We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great rooms, great food.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PLUS Berlin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added PLUS Berlin to your Saves list
PLUS Berlin
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Warschauer Platz 6, 10245 Berlin, Germany (Friedrichshain)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great rooms, great food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms were spacious and comfortable. High ceilings and huge windows looking into a courtyard. The bathrooms were large and clean. This hotel is really close to the warschauerstrabe subway station. Very convenient location. The free breakfast in the morning is average. The restaurant for dinner is very nice. Good food and reasonably priced. Wide range of activites to do including the indoor swimming pool and pool table. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    370
    87
    19
    24
See reviews for
97
264
70
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We went to Berlin in March 2013 and stayed at this hotel/hostel. We had a twin/double room, which on arrival the beds where seperate (we pushed them together). The room was clean and tidy. The staff at reception were very helpful and organised airport transfers for us at €14pp. Our room was cleaned daily. The hotel was 1 min walk from the closest metro station, which was great to get around at €6.50 a day for unlimited travel, so location of this hotel was great. We had a room close to the lift so it could be a little noisy of a night with other guests travelling to and from rooms but it was relatively acceptable, it didn't disturb are sleep too much. Overall - Our stay in Berlin was affordable and great for what we wanted. If I came to Berlin again I would recommend staying here as long as you don't mind jumping on the metro to sightsee.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The real PLUS about this place is that it is both a hostel and hotel, so for hostel prices you get access to hotel facilities. It's bright and modern, huge, has nice rooms and a great restaurant and indoor pool. There is a large outdoor garden with interesting sculptures in it. There is a laundry with washing machines and driers, but they're expensive (€4 per machine, and it only accepts €1 and €2 coins). The pool is freezing but it looks amazing, and there's a sauna in the same area. Unlike many large hotels there are bathrooms all over the place, which is good when you have been partaking in the national German sport of beer-drinking. The restaurant staff get completely overwhelmed when large groups come in, so if you are a solo traveller be aware that when Top Deck and Expat Tours come through you'll be waiting a while to get served at thge bar, or receive your food. Once it arrives, though, the food is excellent. The hostel has a few nightclubs nearby, but it's easy to jump on the U/S-Bahn and go out for the night.

Room Tip: Three-person rooms are better in terms of space than four-person ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Great hostel. The instructions to get to the hostel from SXF Airport were precise and easy to follow. I found it with no trouble.
The neighbourhood seems safe enough and is a short walk away from the East Side Gallery/Berlin Wall.
Other attractions are easy to get to by train. Warschauerplatz train station is a five minute walk away, where both U-bahn and S-bahn train lines are available.
The staff are polite but not as warm and helpful as at another hostel I've stayed in.
There was no tourist information given to me on arrival and I felt as if I had to figure it all out myself.
The hostel is huge and has a hotel section as well.
The onsite restaurant is ok. The menu is mostly Italian with a few German dishes. The first meal I had there wasn't very good. On another night I had pizza there, this was better.
The breakfast buffet for €6 is good but I think you can only go to the buffet once so you have take all you think you want in one go on very tiny plates.
The room I shared with three other girls was clean and spacious with cupboards provided. The room was chilly in the day time but got extremely (unbearably) hot at night. The beds were a bit hard but ok.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

I usually don't stay in hostels, but stayed here 2 nights as a stop during a Contiki tour. From the minute you walk in the door it's extremely evident this place is not your average hostel. It's bright and modern, not to mention a huge place. I think it was a converted factory, so it still has a little bit of an industrial feel. This is a huge benefit in the rooms because it allows them to have high ceilings and large windows - a definitely bonus in a hostel.

Our room had 2 sets of solid wood bunks, each with power outlets and a light for each bed. The beds were solid and quiet, not like some hostels with cheap metal furniture that squeaks with every movement. There was adequate space for luggage with wardrobes outfitted to use locks with. The bathroom was huge, with a large walk in shower, it was spotless. Tons of hot water and good pressure also, another bonus in a hostel. There were good laundry facilities and a big indoor swimming pool (didn't get to use it, but looked clean and inviting!)

The restaurant on site was great! We arrived in the evening and had dinner here, it was great! The next day we chose to eat here again for dinner because it was convenient and I'm glad we did! I had a hawaiian pizza and it was fabulous! The guy who runs the bar (I'm sorry I can't remember his name!) was amazing, he had his own "signature cocktail" which he served by the jug and it was delicious! There was a courtyard with some artwork and statues in the middle of the property, and there were bunnies in a little fenced in area, very unique.

In terms of location, it's close to the main night club Matrix - right across the street. The club itself was crazy, packed with people, if it's your scene. It was nice and close to one of the main stretches of the Berlin Wall which is nice too. Overall I'd recommend this over and over again. For a non-hostel type traveler, I'd have no problem staying here again. Don't think twice about booking the Plus Berlin!

Room Tip: We had a room on the main floor, and it was a little noisy - request a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hostel for four nights, and we were extremely impressed with it. Some of the highlights were: cleanliness, helpful staff, restaurant and bar, laundry facilities, being cost effective and overall appeal. I would definitely return for another stay!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were greeted by no less than 20 police officers with police dogs congregating in reception and outside. That really should have given me a hint of what was to come. The police had been called as a large group of boys had been smoking in their rooms and causing trouble. Eventually thank god they were kicked out.
Our first room (of three) was spacious and clean. Initial impressions were ok. However it faced onto the front if the hotel. At night it was incredibly loud. The train line which is directly adjacent has trains running throughout the night every ten minutes. They can be heard and felt from the room. There is a nightclub at the end of the road open til 5 am which means drunken idiots come shouting and laughing at all hours past your window. Also the taxis and cars driving up and down the cobbled road are so loud these too are heard from the room.
To top off our first night not only was I kept awake by the above noises but also by a really loud school trip who thought that the corridors of the 'hotel' were places to sit, eat, joke around, run up and down and create as much noise as possible. Needless to say I got no sleep on the first night.
We asked to be moved to the rear if the hotel away from the noise. In fairness to the hotel they did move us, but to the 4th floor which had no heating except 1 plug in radiator and no lift after the 3rd floor. Well with a young child in a pushchair this was hardly convenient trying to get up and down the stairs with a pushchair ! So we asked to move again.
Third room was pokey and small. It had no heating again and no mirror. At least it was away from the main road. But yet again drunken idiots were running up and down the corridors all night, when the restaurant closed they emptied the bottle bin which was directly below our room so yet again I was kept awake for most of the night. In addition the beds were rock hard a creaked every time I moved.
If you want a place that classes itself as a hotel but is definitely a hostel with kids running around creating loads of noise then boom here. Otherwise get a decent hotel elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to PLUS Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PLUS Berlin

Address: Warschauer Platz 6, 10245 Berlin, Germany
Location: Germany > Berlin > Friedrichshain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — PLUS Berlin 3*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PLUS Berlin is the newest hostel/hotel in the PLUS chain. Due to open in March 2010 it will definitely be one of Europe's if not the world's best hostels with a pool, sauna, fitness centre, conference room, restaurant, bar and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your PLUS Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plus Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PLUS Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.