We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for Lunch or just Coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quchnia

Quchnia
Markgrafenstrasse 35, 10117 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #581 of 5,953 Restaurants in Berlin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mitte
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place for Lunch or just Coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We ate lunch here on the Sunday after a lovely weekend in Berlin before we had to leave for the airport. Inside has nice sofas and seating but we sat outside. We all had club sandwiches which were lovely. The place also does quiches and lovely looking cakes. We were tempted with cheesecake as it looked so good but couldn't fit it in. The day was a bit windy and they had left blankets on the chairs outside which were very handy for wrapping around our legs. Staff were all very friendly and more than happy to translate the menu which unfortunately were only in English on the door entrance and not on the typed menus. Good place to watch people going past.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    23
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lommel, Belgium
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch at a Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate lunch outside with a group of 5 people, on a sunny day. The menu has a lot of variety and is original. I ate a grilled sandwich with salad and cheese. The other 4 all ate a different quiche. We all loved it. The waiters were very friendly and professional. From the terrace you can watch the Berlin Dom and the Gendarmenmarkt - beautiful. Price was ok, too. Certainly go there if you are looking for an excellent bite around lunch time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz, Germany
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Always great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Quchnia offers very good breakfast and lunch foods in a super location. If the weather is good and you can sit outside, you have great view of the Gendarmenmarkt. But the abiente inside is also very nice. The collection of DVDs of East German movies is funny.
The food is super. I had the daily special soup twice, noth times excellent. I also had Quiche (three differen tcombinations every day) - cauliflower, goatscheese and chickpeas, which was deliciois as well as a large slice of fresh, dark, German bread with one of their homemade spreads. I'm sure the rest of the food is also top notch.
I know, I will come back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Toronto
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great place for coffee”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stop by for a coffee and quick snack after visiting Gendarmenmarkt. Laid back atmosphere with some comfortable armchairs and good view of Gendarmenmarkt in the front part of the cafe. Menu consisted of breakfast selections and sandwiches. The breakfast with scone and jam was tasty but nothing special. The chicken club sandwich had the thinnest slice of chicken and tomato with a piece of lettuce, tasted more like two pieces of toast, dry and tasteless, for 8 Euro. Prices were on the high side but considering the location, the cafe was very busy.

Would suggest go for coffee and maybe the breakfast but not for anything more substantial.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Perfect view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Perfect view of the square, the breakfast is not too bad (nothing special really), yummy coffee, worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quchnia also viewed

 

Been to Quchnia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quchnia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.