We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Request a room as far from the bar as possible” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hostel Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hostel Berlin to your Saves list
Grand Hostel Berlin
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Tempelhofer Ufer 14 | 10963 Berlin, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
San Diego, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Request a room as far from the bar as possible”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

They put us in room #9, the closest room to the bar, which is open 24 hours a day. Other guests were having a great time in this bar until 2 or 3am some of the nights we stayed there and I had to wear earplugs as a result.
There were lots of extra charges at check in that were not included in the original total, sheets and towels.
It was hard to figure out how to fill a water bottle back up with water because all the taps are set to mix hot water automatically (water is expensive to buy in Europe!).
Showers were on motion sensors so they kept turning off while you were trying to shower, were hard to turn off and then would randomly turn on when you were trying to get out of the shower and dry off. The wifi was spotty. Even when you had a decent signal it kept prompting you to login over and over in a 15 minute span.
Now for the good:
Rooms were very clean and well put together with well conditioned furniture. Staff was friendly and helpful. If you have the opportunity to get the breakfast at the neighboring restaurant 'Grand Ma' take it. Delicious and well worth the 5 euros we paid per person/day. We managed to eat so much here for breakfast we wouldn't be hungry until dinner each night. The hostel is in a great location, in the trendy Kreuzberg neighborhood but only a few Metro stops from the Brandenberg Gate, where most tours begin.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Hello there! Good to hear that you enjoed your stay all in all. ...and thanks a lot for all the hints - wich are very importend for us. The Grand Hotsel is not perfect yet and there are still things we need to work on. ...and we are learning day by day from our dear guests. Just come along next time and see if things are improvt. ;) Best regards from Berlin-Kreuzberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    118
    15
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
97
127
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Helpful staff, clean rooms and showers, nice bar and lobby area, convenient location, and good value for money... one of the best hostels I've stayed in. I think the restaurant/cafe next door is affiliated and the food there was good. Okay, it's not the most picturesque area, but there's a train station right opposite and it's only a short walk to many of the local sights. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Many thanks for the recommendation ;) & sunny regards from the Grand Hostel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Great stay. Staff were incredible welcoming and helped plan some things to do in Berlin that I had not thought of. Hostel was very clean, and had lots of atmosphere. Fantastic bar/lounge area (big chairs, nice room, huge bookshelf) with a great bartender, and the bar was open until 7am. Great hostel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Hi Sebas!
Best regards from the Grand Hostel team. We hope to see you again.
Berlin is so beautiful in springtime! Every year I fall in love again ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed for three nights in a double room with a private bathroom. We were greeted with tea/coffee on arrival and given a comprehensive list of suggestions for places to go (including many less obvious ones). The room itself was quiet, comfortable, clean and warm, despite freezing temperatures outside. Breakfast next door was reasonably priced, good quality and served in a friendly atmosphere. Although not directly in the city centre, the hostel is ideally placed for the U-Bahn and is within 15 minutes walk of Potsdamer Platz. Our concerns that we were too old to stay in a hostel were completely unfounded and we wholeheartedly recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Couldnt ask for anything more. Definitely more of a hotel then what is typically seen as a hostel.
The greeting was extremely friendly, given a hot drink on arrival and then sat down for a chat with the owner who gave us an excellent overview of what to do and where to go, making sure we avoided the tourist traps and saw the best that berlin had to offer. It was excellently situated right next to a u-bahn which was particualry good in the evenings as kotbusser tor and warschauer strasse were both on the same line and had really nice places to go out drinking, so really convenient to get back too easily.
The room and facilities were extremely clean and it was a great base to head back too and relax in. There were two of us and we stayed in a five bed dorm. We got great night sleeps and felt relaxed in the room. The free wifi was a good bonus.
The breakfast served in the little restaurant owned by the hostel next door was also very impressive. The buffet was reasonably priced when considering you could help yourself to as much as you like and there was a good variety of hot and cold food to chose from. Service again was really friendly and welcoming.
We did a guided tour organised with the hostel which really was excellent. The guide, an east berliner who was 16 at the time of the wall coming down, gave us a great insight in to life in berlin pre and post wall and again took us to parts of berlin that are less known which was excellent.

Overall a great hostel which is fantastic value for money. Will definitely be returning in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I went to the Grand Hostel last year with my boyfriend for four nights and had a lovely stay. Staff were really helpful, happy to serve you drinks at all hours of the night, help you suss out how to get around with a map and a free drink on arrival. Wifi in rooms and in computer room. Great breakfast buffet but 6 euros so maybe not every morning.
Not a party hostel and a bit out of the way so the location is not the best, but very clean, comfy beds, as pretty as a hotel but much better value! I would recommend it for couples but not for travelling alone or in a group of friends looking to party all the time, lovely romantic trip though.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Jordana, Thanks a lot for the compliment :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Firstly, the Grand Hostel is located near two tube stops (and one very good kebab place ;)). The hostel is very clean throughout and all the doors work with a personalised code, so no fear of losing room keys. The room was clean and comfortable and kept at a good temperature. Toilets were spotless and the showers were clean and private enough.

The bar has a happy hour between 4 and 6, perfect for a few 'pre evening' beers and all the staff were very chatty and friendly. If you speak to 'Morgan' behind the bar (South African chap), asking him to make a 'flaming senorita' shot for you and your friends. It's very tasty and involves a real bit of showmanship.

We didn't do it, but they offer free Pasta (and a glass of wine for €1) on wednesday nights, perfect for travellers on a budget to meet new people!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
joelue, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Grand Hostel Berlin, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Mmmmm - Flaming Senorita :)
Thanks for the photos!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14 | 10963 Berlin, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 323 Specialty Lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hello and Welcome to the "best Hostel in Germany" 2013 and the winner Hotel of the German VOX TV show "my divine Hotel" 2014. We are located very centrally in the heart of Berlin's Mitte Friedrichshain-Kreuzberg. We offer as well private rooms or luxurious dorm beds - just as your travel budget allows. Everyone is welcome at the Grand Hostel and we're looking forward to welcoming YOU soon! We grant the best prices always on our own webpage (Best Price Guarantee) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hostel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.