We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Building; Disappointing Hangings” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Neues Museum

Neues Museum
Bodestrasse 1-3, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
49(0)30 266 42-4242
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Neues Museum like an insider
Private Tour
$44*
and up
Private Tour: Berlin Architecture Tour
Ranked #29 of 999 things to do in Berlin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: this is the Egyptian Collection which was moved into the Neues Museum 4 weeks ago. it was previously closed for 10years.
Puget Sound
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Lovely Building; Disappointing Hangings”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We understood this museum picked up where the Alte National Gallerie left off, but on our visit all of the Expressionism et alia were somewhere else. For those in search of post WWII or later, it likely would be a treat.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    463
    140
    30
    22
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
89 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
172 helpful votes 172 helpful votes
“A fitting home for Queen Nefertiti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Although the museum has been open now for a few years, this was my first visit to the reconstructed museum as usually, the wait in the queue for tickets was too long! However this time there were only 4 people in front of me (possibly because it was snowing at the time!) and the ticket allowed me immediate entry.
The museum hasn't been completely restored as the architect has left much of the damage caused by the bombing during WW II and the subsequent neglect by the East German Government, on show with a few rooms restored to their (more or less) full glory. But it is good to see all the artifacts now beautifully displayed in one place. The star of the museum has to be the wonderful bust of Queen Nefertiti - displayed on its own in a small domed room - and what an impression she makes even after several thousand years! But there are many other treasures - the collection of papyrus documents are fascinating as are the sarcophagi and the decorated mummy cases. And don't forget the gold treasure from Troy - even though the Russians stole most of the treasure at the close of WW II, there is still enough displayed to take your breath away! There really is too much to list here but if ancient history is your interest, this is a museum not to be missed! By the way, when you buy a Berlin Welcome Card, tell them that you want to visit the museums and for this museum, you only have to pay a small surcharge - the other museum entries are free.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“boring”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

after the pergamon this was a waste of time. just trinkets and bits and bobs. audio tour not that good, tho free. gets a bit boring.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“An Intriguing Reconstruction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Neue Museum--which will display Nofretete's bust for the next few years--is well worth a visit, not only for its holdings but also for the architect's attempt at leaving much of the damaged areas clearly visible, with only a few rooms restored to the late 19th-century decoration (which may be just as well ...).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“okay, nothing overally special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went here as it was covered in our musuem pass, however were told we had to wait in the que (40 mins) and then pay extra to get in. not impressed.


The exhibits were okay, i dont think they were as interesting and engagaing as other musuems and we seemed to find a lacking of signs in english.

The musuem is big but i dont think all of it is as interesting as others, leaving dull patches were you are stuck looking a bits of rock in german.

I wouldnt pay to get in here again as i dont think they musuem showed any unqueness (apart from the content of egyptian) to any other musuem. I was dissapointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neues Museum also viewed

 

Been to Neues Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neues Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.