We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soggy sandwiches and bad music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Camper Berlin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Camper Berlin to your Saves list
Casa Camper Berlin
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Weinmeisterstrasse 1, 10178 Berlin, Germany (Mitte)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Pay less for more!
Ranked #7 of 665 Hotels in Berlin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Prague, Czech Republic
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Soggy sandwiches and bad music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed in the Casa Camper Barcelona a few years back now and loved it. The one in Berlin is a good hotel, no question. We had a suite and with our two daughters it worked really well. Location is great and very easy to get around. Price versus overall quality is also pretty good versus the other 5 star hotels in the city. If you are used to full service 5 star hotels then this might not tick all of your boxes. The hotel is very laid back, which personally I like for leisure travel. On business I probably would stay somewhere else. For a long weekend with the family its a good choice. I feel its missing something to make it really special.

Overall:

Positives:
- Canteen on the top floor is good. Food served all day means you can come and go as you please and take some time out.
- Location - really nice neighbourhood which is really alive without being too busy or noisy. Metro is outside and you can also walk to many of the attractions
- Laid back casa camper feel
- Rooms are pretty good and or suite worked for a family of 4

Negatives:
- Food quality. Its nice that its free but I hate soggy sandwiches. It wouldn't take much to improve the quality and make a little more imaginative. Having said that breakfast is good.
- Music! I dont know where they got the playlist from. Its not cool and does not fit the atmosphere of the place at all. Its like the sort of music my dad would think young, trendy people listen to. Its almost funny.
- There is a restaurant attached to the hotel but was fully booked on the saturday of our trip and is closed on Sunday and Monday. There is no room service so choice limited to a narrow choice of cold food from the canteen upstairs
- Parking is limited - we managed to get the last space but unloading and parking might be an issue for some

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    111
    20
    5
    10
See reviews for
76
310
79
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

After having been to Casa Camper about two years ago we knew what to expect this time. It was good to see the hotel is still excellent! The rooms still very nice, no signs of real wear and tear. Great shower and nice to have windows in the bathroom and brush your teeth while looking outside!
One of the best perks in my view is the top floor with free snacks and drinks 24h, nice for a coffee with cake or a sandwich and some rest from exploring the city.
I would have liked to be able to open a window but you only have an airco.
and free wifi, which worked great (some hotels still charge so this is always good to know*)
The location is great near Hackescher Markt.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

All day buffet and breakfast til 2pm make it a better than average place to stay. Everything was perfect.... Even really really quiet despite its busy location. Only criticism is windows don't open so air con was needed even in feb.... So take a room at end of corridors where there is a window that opens so you can air the room.... Otherwise there's no oxygen.....! Nice comfy big beds too.... Best bacon ever at breakfast.... Sweet staff.... Walkable to most central sites....

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Absolutely the perfect place to stay for those long weekends; as perfect as it is, so was our stay during our trip to Berlin. Our room had a lot of space to it and I loved the minimalist take in the interiors. The simple mix of bright red and wood-finished walls was at first, troubling to the eyes but was soon softened by the warm light from the lamps. Its design is very modern, and could probably stand the next few decades and still be considered a trendy hotel as it is now. One of the amusing things I saw was the numbers on the windows. I think it’s one of these little things that gave Casa Camper Berlin their edge.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Definitely one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. The hotel is very well-appointed and stylish and is in a great location for transport to and from the airport and also for exploring Berlin. Our room was large and really comfortable. Breakfasts were fabulous with a wide range of foods on offer, and the lounge/dining area was a great place to relax in with all the drinks and snacks available throughout the day - and night! The one thing that let it down was the pressure of our shower wasn't great but everything else made up for that. It was certainly a pleasure to stay here and I'd happily do so again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed here for a weekend holiday in Berlin. The location was perfect as well as the hotel. Any hotel that serves breakfast until 2:00 in the afternoon on the weekends is a winner in my book. We woke up SUPER hungover after a 'cultural' night in Berlin and were able to grab breakfast at 1 in the afternoon. Their fruit juices were amazing and the lady that was cooking for us was so nice. I ended up just calling her mom. Another excellent aspect of the hotel was the shower. A little messy, yes, but one of the best showers I had in awhile. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone going to Berlin.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed over New Year with my wife having stayed at the sister hotel in Barcelona last year. Not disappointed again. Great style, modern decor and a winning idea with the all day tentempie option available. About 10-15 mins walk from Alexanderplatz(final stop on airport bus from Tegel) Pleasant helpful and friendly reception staff. Room spacious and bathroom shower decent size (and well designed) Clean and well serviced daily. A restaurant associated with the hotel although only open for New Years Eve dinner during our stay. Plenty of other options nearby. Museuminsel and many attractions can be reached on foot even the Brandenburg Tor if your keen. Great concept not cheap but worth the experience. The basement gym is well equipped and even boasts a sauna.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Camper Berlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Camper Berlin

Address: Weinmeisterstrasse 1, 10178 Berlin, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Berlin > Mitte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Berlin
#10 Business Hotel in Berlin
#22 Family Hotel in Berlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Camper Berlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Berlin boutique design hotel is situated in the vibrant and historical heart of the city, Mitte. Casa Camper Berlin provides unique city accommodation.Creative design and attention to detail can be seen in Casa Camper Berlin hotel's 51 rooms and suites. Tentempié offers fresh snacks and drinks 24 hours a day on the top floor of Casa Camper with incredible views over the city. No timetables, no bills, all free for guests of Casa Camper.Dos Palillos restaurant provides an innovative menu in unique surroundings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Casa Camper Berlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Camper Berlin Hotel Berlin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Camper Berlin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.