We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant ambience and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Belmondo Restaurant

Belmondo Restaurant
Knesebeckstrasse 93, 10623 Berlin, Germany
00493036287261
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 5,655 restaurants in Berlin
Price range: $6 - $43
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambience and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

On arrival at Belmondo we were greeted warmly and offered a choice of tables. We were given the menus and then a basket of hot and delicious bread. The wine list was quite pricey but we selected a bottle of pinot noir which was one of the cheapest at 30 euros. The waiter made us aware that it was a light red wine, which was why we chose it. For starters we chose scallops and asparagus soup. Both dishes were very tasty but the 'risotto' which came with the scallops was a little undercooked. For mains we had the lamb and chicken, which were really well presented. The lamb was very pink which some people might have not liked, but it tasted excellent. The mashed potato which accompanied it was slightly on the dry side. My chicken dish with tagliatelle was well balanced and really delicious. For desserts we had the chocolate fondant and a slection of sorbets. The fondant was divine but one of the sorbets was really bland and we were struggling to work out which flavour it was. The service was very friendly and polite. We did wait however quite a while between courses but we didn't mind too much as we were enjoying the ambience. Overall the food was pretty good although there were some things that weren't quite right. This place is a little on the pricey side so maybe best saved for a special occasion. We did have a really nice evening so we would recommend this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    99
    42
    4
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stow, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Excellent French in the heart of Berlin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The kitchen is open until 11:00 PM. We got some wonderful French food even at 10:PM. Service was friendly. If you don't like smoking pick your table carefully.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“French Restaurant??”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

The website of Belmondo says "French savoir vivre", and states that the restaurant is the French Restaurant that serves a genuine 'French feeling'. But we were all wondering this afternoon why the Menu of the Day (Le Plat du Jour) was nothing like a French cuisine at all. Not even close. The menu consists of Fennel Soup (which was good), Minced Meat in a bed of pureed Kidney Bean and Sauted Mushroom, and Quark with Honey & Cinnamon. The waiter even agreed, that this menu wasn't at all French. The alternative menu is Chicken Cesar Salad, Steak and fries, Pasta and Vegetable Quiche (the only one that is close to something French). We were a relatively big group of people who come from different countries, and expected to have French meal for lunch... clearly we were disappointed. When I asked the waiter if she could make some suggestions, she just shrugged and indifferently responded by pointing at the menu card: "They are all there on the 'à la carte' menu. The service didn't reflect friendliness that is required in any service industry, almost abrupt and brusque. It wasn't at all what we expected from a restaurant that claims themselves as an excellent restaurant. It is also mentioned in the website that all the waiters come from France. Well, with this kind of service, they definitely don't do any favor for the French's reputation.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, South Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

What an experience! ate here as a party of 10 people, fortunate the weather was great and were able to eat outdoors which suited us fine.
The quality and range of menu choices for both food and drink was outstanding and I would highly recommend.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

we went to the restaurant to celebrate our 3rd anniversary. we had a great time, the service was impressive and it was very romantic, yet also good for a casual ight out (bit expensive). we had the onion soup and salmon tartar, then the lamb and the tuna steak, and for dessert the creme brulee and tart taten. the food was amazing and the portions were big enough, it was expensive, but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Belmondo Restaurant also viewed

 
Berlin, Germany
Berlin, Germany

Been to Belmondo Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmondo Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.