We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WiFi free review!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ivbergs Premium

Save Saved
You added Ivbergs Premium to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Ivbergs Premium
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleiststrasse. 9-12 | Schöneberg, 10787 Berlin, Germany (Schöneberg)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 665 hotels in Berlin
Taunton, England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WiFi free review!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We enjoyed a 5 night stay here from 9 June and I can agree with most of the positive comments already posted. The reception staff were pleasant and helpful and spoke good English, after my feeble attempt on arrival to converse in German! The room was more than adequate being of a decent size and having an excellent toilet and shower facility. Being very critical I would say the hotel is comparable to a very good quality 3* in the UK, but that does not in any way detract from the quality of the hotel. We had no problem with the corridor lights being movement activated & thought it a good idea. Our room was at the back so very quiet providing a good night’s sleep. The star of the stay was undoubtedly the breakfast which was plentiful and provided excellent choice to suit all palates. Anyone who doesn’t find the breakfast suitable is being over critical, so book B&B. Location is good being midway between Wittenbergplatz and Nollendorfplatz tubes stations, plus good link to Tegel via X9 bus and U2 tube. Plenty of restaurants nearby within 15 minutes walk; San Marco Italian (opposite), Schwabisches (Viktoria-Luise-Platz) and Faustus (Wittenbergplatz), both German, and the outstanding Saigon & More (Vietnamese) on Geisbergstrasse advise booking, so good we went twice! As mentioned by others the souvenirs in the hotel are reasonably priced too.
I would, without a hesitation, book the hotel again and recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back were quiet and prebook a non-smoking room if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    201
    56
    8
    8
See reviews for
42
274
33
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We went on a 3 night break to this hotel.The bedrooms were well designed and the beds most comfortable.Everything was immaculate and the staff very helpful and efficient.The breakfasts were made up of a very varied menu with both hot and cold items on offer.THe location of the hotel was ideal for exploring Berlin.The Wittenbergplatz U Bahn station was less than 5 minutes walk away from the hotel and had direct links to the major places of interest in the city.There was a lovely square beside the station with very friendly cafes around it.All inall a great hotel as a base for a quick visit.

Room Tip: Preferred for us a room at the back as Kleistrasse is a fairly busy street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Berlin is an inexpensive city and this hotel is no different. We had a very good quality room for a very reasonable price. The location is great as well, near the old West Berlin centre as well as public transport, restaurants and a supermarket. The hotel is also close to, but not in, one of the gay districts of Berlin. The service from the staff at the reception did not match up to expectation, though.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked this hotel using AVIOS points and would thoroughly recommend it. It's in a great position for Underground and buses, especially bus 100 which is fantastic for tourists. It's almost opposite KaDeWe if you like shopping. Highlights are the excellent breakfasts, the friendly staff who all say "hello" and the free wifi in the reception area / residents lounge.

Room Tip: We had a very quiet room on the first floor facing the car park
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Pretty impressed with this place. There was a problem with our booking (think this was because of an error by Booking agent rather than the hotel). The member of staff on reception booked us in anyway and got it all sorted without any fuss.
Location is pretty good. Berlin's too large to walk to all the sightseeing spots, so you'll need to use the U-Bahn. This hotel is right by one of the most useful U-Bahn lines. It's also really easy to get to from Tegel Airport. Just use the X9 bus to get onto the U-Bahn system and you're sorted.
Breakfast was good, too.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I found the hotel to be very quiet and was able to sleep very well.
The rooms are comfortable, just missing tea/coffee making facilities.
I wouldn't describe the hotel as luxurious, but it is very comfortable, extremely clean and well maintained.
Breakfast is really good - served from 06:30 to 10:30 daily - lots of choice including bacon, scrambled eggs, sausages, pancakes - Cereals, yogurt, many kinds of breads, croissants, danish. Cooked meats and cheese and a wide variety of fresh fruit. It costs €17.00 per person, so I would suggest booking a rate which includes this.
Friendly staff on reception and at breakfast.
Location makes it very easy to travel around Berlin, nearest U-Bahn station is Nollendorfplatz.
Will definitely stay there again...and again.

Room Tip: For a quieter room, ask for one at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herning, Denmark
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We had 3 nights at this hotel, and was looking very much forward to the visit, as it had a lot of possitive feedbacks in the reviews af tripadvisor. And most of it is also the experiense we had after our visit at Ivbergs Premium.
But there was 2 things we for sure didnt like - 1 of them was pretty important.
The positive things about this hotel is here:
Location is great, near everything in West-Berlin. There is 2 U-bahns within 5 mins walk, and Berlin Zoo is 15 mins walk away. Just across the street there is a gay neighborhood, which has some great and different shops and the restaurants is serving good food to a good price.
Parking at the hotels garage is super, to a very good price - 10 euros pr. night is not at all bad in Berlin.
The rooms are big and very nice looking and clean, with big bathrooms/toilets. There is also tv, desk and 2 chairs.
We tried the Roomservice, and the BIG sandwich with ham and cheese was fantastic for a very good price (5,50 euros).
Best of all, was the breakfast buffet, which was big and plenty of everything. The staff at the breakfast-room was fantastic and made sure that you felt welcome.
A + is also the free wifi at the rooms, but it is so slow that we would prefere to pay for a connection that actually was usefull.
And now comes the reason for the low score:
We had a room facing the 3 lanes street (Kleiststrasse), and this street has very heavy trafic 24/7. Especially in night time there is a lot of bikes speeding and firetrucks WITH horns. The windows dont take that much of the noice, so we nearly didnt sleep at all (In beds that where a bit hard to sleep in, what some people like - we dont!).
We went to the reception to ask for a room facing the backside, so we would maybe get a little bit of sleep, and in the reception we met the other reason why we cant recommend this hotel.
The people working in reception is clearly giving different service if you are a businessman/woman or a tourist.
We thought that Euros had the same value no matter who spent them, but apparently not!
Every time we had questions or needed help/advice about exploring Berlin, they had a face like "Why dont you just find another hotel, this is not for people who dont wear suits". Really arrogant attitude. And we thought it was maybe all guests who got this attitude, but at 2 times we saw people in suits getting a total different service, and actually a smile from the staff. It was in all 4 different people we talked to in reception, so we maybe think that this is the general attitude towards tourists.
When we checked out (And paid some euros for the roomservice) there was no "Goodbye" or "We hope you have enjoyed your stay".
So of course we didnt get another room, when we asked for this in the reception (Maybe it really was full booked - we dont know).
But if you can live with the above, please book a room at this hotel, because everything else was great.
We will for sure never go there again, as there is many better options in Berlin.

Room Tip: Get a room NOT facing Kleiststrasse!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ivbergs Premium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ivbergs Premium

Address: Kleiststrasse. 9-12 | Schöneberg, 10787 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Schöneberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#37 Best Value Hotel in Berlin
#56 Luxury Hotel in Berlin
#59 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ivbergs Premium 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, EasyToBook, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ivbergs Premium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ivbergs Premium Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ivbergs Premium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.