We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding German Cuisine!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Leibniz Klause

Leibniz Klause
57 Mommsenstasse, 10629 Berlin, Germany
030 323 70 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #971 of 5,941 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Zurich
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Outstanding German Cuisine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

The concierge of our hotel recommended 'Leibniz Klause' when we asked him about a place in Berlin offering German cuisine. It was within walking distance in the neighborhood (Charlottenburg).

The place: a cozy guest room, tables classically set in white.

It was very hot when we visited and there was no A/C or fan on (they had A/C!) or a window open anywhere. Just the front door stood open.

When reading the menu we were a bit skeptical about what to expect, everything sounded like traditional German home cooking, which it was. BUT at a very high level. The food was excellent and portions more than generous. My husband, who had wine, quite enjoyed it.

Some of the guests - mainly tourists from Asia and America - asked for ridiculous favors. Still, we were surprised seeing waiters grimace at the back of guests and mutter their discontent into their beards.

What really embarrassed us though was the obvious disappointment of our waiter at our generous tip. Not sure, if we'll be back, even though the food was outstanding.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Love the food and the service! I recommend it! I ate the Berliner leber and was great. The waiter was very nice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Terrible Service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Recomended by Hotel. What an error. We requested a restaurant with air condition since temperture was very hot, they said it was available. Got there, they had an a/c but was not on because doors were open due to summer. Why they have it for? We requested table for six outside, they said tables were for 4. After arguing with waiter they accept to put a 2 person table next to the 4 person table available. By the way there were plenty of outside tables available. Finnaly we sat. Bad start. Waiter was non cooperative to start with. Food was average. Wine was good . Is never good to antagonize clients when in hospitality business. Manager was not around. I suppose our waiter was not the manager. To finish, a little mouse was running back and forth thru tables. That was it , I decided to stand up and ask for check. Eventhough we were the last table in restaurant waiter never notice nor ask what was going on. Terrible service. I will not recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

In search of good German cooking, our hotel concierge recommended this place. Service couldn't be better. It was the food we disliked. There is much better food to be had in Berlin - stay away from this place.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The Concierges favourite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It seems that if you are looking for a traditional German restaurant in Berlin it is more than likely that the concierge at your hotel will recommend this place. I wonder why?
Take my advice find you own German eaterie in Berlin. There are hundreds.

Food was good but nothing extraordinary; service was disdainful and by the end of my visit it was almost non existent. Would you like a taxi? Actually, yes.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leibniz Klause also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Leibniz Klause? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leibniz Klause, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.