We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leibniz Klause

Leibniz Klause
57 Mommsenstasse, 10629 Berlin, Germany
030 323 70 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #975 of 5,944 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Had both a real good dinner, everything fresh made and well served. Could eat tonight outside, so a real experience. Really a restaurant to go to, setup hereby recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“German cuisine without the tourist trappings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Based on the recommendations from the concierge at our hotel, we enjoyed a delicious yet pricey meal of local Berlin cuisine. We arrived 2 hours earlier than our scheduled 8PM dinner reservation and were escorted into an intimate and empty dining room adjacent to the bar where patrons were enjoying happy hour. Our waiter was extremely attentive and suggested that we choose a portion of the asparagus that were in season, as he stated that they were the best in Berlin. He also assisted us with the entrée choice of pork loin and the accompanying German Chardonnay. The dining area was quite romantic with ample natural lighting and a selection of fresh floral arrangements with a small table that included a selection of liqueurs and local schnapps. The wine was quite enjoyable and we were served a basket of bread with a delicious spread while waiting for our entrée. The pork loin and asparagus were very well prepared and paired with a delightful hollandaise sauce. My husband enjoyed the schnapps and we were too full to order dessert. For those willing to part with 100 euros for a dinner for two, this is a great choice.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heaping amount of German Deliciousness!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We wanted an authentic German food experience (not a crowded touristy sausage and beer joint) and this place fit the bill!! Located in a lovely neighborhood just southwest of the city center sits this family owned little gem of a German food experience. The waiter was extremely friendly and helpful, the decor was tasteful and the place had an overall good ambiance, not too pretentious but not too basic. I had the pork loin with spatzle. The amount of food was very generous and I had to force myself to stop eating before getting the spatzle sweats. My partner went mostly to humour me as she doesn't eat meat and is a rather picky eater. She had the salmon and potatoes and said that it was fine... but this is not their specialty, so I can't rate them by this dish, just stick with the German Specialties menu and you will be more than satisfied!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic, German, Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I have eaten at this restaurant a couple of times when visiting Berlin. First time I was given a recommendation by the concierge at the hotel I was staying at. When travelling I always enjoy eating local food - I mean, If you visit Germany you really don't want pizza and Chinese food every day.
This is the real thing: Very German, authentic food, lots of locals dining there. Authentic German means you can arrive hungry because portions are large, food is honest and traditional , and service is very correct but friendly Get a traditional German dish, beer or try one of the excellent dry Riesling wines. There is also a good selection of the typical German fruit flavored liquors- highly recommended with the dessert. Prices are very reasonable.

Good place for a long evening with friends or spouse. Not typical casual, and not overly formal atmosphere. This is a restaurant I will return to when I go back to Berlin.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Everything was just perfect. Highly recommended.
Tried salmon and herring for cold starters and Fillet-Pot „Leibniz-Klause“ - excellent.
Service was also very good. Definetly will come back there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leibniz Klause also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Leibniz Klause? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leibniz Klause, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.