Hotel for a business meeting and overall everything was very good. A fresh Hotel with nice interior and also our meeting room had a terrace outside which is superb when you have short brake. The location is not very close to all famous sightseeing objects but communication is good and taxis not extremely expensive. Last but not least the staff was very helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scandicberlin, Director of Sales at Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and your positive thoughts about our hotel.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz

Address: Gabriele-Tergit-Promenade 19, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#44 Business Hotel in Berlin
#46 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#53 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back in 1993, Scandic started developing what has become the industry's leading sustainability program. Inteligent services and barrier free hotels are focus of Scandic as well as healthy food and fitness in an inspirational surrounding. Up from 2009 strong relationship to Jamie Oliver.Short Facts – 561 rooms, 1 ball room (up to 500 people) and 17 function rooms, restaurant, bar, lobby bar, kids corner, gym and Holmes Place Life Fitness.7 event locations for up to 1500 delegates are within walking distance.Connection to ICC congress center and Olympic stadium via underground close by the hotel. Most of Berlin's sights are within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Berlin Potsdamer Platz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.