We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good facilities, decent service.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof to your Saves list
MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, 10557 Berlin, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #354 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great location, good facilities, decent service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Fantastic location right next to Berlin's central station. Loads of taxis outside as well. Decent kitchen available for making meals in. The bar downstairs is convenient too. Fairly oriented towards German-speaking customers and the staff weren't the most helpful bunch, but at least they all speak English. Definitely not a hostel though even though we found it on hostelworld. Small, tidy room with nice bunk beds and a clean bathroom.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    292
    154
    60
    59
See reviews for
112
126
120
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dalyellup wa
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hostel is like is cattle station, it is only for a overnight stay between stops on the train . It is located next to main train station and there are no shops or things to do. This is not for families with kids it is just a back backers hostel. We stayed in a for bed room which is smaller than a prison cell. It had four bunk beds and there is about half metre between beds. The size of this room should be against building regulations , when we first opened the door we just laughed and said that this is a joke.

Room Tip: Do not choose a four bed room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. MEININGER focus on rooms in very central position for great prices and also with high standard facilities.

We look forward to welcome you again some day in one of our hotels in Europe.

All the best

Your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hostel is placed perfectly to the main station and all the attractions are just a short walking distance. It's easy to get a taxi and the busses drive next to the hostel. The hostel has good equipment for young travellers and backpackers. Own guest kitchen and other facilities.
The breakfast is cheap and tasty. We asked kindly for help to order a table for dining in a different restaurant but they didn't want to help us with that. The service was also very little helpful when we asked them to serve us some drinks. There were 3 Resepsjon workers and the bar worker was away and it was not possible to get any service.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

thank you for taking the time to rate us!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate that you point out our very central location.
We also apologize for our staff - usally we all try give our best to make the guest feeling comfortable as much as it is possible.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards
your Meininger-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Right next to the Main Train Station. Perfect when you arrive in Berlin by train. Easy access to public transport.
Small room but spotlessly clean. Only spent a few hours there since we were out on the town day and night.
Lovely friendly attentive staff.
The rooms have WiFi.
There is a large lounge but it is very busy and full of boisterous youthful travellers.
Just the place if you are in Berlin for a few sightseeing days. I would go back.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your good and honest feedback.

You are always welcome at MEININGER Hotels.

Best wishes
your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed in here for 3days. Consequently? I couldn't sleep for whole day! There are lots of bedburgs small and big things.

Heater doesn't work well and it was cold in the room. Wifi is almost like snail. There are more better hostel or hotel in the city !!!!

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel was literally at the doorstep of berlin main station. Staying at the main station is really accessible and the main station has 2 to 3 huge supermarkets. The hotel staff were really friendly and since we arrived too early for check in that day we were allowed to store our bags in their storeroom. My boyfriend and I chose the private room for 2. I was quite impressed with the cleanliness of the place. well the only downside to it was that 1 out of the 2 beds we had was dirty. The bedsheet seemed to be of different quality and cleanliness as compared to the other one.

Other than that I will definitely recommend those who were visiting Berlin for the first time and are travelling on their own. It feels really safe here. But anyway do take note of the trains going to the airport, because we almost missed our flight to venice :( The train which was scheduled to arrive at 4.30am didn't even arrive until 4.50pm. Anyway it takes around 1 hour plus to reach the airport, so do take note of this if you are heading to the airport really early. Anyway we found out from the locals that the drivers were on strike! anyway all the locals we met were really nice! just that communication in berlin was a little difficult as not many people could converse in English.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your honest and detailed review!
We are glad that you enjoyed Berlin and your stay at our MEININGER Hotel.
We look forward to welcome you again.

All the best your M-Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a terrible experience when I stay at the Meininger Hotel for 5 days in October. I arrived early and the room wasn't ready , so they offered to put my luggage on the storage room. A group of tourist leaving that day had their luggage in the same room and they took mine by mistake. I spent a week in a Berlin with nothing but my wallet and passport.

I was very disappointed by the Hotel's attitude towards the incident. The staff rotates from one day to another and every day I had to update each one of them about the incident, which means no one in specific was following the case. These are the remarks of the situation:
1. They put everyone's luggage in a room that they consider "public" and they don't make them selves responsible of any lost. They give you a tag that was completely useless because they don't check who goes in and out of the room.
2. After the luggage was located in Poland, they couldn't even cover the shipping to send the luggage back to me. Their attitude was very rude and I quote "Unfortunately the group refuses to pay for the transport of your bags since they assumed they had the luggage room to themselves and our management also denied the assumption of the costs. We would kindly ask you to get in touch with the contact person in Poland in order to find out about the handling and payment."

In summary I paid around ~400euros to stay there, and the shipping of the luggage costed me 430euros more. Not counting the waste of time (the luggage arrived at my house 1 month after) and effort of the people in Poland who had to prepare the shipment for me.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MEININGERHotels, Guest Relations Manager at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Dear guest,

thanks for your feedback.

We are sorry that you were not satisfied with your stay and that there was a problem with your luggage. My colleagues at the hotel tried their best to help you and to get in touch with the group that took your luggage.

We do not take over any liability for the luggage rooms, but we are very sorry that somebody took your luggage.

Best, the MEININGER team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof

Address: Ella-Trebe-Strasse 9, 10557 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #354 of 662 Hotels in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof 3*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There couldn't be a more central location than by the main railway station. Eight bus lines, subways and city trains and countless regional and long-distance railways meet here. The hotel is thus ideally positioned for exploring the whole city. The panorama roof terrace affords spectacular views of Berlin. Our international guests benefit from free WiFi and meet up in the lobby, hotel bar, guest kitchen and the gaming area in a relaxed atmosphere. What more do you want? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEININGER Hotel Berlin Hauptbahnhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.