We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern designer hotel in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte

Save Saved
You added COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Spittelmarkt 13, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Modern designer hotel in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hotel is in the middle of the city, but in a quiet neighborhood. A subway stop is across the street. Our room was large with lots of light and a beautiful bathroom. Staff friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was fantastic. A very good, gourmet restaurant is a block away, The Rotisserie Weingrun. Also, several good restaurants one U Bahn stop away in Gemende Markt. Hotel charges for WIFI but it is very fast. Parking was 17.50 eu per day. Be aware, the hotel is built over a subway station. If your room is on a lower floor (ours was on the third floor) you can here the low rumble of the trains. For us it was not objectionable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    298
    195
    33
    6
    1
See reviews for
36
242
29
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

As far as the hotel itself goes, top marks. Friendly staff, good amenities, spacious rooms. Maid service was a little confusing in that they didn't take a bag full of rubbish like empty water bottles (I guess because they thought it was something we wanted to keep).

Don't bother with the €18 per person breakfast. Grab a bike for the day and get recommendations from the front desk on breakfast spots and make that your first stop. I think it is generally a crime to eat at a hotel everyday for breakfast when there are some many good cares around.

While it is definitely not in the middle of everything like the shops or restaurants it is only a short bike ride away and cabs are relatively inexpensive here.

I would probably stay somewhere closer to the action like Casa Camper when I go back but this is definitely a nice hotel nonetheless.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

As a budget design hotel in a convenient location with competent and friendly staff, this gets top marks. The Cosmo had bicycles for rent that were in very good condition and their breakfast buffet was lovely and reasonably priced. The front desk made fantastic suggestions (and reservations) for restaurants. We had no problems with anything in our room (beds were comfy and all the plumbing worked just fine). We'll definitely stay here on our next trip to Berlin.

Room Tip: We had a corner room on the 4th floor facing Spittlemarkt (busy street) and did not notice any stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This Hotel was nearly worth 5 points.

The reasons why I don't give a 5 star rating are:
- The service was friendly, nice and competent, however it was not a 5* luxury service meaning it does not receive 5 stars from me.
- The shower, while the Bathroom was large enough and impeccably clean the shower was...the water temperature kept changing (room 801) from boiling hot to nicely warm and back to boiling. Sadly I had no time to tell management that the shower was behaving in such a way.

Otherwise the Hotel is really nicely furnished and has a Metro Station just in front (line U2). The View from the top floors is spectactular!!!

Having stayed at some Hotels in Berlin (as the Holiday Inn or the Palace Hotel), I have to say that this one is the first one to have a great price performance ratio!!! I'll come back and will hope to get a room with a functionning shower...

Room Tip: Room 801 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Junior Manager Convention Sales at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear Jules_wanderlust,

thank you for a great review including pictures and for your honest feedback!

Thank you for informing us about the shower - which was immediately checked by our technician -

We hope to welcome you again - this time with a functioning shower ;-)

Kind regards,

The COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at Cosmo Hotel. The room I had was very small, but modern and very nicely appointed. The rates are very reasonable for what you get, which is a comfortable spot in what I would say is a nice budget design hotel in the heart of the city. Beds were lovely and very comfortable (I kept sleeping in!).

The location in Mitte is excellent and was a perfect base for exploring the city for the my first visit to Berlin. I rented a bike from the hotel on two of the days there and it was so convenient for seeing all of the places I wanted to go. Above all, it was the service and helpfulness of the staff that really made my visit extremely wonderful. Everyone was very accomodating and happy to help with any questions that I had.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Junior Manager Convention Sales at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear LCY,

Thank you for your review and your positive feedback!

We hope to welcome you again soon for your next visit in Berlin!

The COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
155 helpful votes 155 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I really loved the Cosmo hotel. It is very modern, rooms are comfortable and the location is great - within walking distance to most Berlin attractions and across the street from a U-Bahn station should you need to travel farther. Also the staff is great - very welcoming, helpful and nice.
We did have a couple of maintenance issues (dysfunctional air condition in one room, bad shower head in another) which took longer than expected to fix (and required multiple notifications), but overall t was a great stay an given their reasonable pricing - I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I don't even know where to start with this hotel. The rooms are badly insulated from a very noisy street right below, on top of that there were no curtains in the room so the blinds that were on the outside the window offered little protection from the sun. So if we were not awake because of the noise, the light would wake us. It's marketed as a 'design' hotel' yet the room were just basic, not minimalist. The breakfast is way overpriced. The location is good, but everything else was disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COSMO_Hotel_Berlin, Junior Manager Convention Sales at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jana007_008,

We regret to hear that you felt disappointed by the sleeping quality from your stay at COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte.

All of our rooms have sound proof windows, controllable external electric blinds and a climatronic cooling and heating system.

We have five different room categories which all vary to a certain extend.

We hope that for your next visit a different room category will ensure a comfortable stay.

Please contact our reservations department to discuss room features of each category. We are certain we will be able to find a perfect match for you!

You can contact us via Email: reservation@cosmo-hotel.de

Kind regards,

COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte

Address: Spittelmarkt 13, 10117 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosmo Hotel Berlin Mitte is a newly opened member of Design Hotels TM. It is the perfect urban retreat for travelers who appreciate individualized style, design and hospitality. It caters for business and leisure travelers alike.Located between Alexander Platz and Potsdamer Platz and Friedrichstrasse. The underground station U2 Spittelmarkt is in front of the hotel.At the Cosmo, the guest experience is all about comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage COSMO Hotel Berlin Mitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.