We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, hearty German cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leibniz Klause

Leibniz Klause
57 Mommsenstasse, 10629 Berlin, Germany
030 323 70 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #975 of 5,944 Restaurants in Berlin
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Good value, hearty German cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This was a recommendation from the concierge at the Intercontinental & a very good choice too. Despite this being a busy Saturday evening we were given a booth/table for 4 - we had a booking for 2100 at which time the restauarant was about 40% full, but this rose to about 90% by 2130. My spoken German is pretty poor, but we had excellent service from our waitress who spoke excellent English - a real treat as in London I'm not used to getting such good service in English!!

The menu is very varied...the shrimp soup/krabbensuppe is excellent. The main courses are very generous portions & we both forewent dessert as a result.

Good value too - 2 starters. 2 mains, 4 beers, 2 coffees = €65

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    39
    5
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to eat and entertain clients - authentic German food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

I took a recommendation from the Hotel Concorde about where to take 25 people for dinner whilst at a conference. I arrived the day before and went for lunch to make sure it was unto scratch.

We had the whole place nearly to ourselves, the food was excellent and really authentic German. The wines and drinks were very well priced but what impressed me the most was the service. We were looked after once waiter called Andreas who was outstanding, I couldn't believe he looked after so many of us so perfectly.

I have re booked for our conference in 2013 - Thanks

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley,West Sussex
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Good for traditional Germain fare served in a very local restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Loved the very local nature of this place - all very hussle and bussle - loads of germans all eating Winter Cusine ( mainly Goose ) Glad I booked through the hotel - top end prices for what it is - the goose breast was euro 25 - the red cabbage and dumplings grest the Stewed Kale was impossibly saltly and when we questioned the Chef/owner Pierre said he would check it out - but never returned! There was a lot of Beer and Digestivs being drunk - many by Pierre at the tables as he sliced whole Goose at the bigger tables. I loved the Black Pudding,Potato and Wild Mushroom soup - but if I went again would opt for just a main as dishes are large and filling .

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villanova, Pennsylvania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good German food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011 via mobile

Like a previous reviewer, we were sent here when we couldn't get into Marjellchan, so I can't compare the two. That said, we enjoyed a fine German meal in a traditional setting. Our waiter was exceptionally attentive even though the place was full. so, don't be disappointed if you don't get a reservation at Marjellchan. Go here happily.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“OK but not as good as another nearby restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This restaurant was recommended by the concierge at our hotel. It happened to be just a short way from another German restaurant that we had tried a couple of days previously. The food here was just OK. We were disappointed because we were comparing it to Marjelichen.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leibniz Klause also viewed

Berlin, Germany
 

Been to Leibniz Klause? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leibniz Klause, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.