We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hostel Berlin

Save Saved
You added Grand Hostel Berlin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hostel Berlin
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany (Kreuzberg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 316 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Paris, France
1 review
“Top!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Nice, clean - and silent- room, a very cheerful yet efficient and helpful host. The brother "Grandwiches" restaurant tasty, nice and savy. Do you really want more? Location is calm and very convenient, although not specially nice. Automatic shower needs a little practice... but that's really all I find to criticize.

Room Tip: Room 106 is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    102
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
85
112
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A group of 18 of us stayed in the Grand Hostel in Berlin for New Year. The staff were really friendly, helping us find out about tours and giving directions to various clubs etc. The bar is amazing, it feels like you are in a beautiful hotel library with amazing gin and tonics and a great atmosphere. The beds are comfy, bathrooms clean and plentiful. Really good transport links and v easy to get to from the airport.

All in all I would recommend this hostel to anyone, and will likely be visiting again in the summer!

Thanks to all of the staff for a great trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I was in Berlin for an extended weekend and chose the Grand hostel after checking the reviews. This place is almost perfect for the traveller who is looking for a somewhat laid back but social place with easy access to public transport. The location does not have much nightlife and is relatively quiet. Eatouts like kebap and curry wurst are about a 5 - 10 min walk. There is a traditional german restaurant next door and you can order food to the pub or reception lobby. The pub near the reception is nice but somewhat small. Has a very cosy atmosphere and the beer is not very expensive. The staff are quite friendly and very helpful. Rooms are clean, neat and spacious with 2 electrical plugpoints at each bed. Bathrooms are clean and functional. All in all a great place which has a really social atmosphere.

If you have heavy luggage or have problems climbing stairs then try to get a room in the ground floor or 1st floor as there are no lifts and the ceiling is quite high.

Room Tip: There is no lift and the floors have a high ceiling. If your room is on the 3rd floor, carrying the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I would recommend this hostel to anyone travelling to Berlin. Up there with one of the best run and most welcoming hostels I've stayed in. It's also aesthetically pleasing with a good vibe in the communal areas.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very helpful, friendly and fun staff. Very clean rooms and facilities. Rooms are also very nice looking with plugs by every bed, comfy beds, bedside lights. Really couldn't have asked for more, especially for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This place was a great find! We stayed in a private double room with ensuite and it really was just as nice as staying in a hotel. I was surprised to find that we even had our beds made everyday! Grand Hostel Berlin staff make their best effort to ensure that your stay is comfortable and enjoyable. When you arrive you get a really nice welcome plus a free drink, which is nice if you've been on the road all day. They're super helpful and have great local knowledge as well. The U1 and U7 lines are literally a 2 minute walk away, which makes the rest of Berlin really accessible.
The only weird moment we had was with the housekeeping, twice we had cleaners barge into our room. They did knock but did not give us much warning to respond. However, it was just a bit of a misunderstanding and did not impact on our overall appreciation of this place. Also I think the price for the laundry was a bit steep 5.50 for a wash and dry.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the shared dorms, but the private rooms were great. If possible get one on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Honestly, Grand Hostel is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. We arrived at 7 am and were really tired after traveling all night, and even though the rooms usually aren't ready until 15-ish the staff talked to the cleaning ladies and made it possible for us to get the room as early as 12. Really nice of them.

The room was beyond all of my expectations. I've stayed in so many bad hostels with dark rooms and horrible beds so this felt like a hotel to me. We stayed in a 6 bed dorm and the room was big with high ceilings. Everything was very clean, both the beds and the bathroom (we had a bathroom in the room). Good beds (no bunk beds!) with fluffy pillows :) Every bed had their own electricity socket for charge of phones etc and there was free wifi both in lobby and in the rooms.

The best thing about Grand Hostel was definitely the staff. So nice and helpful!

Would absolutely stay here next time I'm in Berlin.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hostel Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hostel Berlin

Address: Tempelhofer Ufer 14, 10963 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Kreuzberg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 316 Specialty lodging in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Grand Hostel Berlin 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When arriving at the Grand Hostel Berlin, you’ll be guest of one of the world’s best rated Hostels. It's certainly not just the awesome historical building situated in the heart of Berlin at trendy Kreuzberg that makes our guests so exited about us. It’s the very special mix of a Hostels Infrastructure and all the services of a Hotel that makes us so attractive. The Team will provide loads of advice for each individual traveller, our Guided Tours will help you to discover the city and an awesome breakfast will provide all the energy you need for an exciting day in Berlin. Theses and many other features make the Grand Hostel the perfect starting point for your Berlin trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Grand Hostel Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hostel Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hostel Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.